Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel had everything that met my kids and my needs.
My children said this was the best vacation ever and I can agree. Not only because we were in paradise, but because the hotel had everything we needed. Every interaction with an employee was pleasant and we felt safe. We can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Great location, close to Poipu beach, shops and restaurants etc. Can't go wrong with this one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The Spa, the pool area, the juice and nuts as the Spa, the Spa facilities and the beach view from the lobby. The lanai in the room was also very nice
Cons: Not going to comment on this.
Location: A couple of nice shopping centers with great dining options. The beaches, however, are not as good for swimming.
The hotel staff members at the Spa were friendly and welcoming. The hotel staff members at the front desk were outstanding and very helpful and courteous. The housekeeping staff persons were very pleasant and friendly. The concierge staff members were very helpful as was dialing #65 (or was it #56?). The luggage folks who dropped off and picked up our baggage were wonderful. The Spa showers were great as was the whirlpool and massages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Honeymoon

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We stayed for 5 nights at this fabulous hotel. We arrived just as hurricane Iselle was due to hit and the hotel did all they could to prepare guests. The facilities are excellent. Costs are pricey but as expected. The grounds in particular offer wonderful views and different areas to sit/explore. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Garden view

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Everyting was fine just internet was to slow a I couldn't even connect from my phone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and child friendly

Posted Aug 2, 2014
The kids absolutely loved the entire pool area and water slide. The beach was gorgeous too (we had read otherwise). Too dangerous for the kids but great to watch the surfers and hang out on. Good sand for sand castles and clean. Nice lagoon too. Breakfasts were okay but we loved the ocean view tables, also the parrots and cockatoos, the amazing foliage and flowers. Fading at the edges, not as upmarket as st Regis but somehow it adds to the charm. Pool view rooms were just fine, your normal hotel room. Highly recommend to families and it looked great for weddings too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: pools, plants
Cons: on-site restaurant availability
Location: walking on beach, surfing, shopping, hiking along the shore, golfing, snorkeling, swimming
Very well maintained hotel, beautiful grounds, nice pools with salt water lagoon, water slide for kids and adults too!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

restaurants good, pool not so much

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: the restaurants
Cons: pool side, room turndown
Tidepools was awesome, however the pool is not so great. There are never any open chairs because people leave their towels and the staff never go around picking them up, so you never know if they are occupied. Also the servers will walk by you unless you wave to them. Had to ask for the bottles of water that were free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Friendly, welcoming staff at a lovely resort.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds, beautiful buildings, friendly staff, fabulous view from our room, right on the ocean. The pools are amazing.
Cons: It's expensive, but we loved every minute of it, so it was worth it to us.
Location: Easy access to the beach and hiking (Shipwreck Beach). Lots of waves for surfing.
We stayed for a week at the Grand Hyatt for our honeymoon. It was everything we had dreamed of. The staff was friendly and accommodating everywhere we went. We especially took advantage of the Anara Spa facilities. We used the gym, which was comfortable and well equipped. I took several group exercise classes, including Zumba, aqua aerobics, and Fitball power sculpt with Ani. We enjoyed swimming in the 150 yard lap pool at the spa as well as soaking in the jacuzzis and relaxing in the steam room. We enjoyed eating the restaurants at the facility. We had an especially delicious dinner one night at the Tidepool Restaurant. We enjoyed watching the families with kids enjoying themselves, but also had several options to find quiet adult time. We liked the shopping at the hotel. We liked the local crafts vendors who came and set up their stalls at different times during the week. We loved the tropical birds. Very romantic and fun get away!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

not for gays

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: the setting and the staff
Cons: many things but mostly their treatment of gay couples
Location: captains Andy's boat tours. and Tortilla republic is a must for mexican food...delicious.
we were turned away from the tidepools restaurant on the property. my shirt was sleeveless and yet women could wear tube tops, camisoles and halter necks which were back less but the gay couple (us) were offered shirts and told to cover their arms. We had an awesome massge the day we arrived but our second massage mysteriously disappeared from the books, even though we had proof of purchase and a confirmation email for the booking which was made and paid for 7 weeks earlier..nothing was offered in return. I planned to propose to my partner of 9 years on the day we were to have our second massage and dinner at the tidepools restaurant but given my fury over the way we were treated I held off on the proposal until a more harmonious time. It's frustrating to think we would be engaged to be married had we not been discriminated against ...we had after all come to Kauai to celebrate our 9 year anniversary, my partners 55th birthday and my proposal to him. We'll certainly never return and have been waiting for Hyatt to respond to 2 emails addressing to our concerns.