Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Nice hotel. 5-10 min walk to beach

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Walk to beach had big hills. Hotel still undergoing renovations, but they didn't detract from stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Junction, CO

This is a beautiful property! no restaurant~

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The stunning grounds and the nice staff.
Cons: REstaurant!
Location: Federico's (IN PRINCEVILLE) mexican breakfast was FANTASTIC!
We loved staying at Hanalei Bay Resort before and after hiking the Na Pali coast to Kalalau. This is not on the beach. Short walk to shared beach with ST. Regis. We DID read online that it was a timeshare property and no restaurant so we were prepared with our groceries. There is a hospitality room where we kept a few items in the fridge and freezer. (someone ate our frozen PF Changs..but we are moving past that! :) Once you are out there~think Hilton Head type area... there are no restaurants save for the st. Regis down the street (or path). It's only a 7-10 minute drive back into Princeville or Hanalei Bay but once you get settled in it would be nice not to get back in the car. The hot tub is a natural stone with water feature and beautiful pool area. Lush with green and flowers. It looks like they are building something large with open air by the lobby so maybe it's going to be a restaurant!-we didn't ask. The rooms are somewhat dated..but only in comparison to the grounds which are pristine. They were just fine for us! They let us have a late check out AND have laundry facilities. Try to get a room with a view. Stunning part of the island. Bring a sweater! We were thankful for our fleece jackets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

We were very pleased with the resort.

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Loved being by the beach and was nice to have a fully equipped kitchen provided in our room.
Cons: A restaurant and lounge is currently being added to the resort which will be great when completed.
Location: The resort is located on the beautiful north shore of Kauai near quaint communities, beaches, tropical gardens, shopping.
The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The grounds were lovely and well maintained and the views were breathtaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: We had a great ocean view and they pick you up in a golf cart to take you down to the beach. There is a phone down at the beach you call for pick up
Location: Princeville is beautiful
The room they first took us too would have had us walk up 3 flights of stairs (no elevators) as my husband has had 4 back surgeries we were not able to do that. They were able to put us in another room that only had 6 stairs to get to it. We were very happy about that. I just didn't even think about the lack of elevators.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again !

Posted Feb 24, 2015
It was a $ 75 dollar hotel room that we paid $ 250 for, basically. Staff was great but room was terrible....OLD, dirty and not in good condition. Don't expect much if you stay here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
夜遅く着いたのに、ホテル内のレストランが改装中だったので車で5分のショッピングセンターまで行かねばならず不便でした。部屋は普通でしたが、ホテルの造り上、スーツケース持って階段を昇らねばならなくて大変でした。(チェックインの時は運んでくれましたが、チェックアウトの時は急いでいたので)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The beautiful grounds. The spacious bathroom with separate shower and toilet.
Cons: The rooms could be decorated a bit more, they were very plain. The bedding was very thin and needs to be improved.
We stayed five nights. The resort grounds are absolutely beautiful with amazing views. The rooms are plain with thin blankets but they are clean. The view from our deck was stunning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: the only thing that was nice about this hotel is the view.
Cons: clean and update,hire more bellman pool dirty, fix jacuzzi have a place to get a drink or bite staff graciousness
Location: Far from everything. Half hour walk to beach. Have to drive somewhere for food or drink.
Firstly, I am not someone who usually takes time to write a review , but I want to avoid someone else having the awful experience we did. I can take things in stride when I travel as that is part of a travel experience. However when booking a place with the words "resort" in the title in a place as far away from NY as Hawaii, a few things are not acceptable: -Cockroach in the room -Sheets were dirty, fridge was disgusting. -Checked in at 4 and waited half hour for a bellman (there was only one!). -I inquired if there was a bar or restaurant on the premises (ie; “”resort”) , I was told no but there was a bar at a hotel "two minutes" walking distance which turned out to be a half hour hike down and up a steep path. I needed another drink by the time i got back to our hotel but unfortunately,well you know the story ,there was no place to get one! -On top of all this, when checking out they charged us a 15 dollar parking, internet and towel fee (on top of the 200 dollar a night rate). When we inquired , the staff was just plane rude I can go on and on, but just do yourself a favor and no matter what ,do not stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Only stayed one night, which was really too short to enjoy the beautiful resort. Special highlight was waking up to the view of the ocean and mountains and to the early more calls of the local bird life.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Not A Hearty Endorsement

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: I liked the hot tub that was constructed to look like a natural hot, bubbling spring. The sandy bottom was deep and comforting to tired feet.
Cons: Personal items such as lotion, shampoo, conditioner included. Quality control: each room equipped with a working coffee maker and microwave.
Location: Hanalei Bay is incredibly beautiful. Great restaurants, lots to do, and cute shops. From our room, we could hear the ocean breaking on the shore!
Although Hanalei Bay has a nice beach and spectacular view of Hanalei Bay, there was little to recommend our room. First off our view was somewhat obscured by overgrown hedges. Also there was no hand lotion, no microwave, and the coffee maker was broken which went undiscovered until we woke up the next morning. It was replaced, but we didn't get to enjoy coffee which was decaf anyway, not regular. Another disappointment. There seemed to be several construction projects going on or perhaps postponed which gave the hotel a rather shabby appearance. The price made it seem like a bargain compared to other nearby resorts, but the sad lack of normal amenities detracted from our initial perception of value. Parking was far away from our unit, yet another negative. The distance made packing up and leaving a challenge, especially since it was uphill. An added, unexpected fee of $15/day when we checked out was the final blow. For these reasons we cannot give a hearty recommendation unless someone only cares about a million dollar view at a discount.