Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Week of relaxation

Posted Sep 27, 2014
We loved the laid back atmosphere of the Hanalei Colony Resort. Our room was ocean front and we had breakfast and coffee each morning on our patio. Loved it! We've been to Kauai 7 times and this was definitely the most relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful secluded resort.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This resort is amazing. We stayed in an Ocean View room, but could throw a rock into the ocean. Our view is spectacular. We stayed in J3, upstairs unit. No roosters, just a couple of friendly cats. It is out of the way which is a blessing. Very quiet. Although it is a ways from town, there is a shuttle that will shuttle you around all day and into the evening. You are very close to Tunnels Beach (a mile) and the caves, Kalalau Trail, etc. You really get to know this side of the north shore. While parking is terrible at Tunnels and everything else, the shuttle cures that problem completely. They say don't swim on the beautiful beach out front but if you look to the left and right there are light blue areas showing shallow areas. I am a mediocre swimmer and we swam on the resort beach easily. There are four barbecues (two gas and two charcoal and they provide the charcoal) so you can relax in the evening and barbecue onsite. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

10 feet from the sand, 20 feet from the water

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: location
Location: restaurant on the property was very good. Good snorkeling, surfing, hiking nearby.
My stay at Hanalei Colony Resorts was great. I have stayed at other resorts in Kauai and have always felt like I was staying near the ocean but here I was at the ocean. The difference is the ability to get up at night and walk out onto the sand in my bare feet to look at the stars and to alway hear the surf in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide , South Australia

- unplugged, unspoilt, unforgettable-

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Hanalei Colony Resort is a beautiful sanctuary surrounded by wonderful scenery. Being in our own little condo meant we could relax just do our own thing. The shuttle bus was available to take us anywhere we wanted to go and we also hired a mustang convertible which was great fun to drive around in and see the beautiful island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hesperia, CA

Great resort in a very peaceful part of the island

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Normally I am used to room service coming in and exchanging the towels and straightening up a bit. Apparently, you must request this service if you want it. We enjoyed our stay and the restaurant was fabulous. The view was great as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic get away

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were amazing and they have fantastic services as well. Running us into the town with their shuttle services, then picking us up as needed.
Location: Markets, town, heaps of activities.
Loved the place and just what we wanted and needed for a romantic honeymoon. A very nice part of Hawaii!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach. Nice pool area with spa. Friendly staff.
Location: Tunnels Beach for snorkeling. Took the helicopter tour which was amazing.
Beautiful view of the ocean. Steven, the concierge, was helpful and very friendly. I would recommend this place to my friends. I loved Thumper, the cat, greeting us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Romantic seclusion

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The beachfront cottages are really incredible. They are about 75ft from the water.
Cons: Housekeeping is only every third day. There is only one restaurant on site. Otherwise it is 15 minutes to Hanalei.
Location: Travel time to the south is one hour or more and most activities are there. The roads at night can be dangerous. .
This hotel is on the far end of North shore. The views are breathtaking and the beaches are not crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf

Good location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Size of room/decoration is great. Pool is ok/ a bit close from the road and they were doing some work. Service in room is only every 3 days. We were a bit disappointed with what they called ocean vue, i believe you need to book Ocean front to have no vis a vis and have a true vue on the ocean. Overall good but not amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mill Valley, CA

Lovely quiet stay in a peaceful setting

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This place is warm, homey, inviting, and ever so peaceful and comfortable. Great K bed. Lovely grounds and landscaping. We were greeted and welcomed in an inviting way by all staff. The setting is incredible and unique near the "end of the road" near Tunnels and Ke'e Beaches - surrounded by greenery ever so beautiful. One should know that while it is advertised as beachfront, the beach is not a swming beach. The ocean view room that we had was well worth it - in comparison with the pricier ocean front and premium ocean front rooms. I'd return in a heartbeat!