Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Beautiful Hotel but Broken A/C

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Beach, food, hiking, etc.
Great facility and beautiful location. We were looking forward to a great restful last night on Kauai. We were glad our room had A/C and it seemed to be working well when we checked in. However, in the middle of the night it stopped working and our room became quite hot. The attendant at the counter when we checked out said they would have maintenance staff check into it. That was it. Didn't real seem like it was a big deal to him. It ended up being a disappointing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Posted May 17, 2015
Was recommended to me and it lived up to expectations. Very well equipped and good location for all activities. Manager was very welcoming and entertainment on Monday night was a nice bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than I anticipated

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Room was huge - washer/dryer was a huge perk after a week of traveling
Cons: Drop the sales-y attitude at the concierge. Better yet, don't make guests check in at the front desk and then visit the concierge to get a sales pitch
Location: Kapaa is probably the most "hopping" place we visited. Not our favorite beaches, though. Good for shopping/tourist-y things
Room was great - had washer/dryer in unit and was large, clean, and comfortable. Grounds were fine, not the most impressive I had seen on the trip, but still nice. My main gripe with this experience was with the staff, particularly the concierge. The men at the front desk were friendly and helpful, however the concierge was a bit off. She asked if I was interested in going to a timeshare presentation the next morning, which I declined (because I'm in my 20s and in no place to get a timeshare). She mentioned that if we didn't go to the presentation, that we'd have to leave by 10 a.m., which was checkout time. I said that was fine. She also asked if my boyfriend might be interested (who was waiting in the car) to which I also said no. She was pretty pushy on the subject, which I found odd, and noted that the next day was going to be very rainy. I told her it had rained every day that we had been on the island, so we didn't mind. She then replied sardonically that it was supposed to be "the worst rain of the week." Strange. Try a different sales approach, ma'am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel, close to the beach. Nice grounds.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The beautiful grounds full of flowers , birds and well kept.
Cons: I did not like the fact that it was house keeping on the fourth day of your stay, otherwise you have to pay an extra fee. it should be more often.
Location: Nice beach in the nearby Lydgate Park.
It was a nice stay , we could see the ocean even from a garden view room. Spacious and comfortable. Nice restaurant on premises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Location: The location was great. Right on the beach with shops right across the parking lot. The town of Kapaa was a great little beach town.
We enjoyed the big comfortable room with a very nice bed. The grounds were very nice and the beach was right there. We relaxed & walked the beach in the evening and the morning. Very relaxing. The outdoor fire pits with comfortable furniture were very nice as well. We loved out time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oahu

Wonderful place!!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: We had a nice view of the well-manicured interior grounds and pools but also a side view of the ocean. Really good restaurant and bar on site.
Cons: Not much. Oh, the parking situation - there's not enough of it. And no elevator to the upper floors, although the stairs were easy, low and wide.
Location: There's plenty of shopping in Kapaa, just up the road, also a Safeway, Foodland and Longs nearby. Drive to Hanalei or Waimea or the wharf at Lihue...
My husband and I stayed here one Saturday night, to celebrate our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised to find the facility very well kept, clean, and the staff polite and professional. We stayed in room 1304, quite an upgrade from the studio we booked, and LOVED it! Thank you so much to the awesome front desk staff - am sorry we didn't get the name of the kind man who checked us in. Our suite had a full kitchen with all the amenities - coffeemaker with good local coffee, plenty of dishes, glassware, silverware, cooking equipment, even a dishwasher and microwave oven, all immaculately clean, with lots of lighting. The living room had a pull-out couch, coffee table, side tables with lamps, and a large TV. We had a separate bedroom with its own TV and a like-new king four-poster bed, large bathroom with two sinks, large mirrors and a dressing area. There were plenty of towels, including beach towels to use by the waterfall pool or the spa. Everything looked good, smelled good, and (a nice touch) the radio in the bedroom was on, softly playing Hawaiian music. There was NO noise from surrounding rooms, but we left the door to the large balcony open and could hear the waterfall splashing and the sound of the waves on the beach in the near distance. Yes, the hotel is right on a beach good for walking; they have lounge chairs set up on the grass just yards away from the water. Oh, and there is a barbecue by the pool you can use if you want to grill things for dinner. Much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Nice access to beach

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Nice property and easy access to shopping, restaurants, and sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan

Exceeded expectations

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Great location, beautiful pool area, outstanding restaurant. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robertfrom Kailua, Hawaii 96734

The Beachboy is a MUST for business & pleasure!

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Although we were there for business, we wished that we could extend for pleasure. Big Alohas to the Staff at the Beachboy! We needed to print a hard copy of a 70 page document received via email that day to be hand delivered on a same-day deadline in Lihue. We were going to try to find a Kinkos but the amazing staff printed it for us. That allowed us to make the bid deadline in plenty of time. Again, amazing staff! The 2 bedroom suite was immaculate and beautiful. Spacious, clean, and super comfy beds too. We did not want to leave. Definitely will request this property for future business trips and my personal travel as well! Mahalo Nui!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels