Ratings based on 894 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Average accommodiations but beautiful views

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: the views and the location
Cons: See my comments above: update the rooms with better sound proofing and improve elevators, particularly in the bank for delux view rooms.
Everyone was nice and the views were beautiful. The location was very central and good. The compromise and the downside is the condition of the hotel. Everything is run down including the lobby areas (other than the main lobby, which is fine), elevators, sleeping rooms, lounge chairs that are on the lawn area on the beach, etc. Our sleeping room had an adjoining room and the insulation between the two rooms was so poor that we could hear everyone talking and kids talking loudly most of the time. They need to update the rooms with a focus on quality, sound proofing and brining everything up to date. It's run down and dated. We went at high season and paid premium pricing; the cost was as high as any five star hotel by the quality/condition was not.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Pool area nice but rooms are terrible

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The pool area and breakfast cafe.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated. The bathrooms are terribly small.
Location: Location was close to the airport and somewhat central but would have preferred to stay in the the Poipu area.
Rooms are old and smell. Bathrooms are small and not very clean. The housekeeping overall left a lot to be desired. We were there over Christmas a and there was no special entertainment planned or live music. We ended up spending Christmas at the Hyatt, which was much more lively.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

local Hawaiins overly friendly facade

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: the gorgeous building and location
Cons: the all local staff this place needs a more diversified service staff. the food was not that good.
the staff of locals at this hotel is very friendly and cheery, but they do little to actually help you or solve a problem for you. Lots of favoritism shown to other locals over visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Wonderful hotel, in amazing location

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Beautiful location, friendly staff and lots of amenities. We loved everything about the stay.
Cons: We had to go three different times to replace key cards for our room, which was a bit inconvenient. Really, in the scheme of things, no big deal.
Location: Get a rental car for your stay to take full advantage of the island. Although the beach is amazing at the Marriott, there is so much more to explore!
Our first visit to Kauai was a wonderful adventure. The beachfront at the hotel turned out to hold wonderful shops, restaurants and activities, all within walking distance. All of the staff we encountered on Kauai were extremely helpful and full of Aloha spirit. We took advantage of the JustLive! zip lines, Kauai ATV tours, Blue Hawaiian helicopter tours and Beach Boys surfing lessons nearby. Restaurants both at the hotel, and along the beachfront boardwalk were wonderful, and surprisingly affordable. The Kalapaki Beach Hut Restaurant was a diamond in the rough for breakfast, try the Portuguese sausage. Dukes Restaurant was another favorite we discovered, and went there several times for dinner (the coconut shrimp and salad bar were favorites). Rent a car and explore the south beaches, beautiful hikes and amazing views! We will most definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, huge pool

Posted Dec 24, 2014
We arrived later in the trip with only one night left and wish we had stayed here the while time. The pool is amazingly big. Great restaurants at hotel with professional breakfast buffet; prob best on the island. Nice people and modern rooms except for the carpet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alberta, canada

Beautiful place to dray

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Beds, views, staff, grounds
Location: Tour companies pick you up, the resort runs a shopping shuttle as we'll
Loved this resort, the views were fantastic, staff was super friendly, beds were comfy, cosy. Will go back there again, and highly recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

*Beautiful* hotel!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Loved our stay here in Dec 2014. Very large and beautiful hotel. Pool and beach area were amazing. Would definitely stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Beautiful setting on the beach

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The location and setting were beautiful.
Location: We would highly recommend a drink and pupus at Dukes which is on the hotel property.
The Marriott is situated in a beautiful cove with plenty of space for relaxation and enjoying the huge pool area. It's location is central to numerous places of interest in Kauai, and is a good "jumping off" point for many activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom So Cal

Great location for exploring Kauai

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Great location Clean Relaxed Good dining options Close to airport but minimal airtraffic noise Wonderful pool and beach
Location: Helicoptor Tour - Blue Hawaii Kayak tour - outfitters Hiking,
We couldnt have been more pleased with our experience staying at the Marriott in Lihue. Reviews had mentioned that the hotel as not as claean as it coud be but we did not find this to b the case. All areas from our room to the pools where kept clean, beach was wonderful and staff went out of their way to be helpful. We had great fod and service in all of the resturaunts, Dukes added another option too. We booked helicoptor trip - recommend Blue Hawaii and a Kayak tour, Outfitters through the conceirge and these where great. Helicoptor tour a must see experience. Also rented a car for two days from Enterprise at hotel. Rates were less than those at airport. The car of our choice was available and the staff calle to see how we were getting on, extremly helpful. Only fault was an uncomfortable bed and the hotel are in the process of upgrading these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alamo, CA

Posted Nov 28, 2014
What a stunning pool and ocean view from our room! Service was fantastic, and the hotel offered everything we were looking for.