Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap for a reason

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The bed and linens were the only redeeming thing in this place.
Cons: Renovate the entire place.
Location: Nothing wrong with the location.
The fridge was a relic from before I was born i.e. seems like 50 years old. The carpets were deplorable. The place needs to be gutted or rebuilt. The beach area is not bad. The resort south of this one and next to the Hawaiian sacred site had a kids pool area made with lava piled up making a very calm area for children and even in quite rough water. We arrived right after a storm and the ocean is quite rough. No fault of the hotel and didn't affect the review.
2 out of 5
by Hawai'i 2014 from Ocean County, NJ

Camping would be better

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Hotel is on the beach-a beach I would not recommend swimming in. Arrived and was informed that our room was in the process of being renovated. They provided two keys for us to review rooms on our own. The first had a large amount of termite damage around all of the interior door trim. We walked in and found an outdated room with shag carpeting, and was foul smelling. The second room was updated and had no odor but was not clean-just quickly wiped down evidenced by streak marks and remaining filth on everything. They also charge $9 to park in their lot. The lot is large, ample parking, and there is not security supervising the lot. We ended up parking on the steet for free. There is also no wifi in the rooms. This hotel is overpriced for what is provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Very friendly staff, great lobby with very ample breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beach

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Spent 4 nights - a last minute booking as our other reservations were cancelled. They are doing a major renovation but it did not detract as the room was fresh and new a nod the beach and location excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jule from Wisconsin

Nice locale

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wi Fi in rooms
Location: Well located to ocean, shopping, restaurants
Clean, older, but still modern. Good coffee in the am and local pastries. Beautiful beach location with excellent sunrise viewing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Prescott, AZ

Pleasant and relatively inexpensive

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Cons: They could improve the continental breakfast selections
Location: Kapaa is centrally located and accessible to the entire island. There are only 2 or 3 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel..
We enjoyed our stay. When we arrived, the room we requested was not available, but they moved us the next day to the correct room, which we liked. They were doing some walkway reconstruction which meant we had to take some detours to and from the office. The continental breakfast was a bit meager, no cereal, toast or bagels, but mostly sweet donuts and, if we were lucky, a croissant or two. We finally bought our own granola and milk, and managed to have a our own spoon. Be prepared unless you can deal with only donuts, juice and coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

acceptable accomadations

Posted Feb 14, 2014
This Hotel was OK, it absolutely needs a overhaul.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: no thing
Cons: everything
Location: n/a
bad bad bad never again it was the worst ever would never go there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Proximity to ocean and restaurants in Kapaa
Cons: Cleanliness, overall maintenance, and the breakfast
The beds had clean sheets, but the room itself was pretty old and dirty looking compared to the picture on expedia. The "continental breakfast" is bananas and pastries. The room is pretty pricy for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cassandra

Nice location

Posted Feb 5, 2014
The front desk staff was very professional and friendly. The room was comfortable although the walls seemed paper thin as we could hear conversation and tv in the room across the hall which made it hard to go to sleep.A very nice outdoor pool area and the ocean was right there! Loved that aspect. The continental breakfast was lacking as all we had was bagels, bananas and coffee. no juice or any other fruit choices.