Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Excellent Kauai Value!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The beach & the bed! Great little slice of Kauai Beach and comfy bed. We even saw whales on 1/6/15 from the grounds.
Cons: Bathroom was small with little counter space. Standard tub/shower...nothing fancy. Lobby is dated but were told it was going to be renovated soon.
Location: Great central location. Plenty of beach & waterfall exploring within minutes of the facility. Good food is minutes away by foot or car.
We booked Kauai Shores for 11 days. Rooms are recently renovated and the grounds are beautiful. There is a great beach footsteps from your door! Kauai Shores is centrally located on the island and is a great starting point to head north to see the rugged beauty or head south to Wimea Canyon. Make sure you eat at Lemon Grass on Sat or Sun evening and hear Mark sing some Kauai tunes. If your looking for a snack, Tiki Tacos is 5 minutes up the road or grab some Poke @ Kileawa Fish Market next door. There are several great & inexpensive places to eat at Coconut Market (under renovation) and there is also some good shopping there too. On the west side grab a tasty beer and good food at the Kauai Island Brewery & Grill. Just south in Lihue you have to hit Dukes for a great view and food. Spend the $$ and take a helicopter tour. Hike to some of the hidden beaches and drive or hike to some of the falls. If the whales are in season, be sure to take a whale tour. We were able to see whales jumping off the beach of Kauai Shores on 1/6/15 but from a boat you get a much better view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good and clean hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
It is good and comfortable place for short staying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach! Friendly service and clean!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
The reception/breakfast area is pretty run down but the rooms are newly renovated and fabulous. Beachfront access is so great and the location means easy access to the north and south coasts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The vibe of the patrons was younger backpackers, young families, etc. Good people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Would stay there again...

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: I really liked our room. New fridge, new, working safe. X-box and free dvd rentals (you need the card from the front desk). I liked how quiet it was.
Cons: Breakfast could be healthier (eg. muffins, hard boiled eggs, dry cereal, toast/bagels), instead of doughnuts. Lobby & landscaping work in progress.
Location: Great location if you like to travel and explore. Centrally located and easy to get everywhere. Make sure you try the free yoga! Neat experience.
This was a perfect hotel for us. We stayed 12 days and found it to be conveniently located for exploration in all directions. It has easy access, and is located right next to the Coconut Mall (which is being renovated at this time, but has a few cool things). The hotel itself is cute. The "bones" of the hotel is a 70's hotel/motel feeling...but it has been renovated. It has been painted, new carpets, tile, etc. with citrus colours, and a big attempt has been made to brighten and lighten the d├ęcor. It still has a bit of a chunky 70's feel, but there is not a lot they can do about that without taking out the doors and windows. We found the bed, linen, and pillows to be super comfy. The new flat screen TV's, own beach, small pools, free dvd rentals, x-box, washer/dryer, bbq, free yoga, continental breakfast w/coffee, MaiTai night, Wi-Fi, safe, fridge, alarm clock w/iPhone speaker, etc. We found our room to be super quiet and clean.(We had a king size bed, and a garden room on the 2nd floor in the Lei building). The hotel was not noisy, even though it was full. Every night we went to bed with the sound of rain and the waves hitting the shore). You can hear people talking outside, and an occasional door close, but it was rare in our experience. I really loved the little beach. The sand is fantastic...and super soft. You sink when you walk. You have to pay for parking (boo). Lobby and landscaping are a work in progress. Will be super in a year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Comfy and convenient!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Motel with new beds and fresh paint in all the rooms. Lobby space is outdated but staff was nice. No extras just getting the job done. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy and the location is central. Very convinient. A small beach past the lobby (great for late night drinks under the stars). Beach chairs on the sand a plus. Free movie rentals like Red Box (alternative activity for the stormy days). Two pools, two grills. I saw some couples grilling dinner under the moonlight. Very sweet simple and romantic. The motel offers coffee, juice, doughnuts, croissants and bananas in the lobby daily from 7-10am. Note: no coffee makers in rooms. Its no continental breakfast but its free. I did see some folks bring down their cereal, milk, yogurt and cheese for breakfast. I assume they bought it at the local supermarket (good idea for next time). Plus, early bird catches the worm! In Kauai; early bird catches the sunrise and/or empty hike trails and beaches!! :) Most adventurous folks have already beat you!! Great eats nearby Beach walk cafe (restaurant) for breakfast!! The crab cakes eggs benedict were amazing and you cant beat the $5 mimosas!! Also Harleys at the Coconut Market (walk-up food kiosk) has the best BBQ on the island!! So popular most locals preorder food as not to wait. Kauai Shores is NO resort but it IS very comfy and convenient! Great place for families (incl. small children). Came for my 3 year anniversary and I will definitely be returning here! ALOHA!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is what it is. A basic clean motel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Only real issue was the parking lot where I had an issue parking my car
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

More a motel than a hotel. Disappointing

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Free DVDs
Cons: Better breakfast offering Clean rooms and responsive staff
Location: Not much - need a car. Coconut marketplace is a run down shopping plaza with lots of empty shops
Disappointing. Room recently renovated but basic and bathroom not clean. Free DVD rental is a nice touch. And free wifi across hotel is good Staff not responsive asked everyday for something in room to be fixed and they didnt do this til the fourth and final day. Maid also took dirty towels away and didnt replace t hem. And sheets were supposed to be changed after three nights but they werent. As per previous reviews beach isnt particularly inviting for walking, relaxing or swimming. Also there is a nightclub next door to the hotel which plays loud live music nightly. When i called the reception at midnight to complain about the noise i was told there was nothing that could be done as they had a license until 2am. Good base but not somewhere to relax and spend your holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Shower didn't work well, hot to cold to hot again real fast. Didn't have room type available so they gave us an upgraded room. Over all a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Near Beach. Good Service.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Needs to be rated at least a 3 star Location Good. Center near Coconut Market Place. Very good restaurents nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Hotel close to the beach, tiny rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The color theme.
This is a nice looking motel-feeling hotel. Nice modern colors touch, but rooms are small for a family of 4. Hotel is right on the beach, next door to Coconut Marketplace (half of it was under renovation, but still some nice shopping opportunities). Pastries, juice, coffee and bananas for breakfast in a nice common area. The only unpleasant experience was the towels... no beach towels available for exchange, just 2 bath towels in the room.