Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place parking close to room

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I at the sands for a lot of years. I like the place. They have been upgrading the rooms. That has made the price go up. The $9 parking seems a little much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Cons: Change the beds!
Location: It's very convenient.
Hotel looked great. Was wonderfully refurbished since the last time I was there. The continental breakfast and the staff were very helpful. Although they did seem to be a bit understaffed. The room was very clean and nice but I didn't care for the style of bed. However, considering the value, it was very good overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by natalie from utah

Nice hotel for your money

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Overall our experience was good except for the fact that only one outlet in the room worked and there was a 21st birthday party going on loudly next door on the balcony. The walls aren't very thick and you can hear everything from the neighboring balconies. That being said, the staff was awesome, the room was clean, and the king size bed was very comfortable!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value all things considered.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
This place must have been awesome 30 years ago. Now, it's a bit run down and definitely showing its age. That said, the hotel was right on the beach, the bed was comfortable, and the room was really clean. Good value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap for a reason

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The bed and linens were the only redeeming thing in this place.
Cons: Renovate the entire place.
Location: Nothing wrong with the location.
The fridge was a relic from before I was born i.e. seems like 50 years old. The carpets were deplorable. The place needs to be gutted or rebuilt. The beach area is not bad. The resort south of this one and next to the Hawaiian sacred site had a kids pool area made with lava piled up making a very calm area for children and even in quite rough water. We arrived right after a storm and the ocean is quite rough. No fault of the hotel and didn't affect the review.
2 out of 5
by Hawai'i 2014 from Ocean County, NJ

Camping would be better

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Hotel is on the beach-a beach I would not recommend swimming in. Arrived and was informed that our room was in the process of being renovated. They provided two keys for us to review rooms on our own. The first had a large amount of termite damage around all of the interior door trim. We walked in and found an outdated room with shag carpeting, and was foul smelling. The second room was updated and had no odor but was not clean-just quickly wiped down evidenced by streak marks and remaining filth on everything. They also charge $9 to park in their lot. The lot is large, ample parking, and there is not security supervising the lot. We ended up parking on the steet for free. There is also no wifi in the rooms. This hotel is overpriced for what is provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Very friendly staff, great lobby with very ample breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beach

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Spent 4 nights - a last minute booking as our other reservations were cancelled. They are doing a major renovation but it did not detract as the room was fresh and new a nod the beach and location excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jule from Wisconsin

Nice locale

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wi Fi in rooms
Location: Well located to ocean, shopping, restaurants
Clean, older, but still modern. Good coffee in the am and local pastries. Beautiful beach location with excellent sunrise viewing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Prescott, AZ

Pleasant and relatively inexpensive

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Cons: They could improve the continental breakfast selections
Location: Kapaa is centrally located and accessible to the entire island. There are only 2 or 3 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel..
We enjoyed our stay. When we arrived, the room we requested was not available, but they moved us the next day to the correct room, which we liked. They were doing some walkway reconstruction which meant we had to take some detours to and from the office. The continental breakfast was a bit meager, no cereal, toast or bagels, but mostly sweet donuts and, if we were lucky, a croissant or two. We finally bought our own granola and milk, and managed to have a our own spoon. Be prepared unless you can deal with only donuts, juice and coffee.