Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Spokane, Wa

Extremely nice hotel.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Everything. Beautiful rooms, close to the beach, friendly staff and very helpful too.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There are plenty of local attractions but we know this island well so chose to stay in most of the time.
Excellent room. Excellent service. Location to amenities was perfect. Our stay wasn't to explore an island that we already knew so where we were was important because we tend to just stay around the pool or room while vacationing in an area we already know well. Excellent place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scottphl from K

Staff was cross trained and super helpful.

Posted May 2, 2014
Felt special and cared for. Food was a bit pricey. So felt exploited. Room great. Valet parkimg guys were perfect. Just a great stay. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great honeymoon choice

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Cons: While luxurious, the room and bathroom were a little cramped at times. We would have liked more storage space in both places -- especially towel bars.
Location: If you are looking for entertainment, shopping or activities other than the beach, you need to drive or take a cab off the property.
Koa Kea is a great choice if you are looking for luxury, pampering and intimacy. It's a small hotel that doesn't cut any corners when it comes to service and quality. We spent 3 nights after and really enjoyed having the beach, pool (and pool bar!) and restaurant within steps of our room. We chose this property because reviews said it was couples-oriented vs family-oriented and that was generally true. While we love kids, we wanted a place that would be quiet and relaxing -- Koa Kea did not disappoint. This was the latter half of our honeymoon; the first portion was spent at the North Shore and if this is your first trip to Kauai, we definitely recommend spending time there as well. We had a ton of fun hiking and seeing all of the fantastic natural sites. But after that, we we really enjoyed relaxing in Poipu. We also spent some time at the Grand Hyatt (went to brunch and a luau there). It is also quite luxurious and offers a lot more than Koa Kea in terms of variety and activities. But it is also less intimate and personal. I only wish they were a little closer together so that we could have experienced the best of both (we walked one day, but it's a haul).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Memphis TN

The best on the island!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Great bed, quiet, clean grounds. Well kept up. Gorgeous view of the water from their lawn facing the sea. It is pricy but the value is worth it.
Cons: Nothing could be improved that comes to mind.
Location: It is close to all the major attractions including boats to the Na Poli Coast, helicopter rides, Botanical Gardens.
When I booked Koa Kea, I thought it was one of the "better" places to stay. After staying there, I know it is the best. Our room faced West, as requested. The food was good. the staff was friendly. It is close to most of the activities around the island such as the Botanical Gardens, Spouting Hole, and ports for excursions. There is only valet parking but the attendants are friendly and the cars are close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great staff, nice location!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The location. It's beachfront and is close to good running routes.
Cons: The breakfast options to include vegetarian options.
The staff was great! The crab cakes and sushi in the lounge were some of the best we've had. Dinner was fantastic, though a bit pricey. The staff around the pool area were super friendly as were the valet's. Parking is valet only, and though we prefer to get our own car the valet's were very personable and a great resource for places to eat:) Absolutely love Kauai and can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect getaway!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Kind staff and clean rooms with the best beach on kuaui right there!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Puipu beach is the sunniest spot on kuaui. You can snorkel, or surf! Great food all around, just make sure you book a car to check them all out!
I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel! The staff were really happy to help in any way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H from Southern California

Great hotel for relaxing vacation

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff from the valet parking attendants to the concierge, maid-service, poolside attendants, and restaurant staff.
Cons: The sign at the entrance is small and between the larger more visible signs for the condos on either side, is and not easy to see when arriving.
Location: The location is great, right on the beach and within walking distance of Poipu Shopping Village with several restaurants and shops.
The Koa Kea Hotel was a small resort hotel on the beach located between 2 large condo resorts, Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club and Kiahuna Plantation Condos. We much preferred the smaller, more intimate, and quieter Koa Kea. The valet car attendants were always prompt and friendly. The lobby was clean and attractive. Our room was on the third floor with a partial ocean view from our balcony and a large bathroom with a wonderful shower. We liked our room, but will probably opt for an ocean front room on our next stay. The only noise that we noticed was the rather loud sound of doors closing and latching. The hotel guests were primarily adults. The pool and hot whirlpool were clean and nice though rather small. There were an adequate number of chaise lounges around the pool and on the grassy area leading to the beach front walk. We will plan to stay at the Koa Kea again on our next trip to Kauai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Solon IA

Perfect Vacation!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
We totally enjoyed our stay at Koa Kea Resort. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly during our entire stay. Our room was very comfortable and the view at Poipu Beach is unbeatable. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sansar from New York

A very nice boutique hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Its location and ambience.
Cons: A seperate enterance to the hotel
Location: In this small island a central location does help on either side of the island it no more than one hour driving. It is quite and elegent
It is a small yet elegent hotel comprising all amenities that big monsters have.Excellent place in Kauai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marlene from California

Wonderful hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2014
I have stayed at Koa Kea mutliple times and each time has been fantastic! The hotel is welcoming, the service is second to none! I will be staying there again.