Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Very nice boutique hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Everything was great about the hotel. I can't fault anything about the room, the employees, location or otherwise. It was a great experience.
Cons: At the rate level, I expect an exceptional experience. The experience was great, not exceptional.
Location: Rent a car. There are a lot of active adventures on Kauai, so get out and explore!
Everything about my stay was very nice. The hotel staff were very helpful. The pool was great and the location right on the beach was pretty nice. The beaches at neighboring hotels (short walking distance) are much better for swimming and ocean activities. Great pool bar had everything you could ask for - great food, plenty of drink options. The on-site restaurant was excellent - breakfast and dinner. As nice as everything was, I question the $ value of the stay. For the price, I had expectations of an exceptional stay and there was nothing particularly distinguishing about it. There's a lot to do on Kauai and we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. If we return to the island, we'll stay at a location that is a little more economical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great Hotel, nice location, friendly staff

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The size, the location and the staff
Location: on the ocean, near restaurants, not too far from some beautiful hikes, snorkeling near by....
Loved our stay! Location key, great spot on ocean, close to other areas, watched the whales every morning, beautiful sunsets!!! Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Amazing !!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
The most romantic small hotel I have ever experienced. The staff is extraordinary!!!! The bellman are soooooo nice. The entire front desk staff are concierges and will help you with anything. The Red Salt restaurant is the best dinner I have ever had. The view is amazing and the grounds are so pretty. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Did I mention how amazing the staff is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will stay no where else when visiting Kauai.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Cleaning crew was good.
Cons: Need service in pool area. They need to walk around and take food and drinks order from guests
Disappoint with front desk welcome (Pam). She was not very welcoming or attentive when we checked in. Every time you ask her a question, she comes back with sarcasm remark only. She was not very helpful, ruined our mood from second we met her. Hotel itself is nice and clean. No service at pool. You have to go order and get your own drinks from bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything.
I took my adult daughter to celebrate our birthdays. We loved the Koa Kea! It is a small boutique hotel that, in my opinion, is best for adults. The location, with the beach right there, is perfect. The staff were efficient, knowledgable and very friendly. I would definitely go again and would recommend to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Had a great experience. Very nice location. Enjoyed that it was 95% couples. Very few children. Staff was very friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, IN

Relaxing hotel!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Small, luxe hotel. Ideal for couples. Great ocean views from partial ocean view room. Beach w surfing opportunities and some snorkeling. Nice chairs to lay out with views of the ocean or poolside. Great breakfast and dinner at Red Salt in the hotel. Staff was beyond attentive. They allowed us a very convenient early check in and a late check out. Hotel is on a relaxing part of the island. We preferred it to staying on the east side of the island. Things we wished were different-- a self parking option since there is only valet and a flat sheet since there was a down comforter which was hot. But, overall, we loved the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful elegant hotel.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Loved quiet elegance of hotel & property. Staff lovely, particularly manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of secluded beaches nearby that are "off the beaten path." Port Allen is where a lot of the sea trips go out of.
We had such a great experience at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went during a very busy time of year and the staff never seemed rushed (like another hotel we visited on another part of the island). The bartender even remembered us the next day and asked how our activities went that day! Valet remembered our last name and welcomed us back by name when we returned. When you check you in they personally take you to your room and show you the amenities. Everything was nice, new, clean, and modern. Would def recommend this hotel to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Lovely small resort

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: intimate environment, friendly staff
Location: Great location on the southern shore
We really enjoyed our stay at Ko'a Kea. It has a wonderfully intimate feel to it, and every single staff member was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. It is much smaller than the Grand Hyatt down the road, and we loved that fact. My small quibbles have to do with the expensive extras -- the margaritas by the pool were $15 each (and not huge by any standard) and you only get 6 Nespresso pods for your entire stay (extras are $1 each). But this didn't diminish our experience, and we would stay again at Ko'a Kea without a doubt.