Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Good hotel for families

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach. The pools are lovely.
Cons: More facilities, a cafe and restaurant would be excellent. The Marketplace has a monopoly on groceries and not very good coffee.
Location: The best place to walk to is Breneckes where there is a decent cafe and bar. Otherwise drive north on the island where there are lovely beaches etc.
I booked this hotel/resort from Australia so we could meet up with our American grandchildren and son who live in America.it suited our purposes. What I didn't realise was that it was a $50 taxi ride fromLihue airport. First up we got the shuttle to the wrong Marriott, then had to get a taxi. Not fun when you've come off a ten hour flight with horrendous entry conditions at Honolulu airport plus even more delays to get the interconnecting flight to Kauai. Be warned, no-one at the airport cares if they're about to resell your plane ticket tot the islands. Too bad. The hotel is fine, not many amenities, just the one bar on the beach, which is great for sunset watching, but that's it. You need a car from the airport to avoid high taxi fares and because the Marriott at Waiohai. is so far from any shops or restaurants. Until we could book a car we walked to the nearest shopping centre- too far in the heat. That is the main problem with this location, it's isolated, with lovely grounds and a good swimming and snorkelling beach. Perfect if you don't mind being miles from shops and caf├ęs.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beware of the "Ocean View"

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Everything but the view.
Cons: Don't lie about the view when booking.
Location: Great beaches, snorkeling, surfing, etc.
Everything about the Marriott was as advertised - great pools, great beach, great location, nice rooms, etc. However, we booked the "Ocean View" room, and that turned out to be false advertising. My sister-in-law and niece traveled 12 hours from New York to experience all that Kauai has to offer and instead of a glorious view of the Pacific, we got a view of a parking lot. If you were tall enough, you could get a glimpse of the ocean from the balcony through a spot in the trees, and thus the staff said that qualified the room as an ocean-view in Marriott's eyes. So if you are planning on staying here, temper your view expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe from Ventura Ca.

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice place to stay. Over all everything was very good. The only complaint I would have is the luck of the draw on wear your room is located. Instead of getting an ocean view room , save the money and get a resort view or island view room. Your ocean view room can be very slight although technically ocean view. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dale&Dora from Australia

Felt like home! Absolutely amazing!!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best spot to stay on the Big Island! We got a 2br apartment, it had everything we could possibly imagine...including a beach nearby with turtles. Was the best vacation mainly due to the brilliant resort. We highly recommend :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from California

Family Beach Trip

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice accommodations for family travel. Kitchen, laundry, cleaning staff all excellent. The "ocean view" from building 6 is a public parking lot view with a few glimpses of open water in the far background.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from San Francisco Bay Area

Beachfront Pool & Honu Bar/Grill Best Spot @ Poipu

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice big 2 Bedroom Suites with 2 Kings, 2 pullouts and full kitchens. Convenience store type items and coffee bar in main lobby. Organized kids activities like making flower leis, feeding the koi fish in all the ponds and bamboo pole fishing in the lagoon each day. Good staff. Fitness center is a little weak for a resort hotel, but gets the job done. Pool is not as big and elaborate as Maui Ocean Club, but just like there, the setup of the pool, Jacuzzi and bar/grill on the beachfront is the best spot around. That setup and location is definitely the hot selling point that will bring us back. Wish we were still there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Timeshare and lack of service during the stay

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel receptionist kept telling "we are a timeshare property, so we need to give priority to our owners", which makes me very uncomfortable as a hotel room booker. If you are putting a sale of hotel room, you should treat your guests equally, and provide same level of services. My room was not cleaned at all during the first night, and no one even apolozise. Below everage service compare to all other Marriot I stayed before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from southern part of illinois

grounds were pretty and nice beach

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: quiet area and beauitful beaches staff was friendly
Cons: things like ceiling fans need a good cleaning, some new furniture
Location: walking distance to Brenneckes resturant while we like to go. small shopping plazzas close . and on beach
since our scheduled condo cancelled our reservations the marriott offered us a condo and even gave us a beautiful ocean view. thank you very much. next time we'll book with you. the living room furniture needs updated but the beds were comfy, and rooms were large.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice big rooms. Beach was rocky but close to sandy

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Beautiful grounds & pools.
2 out of 5
by Beatrice from Bend, OR

Disappointing

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Paid extra for an ocean view and was told by the girl at the check-in counter "if you can walk out on your deck and see the water, that's considered an ocean view". My view was of the parking lot, and a tiny piece of ocean if you stood on your tippy toes. Not exactly what I had in mind. Disappointed with the unwillingness of the staff to help resolve my issue with the room. Didn't fly all the way to Hawaii to look at the parking lot. Would never stay here again.