Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View and Great Infrastructure

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Located on the north shore this truly is a luxury resort. The hotel has it's own beach and a lovely pool setup but is in close proximity to some of the nicest beaches in Hawaii. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely finished. The veranda restaurant for breakfast has a magnificent view and a great buffet. This hotel is pricey even by Hawaiian standards but if you want decadence in a wonderful setting it comes at a price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Excellent hotel: probably the best one on the isla

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Best overall experience at a hotel on Kauai to date. Excellent location, service, staff, facilities.room could use a little bit of updating but overall was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

St. Regis stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Amazing staff. Incredible amenities. Definitely worth the extra cost.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location - very overpriced

Posted Nov 2, 2014
The location is phenomenal with breathtaking views of the ocean and the north coast of Kauai. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel is very overpriced for what it offers, room cleanliness doesn't match 5star levels, the restaurants are overpriced for what they offer. The walls are very thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location great amenities

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Beautiful. The staff were all first rate. Couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. But be prepared to pay for anything and everything extra. Ex $32/day for parking (rental car was about the same charge) and tips are expected each time you come and go, private bonfire cost $300. Food was ridiculously priced and fair at best. Kayaks were $65 for 2 hours. They even charge you to book activities through their concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redditch UK

An Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff are very pleasant and attentive. The food in the restaurant is excellent.
Location: The hotel is built into the cliff side of Hanalei bay and has superb views over the ocean and the bay.
This opulent hotel more than lived up to our expectations. We only stayed a short while but would have liked to have stayed longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom A

nice location, terrible staff

Posted Oct 4, 2014
luxury hotels are defined by their attention to detail.. This is where this hotel fails.. A resort like the St. Regis princeville should have staff that do not wait for us to complain.. Our stay was ruined by horrible housekeeping who missed to turn down the sofa bed for our daughter 3 out of 6 nights.. I don't need to explain how inconvenient it is to have to wait for housekeeping to come turn it down when it's late at night and you just came back and your kid wants to sleep.. Bar, even when not busy, would drop off the menu and come back to take your order in a full 10-15 mins.. Again, we shouldn't need complain.. Oh.. And 30$/night for parking for hotel guests and no self park.. The area lost power for over an hour.. A top tier resort without emergency generators to keep some lights in rooms ? No communication ? We went looking to feed our daughter who was already hungry.. And the concierge went as far as to miss telling me the little convenience store actually had sandwiches.. Housekeeping is horrendous.. Every day a cup is missed, did not fill coffee cartridges, no lotion.. Had to miss something every single day.. At least one thing.. Room quite dated.. Frame of the wooden window coverings falling apart.. Pointless window to bathroom cannot be completely shut although there's a Top tier resorts understand guests complaining is an inconvenience and a waste of time for guests on vacation.. don't waste your hard earned money here.. extremely disappointing stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Most delightful vacation of our lives. Even the views from the hotel lobby takes your breath away as they are so beautiful. Get the breakfast package, play golf and take a Helicopter ride. The staff is there to help in any way they can.Its fabulous.We will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Paradise

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The view is incredible
Cons: Late check out with not charge.
Location: Everything you wish.
Was very good ,we recommend the kauai grill restaurant in the st regis princeville. Excellent place to dine,overall hanalei bay is just unique. Great time there. If we have a change ,we will go back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wScfrom SF

Best Romantic "Getaway" Resort in Kauai

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stream of consciousness rating.... Gorgeous setting... hotel built on a cliff overlooking a private beach on a bay with a nice reef and Jurassic Park mountains in the background. Not much else in the area other than high end condos... fancy golf with fancy golf adjacent homes. The property is lovely if not a tad dated in places, but we didn't mind. Service is as you would expect from a St. Regis. For our wedding anniversary we were upgraded 3 levels and given a decent bottle of sparkling wine. The lobby was nice and air conditioned rather than the usual open air sweat factory of similar properties like the Grand Hyatt in Poipu. The restaurants are excellent particularly the Jean-Georges Kauai Grill (pricey, of course... our meal with a bottle of wine was over $300, but worth it IMHO). Rooms... need some updating but were not too disappointing. We had a beachfront room that smelled like the beach, but we got used to it. Service is excellent, rivaling our recent stay at the SF Four Seasons. We were at the Grand Hyatt the prior 3 nights and wish we had stayed here the whole time instead. Hyatt is probably better for families with chitlins because of the nice pools. More rain than Poipu, but usually didn't last long. Overall, for a romantic getaway, this is our first choice in Kauai and we will be back.