Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from UK

Warm welcome, great location

Posted Aug 6, 2013
We had a very warm welcome from staff, who were very helpful. The location is great, and very central. Rooms were clean and modern, though this meant that they didn't have the same personality and character as the rest of the hotel. Great shower, breakfast nothing special but it was cheap and did the job. The parking out the back is also very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mike from Virginia, USA

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is fantastic. . . just off the most beautiful promenade I've seen. It is a beautiful old hotel. The rooms are clean and spartan. Note there is no elevator and the bathrooms have deep tubs that are hard to get into. The bathroom is clearly a retrofit since the sink is partially over the tub. Taking a shower is a little bit of an adventure. The staff is great. Parking is available for a reasonable fee. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Simon from England

Just off the main Street

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Value hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Hotel Metropolis - Kaunas

Posted Mar 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had one of the newly renovated rooms - did not get to see the 'older rooms' but we were very please with ours. Hotel is 10-15 minutes walk from the old town, but it located in the main shopping street of Kaunas. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Metropolis, Kaunas

Posted Feb 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Tired, formally grand style hotel. Rooms are being updated, unfortunately there was no water available on arrival and no hot water until after breakfast, following morning. There appeared to be better hotels at similar rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from Australia

Recommended

Posted Feb 3, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff, clean and warm.
Location: Very central to everything.
For the price this is an excellently located, clean and reasonable hotel. Very warm despite it being below minus 20 Celsius outside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Timewarp - Edwardian elegance meets Soviet severity

Posted Nov 1, 2011
Location: The area around the hotel - don't know its name! Or in the Old Town itself.
The reception staff were friendly throughout our visit, but their miserable cousins in the restaurant/breakfast room reminded us we were in a Baltic country. Our bedroom (double, with single bed for our 11 year old son) was huge, with wooden floor and floor to ceiling French windows & balcony. Strange oval pod shaped shower room protruded into our room, and there was no hot water on the first night, but otherwise the facilities were great. The drunk patriot marching up and down outside at 4.30 - 5.30am singing what sounded like the national anthem was not the fault of the hotel management, but the loud drunken argument the following night in the hotel foyer presumably was. We were expecting to see blue lights at the window at any moment, but eventually peace broke out. Breakfast was huge, varied and somewhat bizarre to Western European tastes - 1970s style canapes, with piped fishy goo on ritz-type biscuits, roast potatoes, frankfurters, barley gruel, pepper and onion salad, but also toast, smoked salmon, cereals, soused herring. The old town was a good 15 mins walk, through modern but attractive tree-lined shopping streets down towards river. A fascinating city, cheaper but not as pretty as Vilnius.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Finland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Solihull, United Kingdom

Perfectly positioned hotel

Posted May 18, 2011
I can only speak from experience and I have to say that this hotel is perfectly postioned for all that you need to see in Kaunas. It is positioned just off the main boulevard which houses the majority of Kaunas' shops and bars. The staff are very friendly and like all of the Baltic countries that we have visited the staff can all speak English and that goes for the staff in shops and bars.