Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Louisiana

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Mar 24, 2014
This was our first time to stay at a B&B! We had a wonderful stay at Hale Hoola! The breakfast was awesome and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. Thank you for a great stay at the Big Island!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Wentzville MO

Lovely B&B, great hosts, great food.

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Quiet, laid back, relaxed, nice view, friendly hosts, good food and coffee.
Location: South of Kona away from the more touristy resorts. Close to Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park and Kealakekua Bay known for great snorkelin
Had a wonderful time with wonderful hosts. Good breakfast every morning at 8 with great coffee starting at 7:30. The hosts/owners gave good advice on sights to see, places to eat and travel tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from kona

Best B & B on the Big Island

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Beautiful B & B, and they let my big golden retriever stay too!
Cons: nothing
Location: A lot of beaches and shops and coffee , honey and mac nut places close by
Bob and Mary are wonderful hosts at their B & B , and the Place is fabulous!!!! Best Wishes to them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gray's from Salt Lake City

Great place!!

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved it. Very peaceful. We canceled or last day at another place to go back to their place .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Penny from Christchurch NZ

Comfortable

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Quiet with tropical vegetation, a uninterrupted view to the sea
Cons: Evening dining is a long distance
Location: A vehicle is necessary as this B&B is out of town.
Quiet with a view of the ocean from our balcony. Host friendly informative and serve a very good Hawaiian breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dean and Cynthia

Great hosts and a wonderful experience

Posted Feb 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bob and Mary made us feel welcome and provided some great advice on the best places to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice view of sunset

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean, Mary & Bob are super nice people, enjoy the health home made breakfast, try to get in there before sunset, you will have good sunset view from your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynn

Perfect for Captain Cook area

Posted Dec 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
I find B&B's a bit odd - but they are growing on me. There were small things about the room that gave it a 4 instead of 5. But everything was clean, and it was so peaceful on the lanai outside the room and upstairs... Although the cows and chickens can get a bit noisy at supper time; they are quiet at night. The breakfast was great - don't be shy about requesting what you like; Mary is super nice and accommodating! The geckos were awesome. And they have extra supplies you can borrow to make your trip easier (coolers, boogie boards, straw mats, etc). Location is great for exploring the southwest and western part of the island. Both Bob & Mary know a lot about the area and can make sure you get the most out of your time there - whatever you choose to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KM

decent B & B, but remote location

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
All B & B rooms are on the 1st floor sharing a living room. There're beach stuff for guests, e.g. towels, snorkeling, chars, coolers, ...etc. Our room was small but decent. For our room (Hibiscus Room), hot/cold water shower was set up opposite. And there's hair in the bath tab which grossed me out. And, my husband said the room has moldy smell. I guess the owners are old couple, so the cleaning/maintenance didn't seem thorough.There're left-over toiletries (free hotel kinds), so you may want to pack your toiletries. The breakfast starts only from 8:30, and owners sit down with you forever. If you have your schedule and start your day early, you can just eat and leave. Otherwise, the breakfast seems to last all morning. We had coffee, bakery, fresh fruits, fruit juice, and main dish which changes daily. One thing about the location is that B & B is located in the middle of nowhere. We had to drive 20 miles to get any restaurants which all close before 9pm. I strongly recommend you plan to have dinner (e.g. in Kona) before coming back to B & B. As the public land is in front of B & B, there're feral animals, e.g. roosters, cows. Roosters start cockadoodledoo around 4am. One night a cow started mooing all night. He sounded like someone was trying to slaughter him, and very loud. In summary, if you don't mind the remote location, feral animals, and slow morning, it'd be perfect. But if you like convenience, you may want to choose somewhere near Kona.