Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet holiday to get away from everything

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Cons: The evening entertainment was lacking a little during my stay - but I understand this is going to be improved in the future and was a one off issue.
Location: The hotel is not in the main town and the bus runs from the hotel each day other than Sunday. You can go into Skala which is a small town nearby.
The hotel really lived up to the great reviews online. The hotel was very welcoming and all the staff were very friendly and spoke great English. The food was fantastic, fresh and delicious every day especially the lovely fruit. The waiting staff were really attentive and cleared tables very quickly if you wanted to sit nearer the lovely view. The pool was very relaxing and there was a nice mix of gentle activities to get involved in if you wanted to. There are lots of steps and a steep cliff down to the sea but it is well worth it. There are sunloungers and umbrellas at the bay and the sea is wonderful to swim in. This wouldn't be suitable for anyone with difficulties climbing a lot of steps or steep climbs. Skala is a small town nearby and the hotel runs a bus throughout the day apart from Sundays. I also went on one of the day cruises from Skala up to Fiskardo including two swim stops, lunch and a trip into an underground lake. This was lovely and great for a gentle, really enjoyable day out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great stay!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Very friendly staff with a nice atmosphere, brilliant setting for great views!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: Bath, shower & Jacuzzi drainage only
Great hotel overall. If i had to pick on something then room facilities can be improved. Shower drainage not that good and a Jacuzzi which didn't empty. Would still recommend for everything else and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice but getting a little bit tired

Posted Jul 11, 2014
On arrival we were greeted by an obnoxious check-in girl who claimed to know nothing about our booking a superior room with a sea view, despite showing her the booking confirmation. She have us a superior room with a view of a delapudated building and rubble! We complained and she then downgraded us to a normal room with a marginally better view! On asking to speak to the manager, it was resolved partially. We got a sea view with a 'reasonable' view. Not what was advertised and we really had to fight for it. Very unpleasant. On a positive note, the hotel is clean (despite us finding ants in the bed one morning), not sure it's the hotels fault though...hot environments etc. Room spacious, they do not do double beds, all singles/twins pushed together and NOT made up as doubles. Balcony very nice, two showers and a mini bar. Safety deposit box is so small it's not worth having, and they charge 3 Euros per day! Internet is appalling and keeps dropping out, very frustrating. Food choice is varied but can get very 'same' after a few nights. Would suggest going room only and eating in Skala. Much more choice and quite cheap too. Drinks, be careful. Nearly all watered down, all juices and wines! Stick to beer and get the real thing. Sea is quite a hike down a steep road and lots of steps. But no big deal for the fit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Too far from Skala

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Views.
Cons: Friendlier staff,more welcoming.More regular and later courtesy bus,more info from hotel on what's around to see do etc.Dining options improved.
Location: Too far out of Skala.But Skala is great when you get there.Some great tavernas and bars.Boat trips great too.
The hotel has a great setting,and our room looked out to sea.Was fairly normal standard for 5star but in need of some renovation especially the bathroom.The balcony whilst very large was very souless and not particularly inviting (some pots etc would have helped).The staff were mixed,some quite helpful but just as many not very friendly.A mad scram for sunbeds near pool as all squashed together and for early July I can't imagine what the situation would be at height of summer.The buffet was boring and without atmosphere,just about loading plates!We ate out most nights despite being half board.Definitely need a car as it is too far to the nearest tavernas etc and the courtesy bus is infrequent and last one is 5.30 so no good for the evenings!So car or taxi only if you want to get out of hotel.The biggest shock was the charge of 20euros for the use of a key for the room safe!!!!!Never heard the like in any other hotel before!And if you want a picnic,instead of dinner,don't bother.Two sandwiches made with the toasting bread,2 apples and some dry cake,and water/juice.Not worth more than a few euros,and another opportunity to shine lost.Typical of the general lack of care(including no room service!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Very enjoyable. Good hotel, getting a bit tired in

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Liked the experience. Good hotel and facilities. Did not feel that the staff were very enthusiastic especially in the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ken from Surrey

Nice clean hotel. The hotel is spread wildly.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It was a good standard 4 star
Cons: Lifts needed from top to bottom
Location: This hotel is remote from the outside
Food ok. Lots of steps and not enough lifts. All staff members are very supportive. Great curtesy ride into town. Nice little shop in hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ErNe from Brazil

Wonderful!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The location. Good customer service and love the fact we have the opportunities to do sports if raining.
Cons: Food quality.
Location: Little town on Scala full of lovely Restaurants and Bars.
Situated at the south Island, very clean and excellent customer service. We arrived very late (midnight) on Thursday evening, after we asked if there were any possibility to have dinner.. they manage to prepare pizza for us free of charge. Gym, spa, jacuzzi and tennis court.. absolutely perfect resort! If you are planning to rent a car (suggest) you can easily park in front of your room. Highly recommend for couple and family looking for a relaxing holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apostolata - May 2014

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, beach
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Skald has many restaurants and bars, try Captains Bar for a cocktail and Waves later.
Friendly staff, good location over the sea, recommend the terraces over the sea rather than the pool. Food ok with a lot of choice so you will something. The rooms are getting tired but still ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by GOBSTER from Ireland

Relaxing get away

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived on a late flight from the UK and drove from airport to Skala. arrived at hotel and manager immediately offered to bring me some food seeing as I had missed my dinner. Was brought Greek salad, meat and cheese plate and fresh bread, yum. Service with a smile ! The pool area is fab, one of the nicest hotel pools I have ever seen ... huge. Pool male bartender was super chatty and charming and joking with all his guests. Was unlucky with my timing as weather was not so great while I stayed, but could not fault anything in the hotel. The island itself is very picturesque, so headed off to explore the island on cloudy days. Would definitely recommend getting a car for a trip to Kefalonia, as many quaint little villages, beaches etc worth a visit.