Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelso, WA 98626

Nice hotel; we stay for the pool especially

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The pool and exercize facility. Also two of the staff members, Angie in particular.
Cons: When booking on Expedia, people need to be aware they will have no continental breakfast available to them.
Location: Kelso, Washington - nothing really but shopping.
I reserved the room for the first time ever with Expedia. Through them, your hotel beat the prices of the surrounding hotels and we love your facility and outdoor pool. So I booked our room for two nights through them. The rep went over all the details thoroughly before I agreed to book. However, when we checked in, we found out that because we booked through Expedia, there was NO Continental breakfast available to us! Not even a muffin or juice! I've NEVER stayed in a hotel in my entire life that didn't offer some sort of complimentary breakfast! We were told we'd have to pay for the buffet if we wanted breakfast. Also, the large lamp behind the chair in the corner did not work. It was plugged in, light bulb was in; we checked everything, but it didn't work and I was trying to do paperwork there, which I couldn't. The air/heat vents were broken off. Our bathroom sink wouldn't drain. Each time we used it, it would back up everytime. I had to move the coffee pot into the bathroom to use it; as there was no plug near it at all. My daughter and I needed to stay there for the weekend to get away from a destructive situation at home, and be safe. These things only added to the stress we were already under. Thankfully, Angie, comp'd us the room another night due to the issues. I was grateful. Then our last day/night stay, the toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor. The knob was too tight for me to turn, and even the maintenance man had difficulty. So...not a great stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close Mt. St Helens.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and swimming pool
Cons: Rooms needs updating
Location: Mt St Helens
Close to Mt St Helens. Swimming pool is good for kids to cool off. Staff is friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Odessa, WA

Lukewarm Shower, Lumpy Beds & Pillows, Noisey

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: There is a Tully's in lobby. Clean room. Beautiful lobby.
Cons: Offer free breakfast. Make sure people are not screaming and yelling in pool area after 9:00 p.m. Turn up temp on hot water tank. Change pillows, plus
Location: Sherri's Restaurant close by. Excellent service, food, and clean. Dutch Boy's Coffee.
Check in went fine. Room temp fine. Square lumpy pillows. Lumpy bed, uncomfortable. Shower was lukewarm, I prefer the water a bit hotter. Our room was on 2nd floor close to pool and hot tub. Kids in hot tub were "yelling & screaming" 9:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. They kept waking me up. I called front desk at 10:00 p.m. to ask them if they coukd quiet kids down. I was told there was a manager there asking everyone to leave because pool closes at 10:00 p.m. I looked out window but there was not anyone telling people to go, matter of fact, no personnel was in pool area. 5 to 10 minutes later, the noise finally stopped. I will stay at Motel 6 in Kelso next time. Motel 6 is located adjacent to Red Lion. We have stayed in Motel 6 before and have been very pleased. Besides, Motel 6 has free continental breakfast. This Red Lion has a restaurant so doesn't give free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Mary, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We appreciate all feedback, good or bad. Your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate staff, and issues will be addressed. We appreciate you choosing Red Lion Hotel Kelso, and hope you give us another chance. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Took one daughter to her friend's wedding; just stayed one night. Hotel allowed us to hang out at the pool and use their facilities while she was at the wedding. Very generous and helpful. Good pool and hot tub. Clean room. Very good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to MCdonalds and grocery store

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Although an older hotel, it was pretty well maintained.
Cons: I wish there was an elevator, to make it easier for luggage etc.
It was quiet and good for us after a long road trip. It was handy to have the stores beside it, for basics: milk etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but definitely needs a remodel.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Ok, but definitely needs a remodel. Customer service was nice, but didn't appreciate the outdated Tully advertisement online seeing how they have closed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

OK.....

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Rooms were huge
Cons: they need more staff. One person should not have to do the job for 3.
Location: good location. Restaurants and stores near by. Close to Mt. St. Helen's area.
The room was great. Lots of room and comfortable beds. Unfortunately, the gal that checked us in only put in one of our two rooms. So we were listed as a no-show for our second room and in the middle of the night other guests came into the room. They saw our things and went back to the desk to let the front desk know. Since we checked out on a Sunday the manager wasn't there. I called upon my return home and was happy with the response from the manager. She apologized again for the mistake on their part, gave me a more detailed explanation of what had happened and gave me a refund on the room. She could have just blown me off, but she took the time to return my call and 'reimburse' me for what had happened. If I had the chance, I would probably stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
There was only one small bar of soap in the room and only 1 tissue left in the box of Kleenex. We have stayed in the Red Lion several times before and have always felt very comfortable. Housekeeping just needs to supply the room better. We arrived late and it was raining, so we did not want to go to the office to get more supplies. The breakfast array was nice and attendants attentive. The Red Lion is easy to find and in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel convinent location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
we were not in the hotel very much, therefore there is not much to talk about
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Marla from Bellingham

just passing through

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice and great location. Our only negative is housekeeping seemed to be a bit lacking. We only had 4 small pillows for the 2 queen beds, and no bathmat. Not a big deal but worth a mention. The front desk was helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent.