Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why does such wonderful staff work at this place?

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was wonderful and the decor in the lobby is fun and interesting.
Cons: Monitor cleanliness in the rooms and make the doors close more quietly
Location: Good location near shopping and restaurants. Two blocks from the town shuttle route.
This hotel has two sections, he "historic" section and the (I assume) more modern section. Our experience is in the Historic section, so the "other side" might be different. Our experience with the staff at this hotel is wonderful -- the only reason we didn't give them a top rating was the shoulder shrug when we said how awful the room was. We thought about giving a higher rating than the lowest possible because of the staff, but basically one rents a room to sleep in, and if you aren't able to sleep, then it isn't performing it's function. The room smelled "off" when we came in, but I thought it would air out and be OK after turning on the a/c (meaning, open the window). Then we reclined on the beds to relax a little, and I identified the smell -- urine. I sniffed around the room a bit and couldn't pinpoint the source, so got back on the bed and the smell was back. I realized it was the bedspread. I took off the spread and that was a little better, but my clothing was now saturated with the smell. The doors in this section of the hotel apparently are difficult to close softly, and when closed forcefully, the entire wall shakes and is amplified in all other rooms. Not a big deal, normally, but since the restroom is down the hall in this section, doors were slamming all night long. This is a problem with late-night arrivals as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Avoid Old Section of Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The lobby
Location: Sea Life center, shops, restaurants, fjiord tours,
I would not recommend the old section of this hotel. Our room literally stunk. We reported this to the front desk and they used an ozone machine which helped very little. So I got a can of Lysol and sprayed heavily and when we returned the smell was gone. The room I felt was worth no more than $50 vs. $125 a night. The lobby was appealing and 3 of the 4 front desk people were friendly. Upon check in I felt the young lady was rather abrupt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but noisy

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Proximity to town and attractions
Cons: Noise level
Location: SeaLife Center, Downtown Seward
Though it has a decent location near the small downtown area and the SeaLife Center (not difficult in a town as small as Seward), the hotel is noisy at nearly all hours. This seems to be due to incredibly thin walls and doors, not because of any particularly loud guests. Further, there are not quite enough bathrooms for the number of guest rooms that share them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Located in beautiful downtown Seward, great town..

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Remodel the old section and add private baths.
Location: Great town to walk around in...plus you need to visit uptown where the fishing boats are located. Also many of the fishing tours go from this port.
We have stayed here before and love it- however the last time we stayed in the older section of the hotel where you had to share a bathroom down the hallway. I would not recommend this section of the hotel, especially for the cost. The rest of the hotel I do recommend. The restaurant is outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Pleasant hotel with great food

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Great food.
This hotel has 'original' and more modern sections and I had a room in the former so no private bathroom but facilities were close by. Ate in their restaurant and although food was a little pricey it was excellent - thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The staff is phenomenal !
Location: Don't let the blue skies fool you, it was 11:30 at night, we thought it was 6:00! We wanted to eat and go to bed and where referred to the Brewery
We had a late check and things where a mess and we where exhausted, the young lady at the counter was more than accomodating. Thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salzburg

Ein in die Jahre gekommenes Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Die Lage hat uns gefallen und dass ein Parkplatz vor dem Haus war.
Cons: Renovieren wäre echt an der Zeit.
Diese Hotel ist in die Jahre gekommen und so sollte vielleicht auch wieder mal renoviert werden. Die Zimmer sind klein und riechen etwas "muffig". Unser Zimmer lag genau über der Küche und wir konnte nicht gut schlafen, weil der Lärm der Töpfe und Teller nicht überhörbar war und das Aggregat der Entlüftung auch noch unter unserem Fenster montiert war und das machte erst so richtig Lärm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Typisch alaskanisch im "european wing"

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Sehr sauber und gut geführtes Hotel, aber im "alten Flügel" zu wenig Duschen und Toiletten.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
According to the manager, I booked the wrong room. I think if I would have booked an "economy room" at a motel I would have had better luck. Disappointed the way I felt there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Mary, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I again can only apologize that when you booked with Expedia you chose the a room with out a bathroom on the Historic Wing. I have no other option to offer if we are sold out, to help with a change of rooms when requested at arrival. Euro style rooms are the least expensive and are dorm style rooms. I do hope this helps some one else in the future to verify the chose they have made. We do not want anyone to be unhappy, Sincerely,Mary
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from muldrow oklahoma

Very comfortable place!!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: its all good
Location: This hotel is within walking distance to most of the town and water front.
good location,very comfortable clean hotel with a nice restaurant and bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you we do try to make this a nice stay, Mary