Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

Old Alaskan style hotel in nice part of Seward

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The lobby is packed with dead animals - I much prefer to see them living and moving around rather than as carcasses collecting dust. The room had fake flowers hanging out the window. There is no hot tub; one of the reviews said there was. The beds were comfortable, but sheets and towels are thin and cheap. Cheap furnishings too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Small rooms, but comfortable

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: It was clean and relatively quiet.
Location: One block from SeaLife Aquarium and downtown business district with shops, restaurants, coffee bars
The Hotel Seward is an older hotel with a more modern wing (Alaska wing - that's where we stayed) and an older wing (didn't see those rooms). The hotel is compact, and our Deluxe 2 bed room was on the small side, but it had very comfortable beds (a bit too soft for my liking, but my wife liked them) and nice furnishings. I like the alcove windows that gave extra room for a table and chairs. Our room came with a microwave and small refrigerator - which was very helpful as we were carrying lunch fixings with us throughout our trip. The staff was friendly, but note that checkin isn't until 4p, so when we got there a bit early, we were sent off to explore the town for a bit while the room was being finished. The Hotel is just across the street from the Best Western and ideally located in downtown Seward - just a block from shops, restaurants, coffee bars and the SeaLife Aquarium. The other location for hotels in Seward is up by the harbor - which is about a mile north of downtown Seward.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport NC

Stay OK

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The animals in the lobby and computer access. Close to Sea Life Center.
Cons: Smell in room--ventilation?
Room had a musty smell and was very warm until I figured out how to open the window. Bathrooms on hall nice and I liked the shampoo, etc in shower. Hairdryer?! Thank goodness for computer in lobby! For 1 night and price, I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ak

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Great location, clean and comfortable for our needs. Room was a little hot but a fan was brought immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Exit Glacier

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The staff was amazing. They were kind and helped with the computer and assisting me with my hiking gear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The front staff was great and very courteous. The room for its location and price was great. Similar to other types of road houses we have stayed at. It's old but comfortable and was perfect for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Basic but clean.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Low rates
Location: Close to convenience store for breakfast basics.
Pleasant management staff. Room was bare bones basic but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peerfectly fine mid-cost hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive.
My son and I stayed at the hotel for one night/ We selected the hotel knowing that we were sharing a bathroom with others (and staying in the "old" section of the hotel). The hotel was as advertised. It was clean and we didnt have problems sharing the bathrooms. Our room was somewhat small, but fine for our needs. I would certainly stay there again. The room was clean. The lobby is nice and "Alaskan" with stuffed animals, etc. Nice location in Seward, one block from the main drag (as much as there is a main drag in Seward). About a mile from the main dock area (tour boats).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Within walking distance of the Sealife Center, and the shops/restaurants on 4th street. Restaurant staff next door very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Historic" wing

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Stayed in the "historic" wing of the hotel. Based on other review was expecting something much nicer. Beware.