Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Quaint hotel in the historic district of Seward

Posted Dec 8, 2014
This hotel was such a cozy place to stay. The rooms had a lot of character and were very affordable. We visited in the off season so the lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas. I plan to stay here every time that I visit Seward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Nice old hotel in downtown Seward.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: It was quaint - a throwback to old Alaska - it was conveniently located, and the price was unbeatable (I was there during off-season).
Cons: Maybe fewer stuffed animals. I know that kind of thing is popular in Alaska, but as an animal lover it sort of broke my heart to see them.
Location: From the hotel it is a very short walk to the Alaska Sea Life Center and downtown shops and restaurants, including the Seward Brewing Co.
The Hotel Seward is easy walking distance from most of downtown shops, restaurants, the harbor park, and the Alaska Sea Life Center (a must-see). Staff was friendly and very helpful to me, a first-time visitor to Seward. Everyone who worked there seemed eager to make my stay a pleasant one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I was expecting a very old and small room being a historic hotel. However, the room was spacious with comfortable double beds and complimentary wi-fi. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If I'm ever back in Seward, I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Wonderful hotel...a mini-museum!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Location: Alaska SeaLife Center, Kenai Fjords National Park, glaciers, waterfront and park, friendly people and great coffee shops!
Staying at the Hotel Seward was the best...a friendly and helpful staff, good food, clean accommodations, and a great location. The walls on all the floors contain a wonderful history of Seward and the lobby and sitting area have great mountings of Alaskan wildlife. I would stay at the Hotel Seward again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

A traditional hotel with a hometown feeling

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: See above remarks
Cons: Pricey
Location: One of the oldest cities in Alaska. Beautiful surrounding terrain. Lots of history, including 1964 earthquake.
Hotel is located right in the middle of town. It is an "old school" hotel with a lot of class. Rooms are very nice. A bit pricey for Seward, but worth it. Attached restaurant excellent with limited menu.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rajfrom Alaska

Worst Experience

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was told that the room which I was booked for did not have a bathroom inside my room. The reason I told is historic and if I needed a regular room, i had to pay another $40 a night. The key they give you is a unique key and if you loose it an add-on charge of $10. So make sure you do check all of this before you move here. I am disappointed that Hotels.com did not do a check on this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

location, location, location

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very expensive, but comparable to the area, I booked this because of its walking location to downtown. Only spent 1 short night. Small but nice room, nothing special except the beds-very comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice in Seward.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Located in the heart of Seward with a small restaurant in the hotel it was an excellent choice. It was in walking distance of shopping and small caf├ęs. Walking distance to the Sealife Center. The room was comfortable and inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christinefrom Boston

No fault hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic and comfortable hotel in the center of Seward. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Clean and comfortable rooms. Plus an amazing array of taxidermy in the hotel lobby, which was quite impressive.