Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NEBO from New York State

Very quiet in the winter!

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: I liked the hallway with the pictures showing the history of the hotel.
Cons: Some sort of breakfast would be nice in the winter, since it is so far out on the spit and the restaurants are closed. We didn't have a car!
Location: The location, right on the water, is very cool. In the summer it would be fun to hit all the little shops and eating places.
We stayed here for a few days last week (in December) and got a pretty good rate. It is waaaay out at the end of the Homer Spit. I think it would be fun in the summer. Since we were there in the slow season 99% of the shops and restaurants were not open, including the restaurant at the hotel, except for the first morning we were there. We saw lots of bald eagles out the restaurant windows, and our room had a nice bay window overlooking the water. It was a nice place to lay our heads at night after spending the day with our daughter and her family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from alaska

Wonderful view with the sound of the waves.

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Wildlife, ships drifted by with the tides. Ever changing light created different views of the mountain and surrounding bay. The location is the prize but the hotel leaves more to desire for people who require more amenity s
2 out of 5
by Kim from Anchorage AK

Needs a nice lobby

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: The bathroom was clean and he bed was comfortable. No bad odors.
Cons: Since it is off season, I was hoping we would be offered a room with a working heater in the newer part of the hotel.
Location: Homer Alaska is beautiful, the hotel is right on the water. Lots of art and good food, beautiful scenery, hiking, walking on the beach, wildlife.
Although we've had good experiences at Lands End in the past, our most recent stay was disappointing. I knew the room we booked would not have a view and would be very small from the description on Expedia. But when we entered the room it was about 50 degrees. We were moved to another room and it too was cold. It was obvious the heating system was not working. There was no warmth coming out of the wall heater even after allowing some time for it to start working. We tried a third room and it was a little better, with temps around 60. We thought maybe we would find a comfortable place in the lobby to sit and read since our room was chilly, but there is not really a comfortable lobby in the hotel. The staff seemed inexperienced and unsure of anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So much potential

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance
Location: We like to take walks on the beach, take photos of the eagles and wildlife nearby, shop the local stores etc.
We have stayed at Lands End before and had a great time but this time we ended up in the older section of the hotel and had some loud neighbors that decided to slam drawers or at least it sounded that way and talk very loud on their deck early in the morning etc. We asked to be moved to the room next door to give us space the next night and they were accomodating. The rooms were quite out of date and the facilities were deteriorated in those rooms. I'd stay again and enjoy the location but I would only stay in the newer rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TravelinRambler from Fairbanks, AK

Can't beat the view!

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The view, room size, and the fact that is had a fridge, freezer, and microwave in the room.
Cons: The fan in the bathroom pops open and shut all night during windy times, making a noise that can be awful bothersome. I carry earplugs. :)
Location: We went to Starvin' Marvins pizza (good stuff, killer cheese/garlic bread) at the other end of the spit for dinner. Walked on the beach!
My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October. Since it is the off-season, we got a slammin' good deal, and come on- you just cannot beat the view in Homer, let alone in a room on the spit facing the ocean and all those mountains! We'd recommend this place to anyone- it is older, but very well kept, and just an overall nice place to park it for a few days of relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from Lakewood, Colorado

Perfect View

Posted Sep 8, 2013
The View was incredible. Had visited this hotel 20 years ago and said to myself someday I want to stay here. That day arrived. Plenty of windows to look at the mountains across the bay. It was a little expensive compared to some of the other hotels but I think the view made it worth it. Everything in Alaska is kinda of expensive anyway. Lands End I think is located in the greatest place. Just a short walk to the harbor if you are going to go fishing or take a ferry. If you just want to take in all the little shops located nearby or grab a snack that is easy too. Of course the trip would not have been complete without a stroll to the Salty Dawg, don't tell my wife but I did grab a beer while I bought a sweatshirt there. I will stay again at Lands End next time I travel north to do some sight seeing, fishing, ....., so much to do so little time. Have a great trip and take lots of pictures everyone will ask to see them when you get home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by doc from mandeville, la

Wonderful location. Great views.

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Great place to just hang out, admire the great view, or walk along the water. Excellent restaurant.