Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Seeing Seward

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: We could hear music slightly from the coffee shop
Location: Go to Exit Glacier! we did a guided tour at 4pm. Awesome.
We bounced around from Anchorage to Seward and many spots in between. We looked for a place and everything seemed to be gone. This is a DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH! Great location and the room is more of an old style apartment. Very cozy and different. It sits over a great coffee shop. We wanted an early check in and they worked to help us. When we go back to Seward, we will likely choose this over a normal hotel. The owners give you codes to get in the front door and then to your room. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cute place

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The apartment is lovly decorated. The king size bed in the bedroom is very comfortable.
Cons: Sofa bed needs to be replaced. Even we added an extra comforter, my kids can still fell the springs. The bathroom may need more lighting and a shelf.
Location: Location is great. It is in the downtown area. Close to everything.
The apartment is really original. It is on the top of a coffee shop. No front desk for the apartment. Over the kitchen window, we can see the beautiful mountains, and a bit of ocean through light poles. Free parking in the shop front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Jul 4, 2015
I am so glad that I found this hotel. If you are looking for something totally unique the Sauerdough will not disappoint you. My husband and I stayed in the smallest room and we found it to be just perfect for our one night stay. The owners also own the Seabean cafe that is located next door. They left 5$ coupons for each of us and we thoroughly enjoyed a delicious breakfast there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Plenty of room. Right downtown

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The suit was spacious. One master bedroom. One small bedroom our kids fought over and a futon in the seating area. We appreciated cooking dinner and breakfast in the kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

The Best!!!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
We loved staying at Sauderdough Lodging in Seward! It was by far our favorite place we stayed on our trip to Alaska. The Sunrise Suite was perfect for us - spacious, comfortable, really clean. The owners couldn't have been nicer. The coffee shop downstairs is great, and we really enjoyed the town and all there was to do there. Everyone we met was really friendly and we left wishing we had one more day to spend there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kimiko from Washington

Good value

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Seward is a beautiful town and the hotel was centrally located to shops, restaurants, and other tourist activities. This was the first time for us to stay at a apartment style hotel with no lobby or staff on the premises. We liked the apartment feel and having a separate kitchen and table to eat at. We have family in Seward and found the Sourdough a good value and would probably stay again. There were a couple of minor issues...we were given a used sponge for the dishes, every guest should have a a clean new one. The cabinets were high in the kitchen, it would of been nice to have a folding step stool by the fridge. There was something wrong with the heat. At one point we turned the thermostat all the way off and the room was still boiling. The street light shined through the kitchen window all night. The shade was too short and didn't fit the whole window. It would be nice to have a black out curtain on this window like the other ones. Finally, there wasn't really any storage space to unpack. The one wardrobe in the room housed the extra blankets and linens. There is space for another floating shelf on the right side of the bed and maybe the tv console could be changed with usable drawers and shelves. Since we were staying for a couple of days, it would of been nice to have extra tissues and toilet paper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ken from Kansas City

Old time feel with comfort

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tiffani N. from Colorado

Quaint, Comfortable, and Private-Perfect Location!

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
We were very pleased with our stay. It was nice a have a little "apartment" for our 4 day stay. It is obvious that the owners, who also own the cute coffee shop downstairs take pride in their adorable place. It was nice not to have a typical "lobby" etc. to deal with. Each room has codes that are redone for each reservation so you can come and go as you please without having to see anyone, which in nice when you are a muddy mess lol. It is not luxurious, but it is very cute, comfortable, historic, and VERY Alaska. Plus it is right in the middle of the cute area by the harbor. We we very happy with the choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Terri Hanson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels