Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jeff from Kendallville

Everything I needed

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just needed to keep the rain off my head, and it did that very well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dave from Detroit

Kendellville race

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service. Very hospitable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DAY1111 from INDY

Great Stop in Kendallville!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was friendly and efficient. Location was easy to find and convenient. Room was clean, neat and had everything we needed. Would select this hotel and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Malone from Huntsville, AL

Quiet, neat and very clean

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excvellent - enjoyed it very much
5 out of 5
Recommended
by UpNorth from Michigan

Convenient, quiet, and pleasant

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A stay at an Ohio HI Express made me pass them by for years, but this stay redeemed the franchise. The staff was genuinely cheerful and friendly, the room was comfy and quiet, a refuge from the 10 below temps outside. A good deal at a fair price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Osvaldo from Chicago

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dan from Kendallville

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
hot tub was broken. The night desk person charged me twice for the stay. The morning desk person got it corrected.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Terry from Indiana

Stay at the Best Western instead!

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here 3 years ago with some family and friends. The hotel has really deteriorated since then. The fitness room is a joke. The only thing working was the treadmill and it was very wobbly. It wiggled so much I couldn't put my iphone down and the tv didn't work so had to work out with no music or tv. The pool was freezing! Too cold to even go in. The hot tub was about 5 degrees warmer. Ridiculous. Here's where it gets pretty nasty...we had an overflowing toilet. Had maintenance come to plunge it and when he did, he left a mess on the floor (the contents). He wiped it up with one of the bath towels and left it on the floor! Couldn't wait to get out of there! Stay someplace else!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Minimally acceptable.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Minimally acceptable hotel for business travel. Would not recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Bobby, Hotel Management
I would like to extend my gratitude to you for leaving a review regarding your stay with us. We are always happy to hear from our guests and we value each comment. I would like to apologize that your stay with us was not as pleasing and acceptable as you had hoped it would be. I would like to know more information regarding your stay so that I can understand more completely and take the appropriate steps to make sure that you, as well as all of our guests are happy and pleased during your stay with us. Again, thank you for your review and I hope to hear from you soon. Warm regards, Brenda L
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from Cincinnati, Ohio

A treasure

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Everything I just mentioned
Cons: It would be nice to have hot oatmeal (with optional raisins, brown sugar and nuts) available for breakfast.
Location: The desk clerk mentioned Maria's House of Pancakes nearby, and it's well worth a visit. Their potato pancakes are delicious.
I had no idea what kind of hotel we would find when I booked our room in Kendallville, other than it was reasonable, convenient to our destination, and a Holiday Inn Express, which to me meant it would be reliably clean and comfortable. I was so surprised by the many ways the Inn exceeded my expectations. In the first place, the staff were unbelievably helpful--available at any hour day and night for anything we needed from helping us to change future reservations to solving my computer access problems to helping me pull a recalcitrant corkscrew from a wine bottle. Delightful extras were a table of sweet and/or savory snacks in the lobby for anyone with the pre-dinner hungrys, and a complimentary beverage upon arrival. I was particularly pleased that I could actually open the window in our room and breathe in fresh air as long as I wanted, instead of having that closed-in feeling that unrelieved air conditioning gives me. Best of all, from my point of view, was that I never crossed paths with a hotel employee who didn't smile and offer to help me in any way they could. Evidently they treated every guest that well, with the result that the atmosphere there was so pleasant that guests also greeted one another like friends. We enjoyed the hotel so much we cancelled our reservation at another hotel for the following night and extended our stay for one more night. I don't suppose I'll be back in northern Indiana, but if I should happen to be, this is where I will st
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Bobby, Hotel Management
Sally, Thank you very much for the wonderful review that you left regarding your stay with us! We appreciate your comments so very much. We are always happy to hear back from our guests and it is wonderful to know that we have been able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. We strive very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable during their stay with us. We hope that we can be of service to you again in the future and hope to see you again one day. Warm regards, Brenda L