Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great staff/team

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 2 nights in August with our 10 month old and had a great couple of days. Food in the restaurant in the evening was great, and breakfast had a great choice included in the price and cooked breakfast was very nice for a small extra charge. The only negative is that the walls are very thin, and as we were above the restaurant it was quite noisy in our room at night. To be fair some other reviews have flagged this so we knew what we may be getting into, but it kept us a bit on edge with the baby! The team/staff were great, very friendly and really helpful - and the history of the place is fascinating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Christinafrom Houston, TX

Charming find

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked our stay at Abbots Fireside as a means to be nearby to Dover for an early ferry departure. What a pleasant surprise! Upon arrival we were greeted by Kelly, who gave us a quick rundown of the history of the Inn. She was also our server for a wonderful meal in the dining room. All comfort foods, well prepared and delicious. Our room was comfortable and included a full bath. The half timber walls and leaded windows were lovely. The modern updates did not detract from the charm. Beware of low beams while climbing stairs and be prepared for single lane roads leading into and out of town. Best to arrive during daylight hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Thalheim

Geschichte pur, authentisches Hotel,

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Nähe Dover, Ausgangspunkt für Rückfahrt auf den Kontinent und zur Besichtigung der Stadt Canterbury. Busverbindung vor dem Hotel. Auf alle Fälle sollte man die Küche des Hotels probieren. Netter Wirt, gutes Essen. Würde auf alle Fälle wieder kommen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hannover

Historisches Hotel in wunderschönem Ort

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Das historische Gebäude, das Personal, die Küche, der Ort und die wunderschöne Umgebung. Alles in allem wunderbar geeignet, um zu entspannen.
In unserem gesamten Englandaufenthalt haben wir uns hier am wohlsten gefühlt. Das Personal ist ausgesprochen nett und verbreitet viel britischen Charme. Auch die Küche ist sehr zu empfehlen. Abends rundet ein Abendspaziergang in dem hübschen Örtchen Elham den Tag wunderbar ab. So stellt man sich England vor.... und wird nicht enttäuscht.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom France

Hotel with lots of Character

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Quirky but nice ambiance in this ancient hotel. No straight floors, walls, windows or doors but all adds to the charm. Surprised by its distance from Canterbury. Had to use hotel opposite for sandwiches as staff said we would have over an hour to wait. Breakfast - only cold buffet included in price, cooked breakfast was extra - staff seemed embarrassed with this arrangement - a bit petty considering the room was not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and quiet

Posted Aug 11, 2014
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Fantastic inn steeped in history.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Great time staying in such an old inn that is filled with character.Our room was very comfortable but you had to duck to clear the door. No angles in the room were square. This is a building from the early 1600s. What could be better? The staff was excellent and friendly. The dinner and breakfast were excellent as well. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Interesting historical background

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The history of the hotel but not the ghost story associated with it.
Cons: I understand the hotel is above a very old pub but the smell of the greasy kitchen still does not make the hotel very attractive.
Location: The hotel can do more on this.
The story about Charles II was very interesting. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mayafrom Gemert

authentiek hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: zie ervaring
Cons: De beschrijving dat het hotel 17 kilometers van Canterbury af ligt in het plaatsje Elham en niet nabij het historische centrum van Canterbury.
Location: zie ervaring
Heerlijk oud hotel uit 1649 waarin je je waant in vervlogen tijden met een houten trap en houten planken op de vloer. Ondanks dat is de kamer prima van deze tijd en heeft een goed bed. Het ontbijt is heel erg goed. Ook ligt het hotel nabij de bossen en velden waar je heerlijk kunt wandelen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MeCaKfrom Drenthe

Een bijzondere ervaring

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Door het historische karakter van het hotel accepteer je gemakkelijk enig gebrek aan comfort. Voor de luxe moet je niet naar dit hotel gaan. Wel voor de sfeer. De bedoeling van het personeel is goed,maar mist enige professionaliteit. Dat geeft dan wel weer de nodige charme.prima gelegenheid voor een of twee nachten