Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire

Good hotel but let down by attrotious food

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The rooms were good and clean; hot water was not a problem.
Cons: See above.
Location: £3 taxi ride to Canterbury.
I wanted a bottle of water, and the bar referred me to reception. Reception then took me to the bar, where although the receptionist had taken my credit card when I arrived I was refused my request to charge it to me room account. This for a small bottle of water! This is the only hotel I have known which had television but no list of stations - not even at reception! The restaurant was busy with a conference and clearly we would not be able to eat there. I ordered room servce. Of the five main dishes on the list, the one I chose (burgers) was sold out. I ordered plaice and chips. After nearly an hour I complained that it had not arrived, and was told that the chips were stll be cooked. When the meal arrived the fish was unlike any plaice I have ever eaten and was lukewarm; the chips were monsters and greasy. Whatever you do, do not eat in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

The Best in Canterbury.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Trees in car park drop gluey substance on cars, irritating.
Location: Interesting Walled city.
The cleanest hotel room we have stayed in the United Kingdom! A very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bromley

Visiting Canterbury

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet and relaxing
Cons: Maybe slightly larger rooms and a more modern bar
Location: Conveniently positioned for the City, County Ground and the coast (we visited Whitstable)
A very agreeable base to explore the City. We got a warm welcome from attentive staff and found our brief stay a real pleasure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bevans

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Lots of confusion with checking in although all the rooms were booked in advance
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manningtree

Near to Canterbury city centre - poor food!.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Clean well pepared rooms.
Cons: Price and quality of food.
Location: Canterbury has much to see all with close walking distance.
We booked two rooms for 3 adults and two children under five.We were pleased with our accomodation and the reception staff who were very helpful. The city centre was a ten minute walk and has much to offer. After a long day with two young children we decided to eat in on the first night. The bar meals were very expensive and poorly prepared! The deep fried fish, some of which was over cooked and some of which was under cooked. The Fish platter sharing for two were small portions for the price, and the mixed bread basket consisted of white sliced bread with the crusts off. It is not far to walk into the city centre for a wide choice of food outlets of all types.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice common areas.

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has lots of comfortable lounging areas, including the bar but also large lounges with big chairs where you can be with others or by yourself. It also has nice grounds and is very convenient for catching the coach to Dover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peterfrom Norwich

Convenient for City and to Dover

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent first impressions followed by efficient staff and beautiful public rooms.
Cons: Are already enlarging hotel. Difficult to add as only a 1 night stay.
Location: On the road out of Canterbury leading to Dover where we were heading for. Little time to see City's treasures.
Arrived earlier than planned but room was ready and we had quick access. Situated in large grounds with good outdoor sitting experiences. Was close to Canterbury City Centre and were provided with a City Centre map by staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harveyfrom Fairford

Not great

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was ok Arrived at 9.35 restaurant closed with only sandwiches available in the bar. Woken very early by a lorry delivering linen. I would not stay here given the chance again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com