Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Lots of confusion with checking in although all the rooms were booked in advance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manningtree

Near to Canterbury city centre - poor food!.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Clean well pepared rooms.
Cons: Price and quality of food.
Location: Canterbury has much to see all with close walking distance.
We booked two rooms for 3 adults and two children under five.We were pleased with our accomodation and the reception staff who were very helpful. The city centre was a ten minute walk and has much to offer. After a long day with two young children we decided to eat in on the first night. The bar meals were very expensive and poorly prepared! The deep fried fish, some of which was over cooked and some of which was under cooked. The Fish platter sharing for two were small portions for the price, and the mixed bread basket consisted of white sliced bread with the crusts off. It is not far to walk into the city centre for a wide choice of food outlets of all types.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Norwich

Convenient for City and to Dover

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent first impressions followed by efficient staff and beautiful public rooms.
Cons: Are already enlarging hotel. Difficult to add as only a 1 night stay.
Location: On the road out of Canterbury leading to Dover where we were heading for. Little time to see City's treasures.
Arrived earlier than planned but room was ready and we had quick access. Situated in large grounds with good outdoor sitting experiences. Was close to Canterbury City Centre and were provided with a City Centre map by staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geetel from London

A CANTERBURY STAY

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Liked the appearance of the hotel ,both inside and out. We much appreciated the welcoming and friendly staff. had a well appointed, comfortable room
Cons: We felt that the breakfast was too expensive for us, It would be great to have an a la carte menu, for those with smaller appetites !
Location: Not far from Canterbury Cathedral and the shopping area. Hotel has helpful maps and brochures
An excellent overnight stay in a lovely hotel ,set in lovely grounds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from West Sussex

Victorian Gothic architecture fused with modern

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The fact that it was well set back from the main road which cut out traffic noise
Cons: We found that the cost of the breakfast-which was not included in the overall price-was too high, and it was a standing charge no matter what you ate
Location: It was fairly central, and buses could be taken into the main town, but like all busy cities the cost of parking is phenomenal
It was a comfortable stay overall. Staff were accommodating and the room was well equipped and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Abbots Barton

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location
My room was on the third floor and small and dingy. The desk was also the dressing table and was not very comfortable to work at. Evening meal was tasty although expensive. I had booked a 3 night stay, but due to a family crisis, was only able to stay 2 nights. In spite of explaining the circumstances, the hotel refused a refund for the night not stayed. I feel that in the interests of goodwill, this refund could have been made.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel - 10 minutes from city centre

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Excellent accommodation. Fabulous food.
Location: 10 minutes walk to city centre and the cathedral. We were able to walk the city walls. There is a castle and also St Augustine's Priory.
Comfortable stay in this hotel which started with a friendly and efficient welcome. The room was a good size, extremely comfortable and very clean. The meal in the restaurant was reasonably priced - we enjoyed three courses of fine dining on two of the nights during our stay. All the staff were friendly and made our stay very good. On leaving - assistance was offered by three separate staff as we left the room and subsequently the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from Essex UK

Nice Hotel close to Town

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and accepted dogs.
Cons: The Food in the Restaurant.
Location: Good location, close to town.
My Wife, my little Dog and I had a lovely stay here. The one and only disappointment, was the Food in the Restaurant. The Restaurant's decor was delightful, however, it was badly let down by the quality of the food, which also was expensive at £22.50 for 2 courses and £26 for three. My Wife found her starter was small but tasty, and my Broccoli Soup although tasty, was an alarming bright green. Unfortunately, my Wife's braised Steak, was terrible, she could not cut it with her knife, and sent it back, which was a first for her, having the fish instead, which was small and tasty. I had Pork belly, which was ok, but not worth the money. The Waitress was good and apologetic. Other than a bad meal we enjoyed our stay, and would stay again, and eat in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from London

Pleasant hotel, close to the city centre.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were helpful and polite.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Simon Bryant from Westcliff-on-sea

Doubled booked us so pushed to B&B up the road.

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was the venue for a family wedding and booked with plenty of notice. They double booked us so we had to stay down the road in a lower grade of B&B!! Not at all impressed with no offer of a refund, just a bottle of wine and a free future stay... Complaint has still not been resolved. The wedding was amazing for my sister which was all that mattered - the rainy walk back to the B&B not so fun.