Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton, England

Excellent service and minor gripes

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Character, location
Cons: The bed sheets, if one was being picky, were quite rough.
Location: The hotel's within easy walking distance of the city centre.
There were a couple of minor things wrong with our room. One of them was that the showers were cold in the morning. I had hardly mentioned it on checking out when the lady behind the desk apologised in a way that felt genuine and heartfelt and offered us a partial refund. I think other visitors would be extremely unlucky to have a cold shower, and therefore I can recommend this hotel warmly. We didn't have breakfast, and so all I can say is that the building is charming, the staff friendly and the room comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire

Good hotel but let down by attrotious food

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The rooms were good and clean; hot water was not a problem.
Cons: See above.
Location: £3 taxi ride to Canterbury.
I wanted a bottle of water, and the bar referred me to reception. Reception then took me to the bar, where although the receptionist had taken my credit card when I arrived I was refused my request to charge it to me room account. This for a small bottle of water! This is the only hotel I have known which had television but no list of stations - not even at reception! The restaurant was busy with a conference and clearly we would not be able to eat there. I ordered room servce. Of the five main dishes on the list, the one I chose (burgers) was sold out. I ordered plaice and chips. After nearly an hour I complained that it had not arrived, and was told that the chips were stll be cooked. When the meal arrived the fish was unlike any plaice I have ever eaten and was lukewarm; the chips were monsters and greasy. Whatever you do, do not eat in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

The Best in Canterbury.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Trees in car park drop gluey substance on cars, irritating.
Location: Interesting Walled city.
The cleanest hotel room we have stayed in the United Kingdom! A very pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified travelerfrom London

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, but rooms are very small and in need of updating. The room we stayed in had wallpaper hanging off the walls, the bed was very small and we were above the kitchen, so opening the window filled the room with hot air and kitchen smells. The walls are also very thin, so we could hear every conversation from the room next to us. Unfortunately too full to change rooms, others may have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by andy dysonfrom Loughborough

good location

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
overall, this is a nice hotel within a 15 minute walk of the city centre. Rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. Gripes were reception staff that were hidden from view both on arrival and departure and a maid who walked into our room at around 09.45 when check out was 11.00. This could have been very embarrassing. However, I would stay again, if the price was right. Breakfast was very expensive at over £12 each; we didn't bother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, not too far from city centre, with efficient and professional staff. One small issue though: don't arrive too late as carpark is limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bromley

Visiting Canterbury

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet and relaxing
Cons: Maybe slightly larger rooms and a more modern bar
Location: Conveniently positioned for the City, County Ground and the coast (we visited Whitstable)
A very agreeable base to explore the City. We got a warm welcome from attentive staff and found our brief stay a real pleasure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bevans

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mariafrom Cham

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
sehr schönes Hotel, viele Flure und Nebenflügel, kann verwirrend sein
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Moritz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com