Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromley

Visiting Canterbury

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet and relaxing
Cons: Maybe slightly larger rooms and a more modern bar
Location: Conveniently positioned for the City, County Ground and the coast (we visited Whitstable)
A very agreeable base to explore the City. We got a warm welcome from attentive staff and found our brief stay a real pleasure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Lots of confusion with checking in although all the rooms were booked in advance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manningtree

Near to Canterbury city centre - poor food!.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Clean well pepared rooms.
Cons: Price and quality of food.
Location: Canterbury has much to see all with close walking distance.
We booked two rooms for 3 adults and two children under five.We were pleased with our accomodation and the reception staff who were very helpful. The city centre was a ten minute walk and has much to offer. After a long day with two young children we decided to eat in on the first night. The bar meals were very expensive and poorly prepared! The deep fried fish, some of which was over cooked and some of which was under cooked. The Fish platter sharing for two were small portions for the price, and the mixed bread basket consisted of white sliced bread with the crusts off. It is not far to walk into the city centre for a wide choice of food outlets of all types.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Norwich

Convenient for City and to Dover

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent first impressions followed by efficient staff and beautiful public rooms.
Cons: Are already enlarging hotel. Difficult to add as only a 1 night stay.
Location: On the road out of Canterbury leading to Dover where we were heading for. Little time to see City's treasures.
Arrived earlier than planned but room was ready and we had quick access. Situated in large grounds with good outdoor sitting experiences. Was close to Canterbury City Centre and were provided with a City Centre map by staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by srt from kent

noisey room

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
do not stay in room 109 as overlooking dirty roof , building site and next to kitchen extractor pipe that is in use all afternoon until they finish cooking and then start again at breakfast time causing a loud vibration in the room even when you turn the tv volume up and it sounded as Riverdance were rehearsing above us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by martin from belper

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good room, they gave us an upgrade on arrival. nice big bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geetel from London

A CANTERBURY STAY

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Liked the appearance of the hotel ,both inside and out. We much appreciated the welcoming and friendly staff. had a well appointed, comfortable room
Cons: We felt that the breakfast was too expensive for us, It would be great to have an a la carte menu, for those with smaller appetites !
Location: Not far from Canterbury Cathedral and the shopping area. Hotel has helpful maps and brochures
An excellent overnight stay in a lovely hotel ,set in lovely grounds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from West Sussex

Victorian Gothic architecture fused with modern

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The fact that it was well set back from the main road which cut out traffic noise
Cons: We found that the cost of the breakfast-which was not included in the overall price-was too high, and it was a standing charge no matter what you ate
Location: It was fairly central, and buses could be taken into the main town, but like all busy cities the cost of parking is phenomenal
It was a comfortable stay overall. Staff were accommodating and the room was well equipped and comfortable