Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Abbots Barton

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location
My room was on the third floor and small and dingy. The desk was also the dressing table and was not very comfortable to work at. Evening meal was tasty although expensive. I had booked a 3 night stay, but due to a family crisis, was only able to stay 2 nights. In spite of explaining the circumstances, the hotel refused a refund for the night not stayed. I feel that in the interests of goodwill, this refund could have been made.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel - 10 minutes from city centre

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Excellent accommodation. Fabulous food.
Location: 10 minutes walk to city centre and the cathedral. We were able to walk the city walls. There is a castle and also St Augustine's Priory.
Comfortable stay in this hotel which started with a friendly and efficient welcome. The room was a good size, extremely comfortable and very clean. The meal in the restaurant was reasonably priced - we enjoyed three courses of fine dining on two of the nights during our stay. All the staff were friendly and made our stay very good. On leaving - assistance was offered by three separate staff as we left the room and subsequently the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from Essex UK

Nice Hotel close to Town

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and accepted dogs.
Cons: The Food in the Restaurant.
Location: Good location, close to town.
My Wife, my little Dog and I had a lovely stay here. The one and only disappointment, was the Food in the Restaurant. The Restaurant's decor was delightful, however, it was badly let down by the quality of the food, which also was expensive at £22.50 for 2 courses and £26 for three. My Wife found her starter was small but tasty, and my Broccoli Soup although tasty, was an alarming bright green. Unfortunately, my Wife's braised Steak, was terrible, she could not cut it with her knife, and sent it back, which was a first for her, having the fish instead, which was small and tasty. I had Pork belly, which was ok, but not worth the money. The Waitress was good and apologetic. Other than a bad meal we enjoyed our stay, and would stay again, and eat in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from London

Pleasant hotel, close to the city centre.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were helpful and polite.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Simon Bryant from Westcliff-on-sea

Doubled booked us so pushed to B&B up the road.

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was the venue for a family wedding and booked with plenty of notice. They double booked us so we had to stay down the road in a lower grade of B&B!! Not at all impressed with no offer of a refund, just a bottle of wine and a free future stay... Complaint has still not been resolved. The wedding was amazing for my sister which was all that mattered - the rainy walk back to the B&B not so fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by phil from lincs

great food

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
comfy warm welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vicky from Canada

Comfortable sight-seeing base.

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very comfortable and friendly hotel. Staff were all helpful, friendly and efficient. Room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. It was like staying in a country home. Only 10 minute walk into the beautiful Canterbury city centre for sightseeing and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Brooklyn NY

Posted Dec 10, 2013
We had booked a single room for 9 nights however when we arrived it wasn't available and had to stay in separate rooms. In addition they overbooked one night so they were going to move us to a different hotel for one night and have us return for the rest of the stay. We made different arrangements and canceled two night that they overbooked. At first they were not going to give us a refund but in the end were very accommodating and returned our money for both nights. They were pleasant and had given us a free box of chocolates for the inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Plett from Chelmsford

lovely clean room and comfortable bed.

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Did not use any of the facilities apart from sleeping.