Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Very warm reception very welcoming although I never got the room I booked was refunded and had a plasent stay very reasonable princes on food and drink
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Close to ferry port

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Yes need to put air conditioning in and spend some money and do repairs that need done
Location: Sea in front of hotel and ferry port 5 mins away
Room was hot, the fan that was in the room was broken so was the shower rail and the telly was fixed to the wall at an angle the beds were old and very uncomfortable the bathroom was old and some areas of it were dirty I cleaned it before we use it overall a terrible room. Plus point the staff were really nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Windows overlooking the water

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Lovely period hotel with all the amenities...right on the waterfront. No complaints except fourth floor windows require some attention to eliminate whining wind noise and drafts. Did not eat in the hotel but prices and selection appeared reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ok for a short stay!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff here are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
Cons: I would suggest some renovation to the rooms might be needed.
This hotel is one of the more expensive options in Dover, and the pictures online look great. Sadly our room looked nothing like the pictures. It was a little dated, with the bathroom desperately in need of some renovation. The bed was uncomfortable and was a small double bed, which you wouldn't expect in a double room designed to accommodate 2 people. The room also overlooked the road, so was a little noisy at night as we needed to have the window open for the only source of fresh air. The Wi-Fi was very slow from the room and in the end gave up trying to use it as web pages took too long to load on all our devices, so it wasn't a fault on our part. On the up side the room seemed clean, despite being dated, and the bar is a scenic place to sit for a drink or quick bite to eat with staff being very friendly. For a short stay, this hotel is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great Location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location was great, and the restaurant staff was great!
Cons: The room was quite stuffy since the windows would only open 4" to 5", so you could not get the full impact of a very nice breeze coming of the channel
Location: Dover Castle and the White Cliffs of Dover are great things to visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from AZ, USA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Very nice sea view and easy access to ferries to go to France.
Location: Dover Castle is about 15 - 20 minutes and town centre just 5 minutes walk away.
Very nice sea view but the room is far too hot and the small window can't be opened. Complained to staffs but they won't help and said it's the rule not allow to open window. A fan was provided but not helping much and it's too noisy to sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Too old

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Slanted floors. No air conditioning. Problems with light fixtures. Old mattress. Ancient and dirty carpets. Beautiful location but this hotel really needs an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Had to stay elsewhere because of water damage

Posted Jul 29, 2014
I booked this hotel online for an overnight stay before an early ferry from Dover. On the day I was running late and so rang the hotel to enquire about late check in. I was told that the room was water damaged and I had been booked into the Holiday Inn at Canterbury instead. The hotel staff had tried to inform me however I had forgotten to update them with my new mobile number. The alternate hotel was pleasant enough however it was about 20 miles away , meaning an even earlier start the next morning. Plus I doubt it would cost as much as the Best Western itself. Having forgotten to update my mobile number I don't feel best placed to criticise however I did also provide my email address when booking which with smartphones is almost instant nowadays anyway. Obviously I am unable to comment on the Best Western itself since I didn't see it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel was central to everything we wanted!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by DJR2019 from Florida

HOT

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was great. Room was standard for Europe... small. There is no A/C. We book water front thinking we could get a nice breeze theatre but windows are designed to only open about 6-12 inches... Be prepared to be miserably hot if you're there during that time of year.