Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield

Disappointing.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
So much potential. Such a disappointment. A good location for touring Kent but that is about all that can be said. The room looked dreary and tired, with cigarette burns in the carpet and ill fitting curtains. The shower fitment hung on by one screw and in all honesty we were pleased to be moving on after only two days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Ashford

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable room and a very convenient place to stay if in Ashford.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by George from Epsom

Very good breakfast...eventually!

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was good that we were able to arrive very late after a wedding. The bed was very comfortable. Shower had a broken shampoo bottle in it. Good sized desk in the room. When we went for breakfast there was no-one around and we were about to give up after half an hour when finally someone appeared. In the end breakfast was very good. With a little more effort on service it would be a nice place...at the moment it feels a little "Fawlty". I would stay there again though!
3 out of 5
by Lorna from UK

budget stay

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Close to bus routes and bus stops
Cons: fix the plumbing and install double glazing! It would be helpful to supply bus timetables.
Location: Not far from North Downs Way, Kings Wood (marvellous bluebells) Good value beer and food at The Pheasant. No shops nearby.
Single room and bathroom were both pleasantly spacious and cleanliness was excellent. Plenty of hot water. Shower tricky but there was a bath. Onsite Italian restaurant provided tasty meal in comfortable surroundings. (there are cheaper alternatives nearby) Bed very firm but OK. Heating OK but couldn't turn it off. Unfortunately the road noise was very loud indeed, and continued all night, even with the (single-glazed) window closed. This noise was sufficient for a sleepless night even after a 20mile walk. Also the taps would not turn off properly, it was difficult to flush the loo and in general a plumber was needed. There are quieter rooms at the back of the hotel which were unoccupied, but a subsequent email informed me that these have to be booked direct not via the internet and are "definitely not at the same price". The rate does not include breakfast, which is an extra £8. I didn't try this as I needed to leave promptly each morning. When I checked out at 8.30 am the foyer was still locked up and in darkness!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CArcher22 from Kent

Don't arrive before 4pm

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Check in says it starts at 4pm, I arrived slightly early at 3.30 but figured this would not be a huge problem. The hotel was locked, and there were no staff around; called them to let them know I'd arrived, and was told they'd be ten minutes. Staff arrived at 4.10 and explained that they'd been out collecting their child from school - not sure this needs both parents, especially when they knew they had bookings arranged for that evening, and it meant I was waiting in the cold for over half an hour. Similar problem occurred when checking out; noone was at the front desk, and when I rang the bell, noone arrived, eventually rang the hotel phone and was told just to leave my key on the doormat - says a lot about the security of the hotel. As well as issues checking in and out, I only had a hand-towel in my en-suite shower room which was not really sufficient, and the shower's water pressure was very poor. Also the blanket on the bed had various stains on it. Overall the room was comfortable and a good size for one night's stay, and the hotel was in a good location for getting into town, as well as being good value for money. However, the problems experienced with checking in etc. mean I would not recommend this hotel to others.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never again

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: not allot
Cons: more staff
Location: nothing
When we arrived and booked in I found that I was given one room and not two as I had booked. Delayed going to our rooms as bed linen was not ready. Ordered breakfast but in the morning no staff to be found so we left hungry.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Gaz from Coventry

Good enough for a short break.

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel and grounds are in decent condition but I just felt it needed a makeover. I only stayed for 1 night and the bed was very comfortable. There is an Italian restaurant at the hotel but I didn't eat there. I did find it difficult to locate anyone on the 3 occasions I wanted someone and I had to hunt the manager down to book in and out and when I went to the bar in the evening I waited around for about 10 minutes but nobody was serving. Luckily there are 2 pubs within a 5 minute walk in either direction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

does the job

Posted May 20, 2013
When we arrived the hotel seemed functional but possessed no real charm and the receptionist who later appeard to double as a chef looked like he'd rather be anywhere but there. overall it was ok but nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com