Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

OK hotel, but understaffed

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: there were not enough floaties for children at the pool. The ones available were "for swimming lessons only" and were rather abruptly snatched away
an OK experience, rooms clean, fine pool, but the hotel needs some renovation and there was not enough staff in the restaurant or at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Bit out of town

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Fine but not great value for the price. A bit dated and room really stuffy. Breakfast nice though.
2 out of 5
by Dani from Gloucestershire

Average hotel which should be cheaper

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly room attendants and quiet.
Cons: Re tiling, better irons and more ventilation.
Location: Tunbridge wells centre is 10 minutes away by car. Not much near the hotel.
The hotel is average, The pool area is dated and needs re tiling as well as the bathrooms. When we stayed there was a wedding on both nights which was not a problem however we noticed that after the wedding party had left the bar area all the glasses and tables were not cleared in fact the bar was covered in empties. This was still the case when the wedding party returned after the ceremony. I am not sure if the hotel was short staffed as the barman didn't know if could order food and said he had just come up from Brighton! The rooms only have small windows so were very hot and not very light, you can open them fully after removing the safety rope however we were on the 2nd floor with a 3 year old so could not do this. Our room seemed a bit dated but my parents room was nicer with better decor so we could have been in an older part of the hotel. All in all I think that £122.00 is more than what our room/stay was worth.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LJMart from Hampshire

Disappointing

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We felt the room was very oppressive and the hotel set up more for the business client than someone like us looking for a relaxing stay. Didnt realise hospitality tray was in the wardrobe until late - along with 2nd set of towels. As we were only staying one night we didnt need the wardrobe and it seemed a strange place to put these! The bed and pillows were very hard so neither of us had a good nights sleep and ended up with bad backs. Would have been a nice touch to have tea/coffee served at the table at breakfast but as this was completely self service virtually no contact with hotel staff other than check in/out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Spoonie from Kent

Couple of nights

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Ample parking, leisure facilities and Mick in reception.
Cons: Number of staff on duty in ALL areas.
Location: Quiet location. Only 10 min walk into Pembury. Easy access to main roads. We visited Down House and Knole House - both within 20 miles.
No problem with check-in upon arrival. Mick at reception was a star and nothing was too much trouble. Room was spacious and clean but very hot even with the window open. No air conditioning. Breakfast was good but slow to be replenished when busy. Same menu for bar and restaurant, somewhat limited. The nights we spent there were busy due to a wedding and it didn't seem that more staff were scheduled despite this. Queues at reception then became long with only one person dealing - not acceptable when they obviously knew it was going to be busy. Pool and leisure facilities were good although again had to wait for staff to appear. Overall a good stay but can't help feeling more staff needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Weekender from Kent

Over Priced

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
After thinking about it, the only thing I can say is this:- If you are paying full price it doesn't feel worth the money. Average stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stressed Out from Suffolk

Relaxing getaway

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel restaurant a bit pricey, but the food was very good. It was too far to walk into Tunbridge Wells but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kris from London

Lovely place to getaway from the City

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel on the spur of the moment and we were delighted by the peaceful setting despite its proximity to Town. The suite was very comfortable however a small sofa in the lounge area would have been very nice. Our one issue was the creaky floorboards. We could hear every movement from the upstairs suite. That aside we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short relaxing getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Overaal a good experience

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here a few times, staff & service usually great as it was on my last trip. Rooms generally spacious and clean. Decor a little dated but overall a good experience and good value for money. Bar area a little on the small side.