Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston upon Thames

Well located hotel with good facilities

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, old building with character, good interior design
Cons: Tables outside were not cleared frequently enough
Location: The view of the beach from the hotel is excellent, Deal castle and the Pier are good to visit.
The location was excellent, on the seafront. The facilities were good with comfortable and clean bedrooms. A very good breakfast was provided, with very good customer service all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Nice sea views and close to town centre.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Car parking facilities.
Location: Right next to the pier and close to Deal castle
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room facilities were of good standard. Hotel nice and clean with much character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Very friendly and good position

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Food was excellent
Comfortable and easy to get to places , staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from London

Lovely hotel in a perfect little seaside town

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, area and room itself were all great. You are close to everything and very comfortable.
Cons: We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel. Our reason to dine elsewhere is because the breakfast was very disappointing.
Location: Good restaurants opposite, wonderful pubs on Beach St and Middle St and the castle and pier in walking distance.
The Royal is a wonderful and historic place on the Deal seafront, with past guests of note including Churchill and Nelson (who had secret trysts with Lady Hamilton there). It retains an air of grandeur without being imposing or stuffy. The staff are down to earth, friendly and eager to help and the rooms are spacious and well kept. We didn't have one of the grander seafront rooms but i understand they are quite special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Woodford Green

Only place to stay in Deal!

Posted May 6, 2014
What a wonderful experience we had at The Royal last weekend. We could not fault the highly professional staff who made our stay particularly pleasant. Our family room was bright, superbly equipped and so big that my grandson took to practising his cartwheels across the room. The location is second to none in the area being almost on the beach with uninterrupted sea views. Next time we visit we will certainly book one of the rooms with a terrace overlooking the beach. We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and were spoilt for choice - everything was most tasty and well-presented. How nice not to have anything whatsoever to complain about!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night away

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Location: The hotel is right on the sea front so the views were wonderful. Also, a stones throw from shops, other restaurants and pubs - no car necessary!
As we walked through the hotel door we were greeted by a very friendly and happy receptionist - great start! Our room was very pleasant, clean and warm. The double bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was very roomy and clean. Little extras like bottled water and fresh milk for tea or coffee were very welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave ad Jane from Winchestr

Betwixtmas Break

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: The attitude of the staff, the Hotel's position by the beach and near the town and the spacious rooms.
Cons: Breakfast was a little disorganised and they run out of sausages one day.
Location: Nice little town with some interesting shops. Plenty of areas to walk in the country and by the sea.
We stayed for three days between Christmas and New Year in one of the premium rooms at the front of the hotel practically on the beach. The staff were very cordial and attentive and made our stay very enjoyable. The room was very roomy and had everything you could want for, even down to a free-standing bath in the corner! The balcony afforded us wonderful views of the sea and the pier but you had to be aware of the occasional walker on the beach. The bar was directly below our room so there was a little bit of noise during the early evenings and I imagine there could be more if people were sitting outside. All in all, a great stay and we will definitely come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by J+C from SE London.

Deserves extra star.

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were fortunate enough to be upgraded ,which gave us a sea facing balcony .The breakfast was both good ,and dinner in the bar pretty good value.We hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brims from Horton Kirby, Kent

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect, just what we hoped. The hotel felt welcoming, with just enough buzz around the bar and lounge to enable us to get and relaxed during our visit. Lovely room on the top floor, looked recently refurbished. Comfy, massive bed. Only snag, no extractor fan in the bathroom and couldn't open the window. Will definitely return.