Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of wight

Convenient position for town

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Good reception. Room very comfy and spacious. Breakfast very good.The building has lots of atmosphere. Parking could be a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston upon Thames

Well located hotel with good facilities

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, old building with character, good interior design
Cons: Tables outside were not cleared frequently enough
Location: The view of the beach from the hotel is excellent, Deal castle and the Pier are good to visit.
The location was excellent, on the seafront. The facilities were good with comfortable and clean bedrooms. A very good breakfast was provided, with very good customer service all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Nice sea views and close to town centre.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Car parking facilities.
Location: Right next to the pier and close to Deal castle
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room facilities were of good standard. Hotel nice and clean with much character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Very friendly and good position

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Food was excellent
Comfortable and easy to get to places , staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from London

Lovely hotel in a perfect little seaside town

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, area and room itself were all great. You are close to everything and very comfortable.
Cons: We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel. Our reason to dine elsewhere is because the breakfast was very disappointing.
Location: Good restaurants opposite, wonderful pubs on Beach St and Middle St and the castle and pier in walking distance.
The Royal is a wonderful and historic place on the Deal seafront, with past guests of note including Churchill and Nelson (who had secret trysts with Lady Hamilton there). It retains an air of grandeur without being imposing or stuffy. The staff are down to earth, friendly and eager to help and the rooms are spacious and well kept. We didn't have one of the grander seafront rooms but i understand they are quite special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent disabled access

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Royal is a very nice hotel, friendly, welcoming and in a great location. Some minor hiccups in the kitchen did not detract from the tasty and imaginative food menu and the management team were quick to put things right. Overall, an enjoyable stay in a quality hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Woodford Green

Only place to stay in Deal!

Posted May 6, 2014
What a wonderful experience we had at The Royal last weekend. We could not fault the highly professional staff who made our stay particularly pleasant. Our family room was bright, superbly equipped and so big that my grandson took to practising his cartwheels across the room. The location is second to none in the area being almost on the beach with uninterrupted sea views. Next time we visit we will certainly book one of the rooms with a terrace overlooking the beach. We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and were spoilt for choice - everything was most tasty and well-presented. How nice not to have anything whatsoever to complain about!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathy from Ashford

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
One night only but throughly enjoyed the stay.Gem of a receptionist who was very helpful. Only disapointment was lack of interesting sea food on menu. Expected the location would have other than sea bass on the restaurant menu. However what we had was very good. Would go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night away

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Location: The hotel is right on the sea front so the views were wonderful. Also, a stones throw from shops, other restaurants and pubs - no car necessary!
As we walked through the hotel door we were greeted by a very friendly and happy receptionist - great start! Our room was very pleasant, clean and warm. The double bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was very roomy and clean. Little extras like bottled water and fresh milk for tea or coffee were very welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by caro from london

big rooms! lovely location.

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location right on the seafront, lovely big rooms, good value.Food in restaurant was of a good standard and steaks were excellent. Some other portions on the small size if you are greedy/ hungry- but well priced. We had agood reception when we arrived, very friendly girl and guy on desk. However the hot water and heating went off during the night- apparently a boiler fault 'clicking off'. In the morning we had no hot water and despite calling reception there was no answer for about 30 mins of trying in and off,, so finally went down to ask what was happening. There was a person on desk so no idea why theuy were not answering phone. They then turned it on again, but it took ages and so wasnt able to have a hot shower- had to have a cold one....as we had to get to breakfast before it ended.This was a shame as everything else was really good and would go there again. The staff on in morning were not as good as evening people. I would have expected more of an apology as this was quite disappointing.I am assuming that this was a one off in my review score.