Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Convenient location and nice view of marina

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: We liked the location, the staff and the size of the room. Breakfast tasted a lot better than it good and the restaurant overlooked the marina
Cons: The sealant around the bath was black in places and coming away from the bath, not having replaced this let the bathroom down.
Location: There are a lot of shops at the location we did not make use of the immediate area as we were there for a leaving do in Rochester.
Initially had a little difficulty finding hotel but the staff were very helpful. The room was a good size, the bathroom a decent size too. I did request a quiet room hoping not to be over the Co-op but this request was obviously missed. We had a late lunch in the hotel restaurant, it was ok but I wouldn`t go there specifically for the food other than to sit by the marina which was very pleasant. All the staff were very polite and helpfull, full marks for the staff. We required a cab into Rochester, there is a direct line phone to a cab company who came very promply.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hants

overnight business trip in Chatham

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Size of room, food
Cons: Check out, TV
Location: Close to shopping outlet and historical dockyard
Had a 2-day meeting in Chatham, and couldn't book into my regular hotel. The price was good and location similar. The room was cold when I arrived as the windows had been left open, but soon remedied by closing and putting the heating on. There was a seek to work on but the lighting was poor over that side of the room. The tv was tiny but had lots of the fever channels. The bathroom was ok, the fixed shower was over a big bath, but water was not very hot - the towels were great though big and fluffy. The room has all the basics, but not 4 star! Food in the restaurant was good but quite limited, and breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of choice. The breakfast room was nice and light and airy in the morning, but the tables in the main part were set for diner and was unable to sit there in the morning, had to sit at the back in a much darker area - although here were windows. The tv screen showing news channel was now out of sight! When I went to check out I hung around for over 20 mins but no one available, ended up dropping keys of in breakfast room, then had call chasing payment to settle extras bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Nice hotel close to the Historic Naval Dockyard

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Location, marina, restaurant, quiet and easy to park.
Cons: Larger television and runny poached eggs.
Location: Near to the Historic Naval Dockyard at Chatham.
My Mum and I stayed for Mother's Day weekend. I chose the hotel for its proximity to the Historic Naval Dockyard at Chatham. We were taking one of the Call the Midwife tours there along with afternoon tea. Although it took a while to find someone to check us in all staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had everything we needed including extra pillows and blankets. The television was rather small but did not bother us. We liked the fact that the room had Fairtrade tea, coffee and hot chocolate. I had asked for a quiet room and that was certainly what we had, no noise from downstairs bar at all. Free car parking on site. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. There were a few parties there and all the food we saw looked great. A lot of the items at breakfast were organic or Fairtrade. Full English breakfast was brought to the table, help yourself to cereals, fruit juice and tea and coffee. Poached egg being hard was our only negative. Would certainly stay here again. We enjoyed looking over the marina and seeing the swans go past.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom reading

Posted Mar 9, 2015
A great hotel in an excellent location. Room was spotless & comfortable, food was amazing with a great bar as well as restaurant available. I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dover, Kent

Short Theatre weekend break

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: It had "olde world" charm and was ideally situated.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It wasn't too far from the theatre, but there are numerous shops, a cinema and plenty of restaurants within the vicinity.
A gem of an hotel located in a good area offering all amenities. We were here for a visit to the Central Theatre, Chatham and could not fault this hotel at all. The room was lovely and cosy, with a flavour of the sea wherever you looked. The breakfast was spot on and the restaurant has a wonderful view of the Medway. Would certainly book into this hotel again if we are ever in the area in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mikefrom Reading

Disappointing!

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Had choice of booking here or the sterile Holiday Inn. They only had a twin, after a discussion we stayed here as it looked like a decent restaurant, making a bed sacrifice. On arrival, told that the resturant was closed for a private function. This had not been mentioned on the website or booking. Left hovering in the busy bar for a table to become free and then pub grub. No steak knife for my steak, which was okay, nothing special. The bubble and squeak was dry with no cabbage. Asked for menu to look at deserts as left ours at the bar, but no menu ever arrived. Gave up, went to the co-op next door. Also a rum and ginger beer came as rum in a glass with bottle of crabbies, to then find they didn't have any ginger beer. The rooms are fun and quirky; I liked the decor. However, some big fails too. Eg the good looking bath has the shower head fixed at six foot height, so if six feet tall it will touch your head: if taller then you will not fit under it! The alarm clock was off/not working and the tiny TV had an annoying bright blue led at night. Noise carried in the hallways so although the function people were trying to be quiet, they still managed to keep us awake until the last went into their rooms. The breakfast was excellent, both the blueberry pancakes and full english but this was not enough to rescue the rating. Another day maybe this could have reached a 4 star review, but not this trip unfortunately. Shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SEANfrom Lincolnshire

Great value

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, good food, a very relaxed environment. Great value, good food, and as I was travelling for business, free wi-fi is one of the first things I look for when booking, this was very reliable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford UK

interesting refurbished dockyard work shed

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: the engineering artefacts
Cons: the fire light in the room and the insulation from sound and the hot water. Has a touch of Fawlty Towers about it
Location: See above
Great location, reasonable parking in January, annoying fire safety light on all night, paper thin walls and no hot water one morning. I wonder about outside noise in the good weather with pub tables outside by the water and a plethora of boating hoorays. Great baby steam engine in foyer which drove an overhead shaft just outside and three very large grindstones in the days of a working dock. Traditional WWII tug boats outside, steam and two stroke diesel plus others open to look round on Saturdays, more than compensated for the all night light torture. Sticky tape and a pole to reach the fitting would fix the problem. everyone very friendly and loads of shops, including a Cadburys outlet, chippy and multi screen cinema. Near to the engineers museum and historic Chatham dockyard museum, Rochester castle etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cfrom Essex

Always enjoy our stay here

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Come here a couple of times a year normally for a weekend getaway. No trouble ever and ever thing you may want/need is within walking distance.