Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country hotel near to Canterbury

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere & food
We enjoyed our stay here, the staff were friendly & the food in the restaurant really good, breakfast was also enjoyable. There are 3 bedrooms although close together seemed to work. Ideal for travellers who want a country location reasonably close to other sights such as Canterbury.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Disappointing Experience.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
A three day break was booked based on reviews. Overall our experience was disappointing. The location was in a lovely village, the food was fine and the staff were friendly. The owners, when there, showed little attention to us as visitors. The most disappointing was the state of the room (No 3), we had to ask for the bedding to be changed due to dirty marks, when first viewed the room looked clean but on inspection there were areas covered in dust, in particular the top of the wardrobe and the uplighter shade were thick. The window frame looked as though it had not been cleaned or painted for many, many years. There was no shaver socket, the extractor fan did not work, one of the sockets was broken and a surge protected set of sockets was screwed to the wall providing extra sockets ? safety. Wi fi facilities are advertised however it only works in the public areas. Part of the room was over the kitchen and at various times we could here noise and conversation including expletives from below. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Nice place in a pretty village

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Was at a wedding in Whitstable, decided to stay out of town in Barham, and what a pretty little village it is. Our room was comfortable with nice en suite and a comfy bed. We were above the kitchen so we could hear the chef singing downstairs! Whilst we didn't use it, there's a lovely big beer garden with a big play castle for kids, as well as a few chickens and ducks to look at. Big screen outside was showing Wimbledon too - nice touch on a sunny day!! Our only suggestion where they could improve would be to put a light on or around the fire escape which you use to access the hotel after the pub has locked up for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place for familys

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Really nice location and stay. The place felt like a very friendly pub, the accommodation was great as was breakfast, it was clean and homely. The garden, toys and chickens were fantastic for keeping small people entertained and allowing them to burn off energy. The staff were really lovely too! We would recommend this hotel to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice village pub loads of charm and great food

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: All of it
Cons: None
Location: No idea it was a resting place
Comfortable overnight stay great start to our trip to France.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from North Yorks

A country pub hotel, good atmosphere.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly service. Locality was perfect as we have relatives there to visit. Nice village.
Cons: Fan in the bathroom not working.
Location: Canterbury, Dover - Castle, and Howlets Zoo - lion, tiger, gorilla etc brilliant!
Pleasant. Service warm and friendly. Food good. Had 3 day visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loverly country pub

Posted May 15, 2014
Excellent staff ,had to leave early but the chef made a special breakfast sandwich and sundries for me to take with me ,i dont ever leave feedback ,but this was worth it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard from Leeds

Business stay

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good food and good beer in the pub. Conveniently away from Dover, but quick drive to get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ant & Mel from Perth Australia

A truly traditional English pub!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The originality of this pub has not been lost, a very traditional country pub, including a fire.
Location: The town of Barham is a lovely little village (great old church). A good spot to stay if visiting Canterbury.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. The atmosphere of the pub itself was perfect! The food was delicious, particularly the evening menu. Our room was very clean, comfortable & what you would expect from an old B&B. The staff were all very friendly. The assistant chefs even had a bread " bake off " & invited us to taste, which added to the atmosphere of the village.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Iain from Essex

Fabulous food and wonderful service

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, the location and the kiddies play park
Cons: The decoration
Location: Located in a beautiful, Miss Marplesque village within a 10 minute drive of Canterbury and a 5 minute drive of the park and ride.
I booked this hotel at the last minute and I wasn't disappointed. It is family run and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. The dinner was superb as was the breakfast. The kiddies play area in the garden kept my 3 year old occupied as we relaxed in the sunshine. The rooms are clean and comfortable if a little basic, but the hotel's location, the attitude of the staff and the cuisine mean I would definitely stay here again.