Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Canterbury for one night

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Stayed one night before a cruise departing from Dover.our Room 25 on the first floor faced the sidewalk. Windows were sealed shut only ventilation was a fan and small vent in the wall. Not a good thing .Overall a bit old fashioned but adequate breakfast was fair location good for visiting the town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Orleans, Canada

Great choice to see Old Canterbury

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location is great. Very good front desk staff. Super breakfast.
Friendly staff and great location. Super breakfast. Old building with interesting nooks and crannies but all facilities up to date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandy from Guildford, Surrey

Old world charm in a perfect location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The character and beams. Great to have free parking too!
Cons: The shower.
Location: Brilliant location, close to the city with the spectacular cathedral, and everything else this traditional city has to offer.
We only stayed for one night in the hotel annex called 'The Tap Room'. It was clean and comfortable, the only niggle was the broken shower head, which would have cost little to replace, and the room was a little noisy in the morning as it was close to the road. The breakfast was included and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is brilliantly situated on the edge of this wonderful city and we would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scout from Houston

Great location and superior service

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Really close to Canterbury West train station and an easy walk to the river and town. Lovely staff, clean rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HR from Dorset

our stay at Falstaff

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: the extremely helpful staff and that it was so historic dating back to 15th century. Very close to all amenities with hotel car park. Breakfast v good
Cons: New bed and some decorating in the annex. Main building was fine ie. reception, bar and dining room but didn't see the bedrooms in the main part.
Location: Within walking distance of all the historic buildings and shops.
It was a very historic building so was a bit disappointed that we stayed in the annex to the main building. Staff were excellent and would help with anything you asked about etc, however, the room itself was looking a little tired and the bed was very saggy. Not a comfortable sleep. Room was satisfactory but not outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Santa monica

Recommended

Posted May 25, 2014
Convenient walk to Canterbury West station and the town center. Friendly, helpful staff. Pleasant common areas. Comfortable bed and modern bath amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Surrey

Birthday weekend away

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Loved the location, extremely pleasant experience, all staff very helpful, friendly and efficient made the experience such a pleasure.
Cons: Loved room 28 but the bed was very uncomfortable, needs a new mattress and the workmen digging up the road at 8am was not good.
Location: Town was amazing, visited the cathedral, went on a river cruise and plenty of nice restaurants, cafes and bars to choose from all in walking distance.
Just arrived home from a wonderful weekend in Canterbury. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Very well located to enjoy all Canterbury has to offer. Extremely pleasant experience, staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. Only disappointment was the fact that there were workmen digging up the road in front of our Hotel room at 8am on Saturday morning. Not an ideal way to be woken up, admittedly not the hotels fault. We loved room 28 but the mattress was old and uncomfortable and needs renewing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, good feel and lovely atmosphere

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere
Beautiful city with so much to do and plenty of restaurants to choose from
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We spent just one night here but it was very pleasant. We had to book the family room as it was the only room available however although quite expensive for just the two of us, the room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The hotel is very close to the centre of Canterbury but not quite in the thick of it, which for us, is perfect. Secure parking was a bonus and breakfast was most agreeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Sussex

Great location and real charm

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location, car-park, old charm, really helpful staf.
Location: Canterbury!
Stayed one night to attend a function in and likely to try to find an excuse to stay here again. It's centrally located - walk out into the city centre - with a secure car-park. I'd call it a coaching inn rather than plush hotel but it is full of charm and the staff were all unfailingly courteous and helpful. The room was good, everything worked and breakfast was fine. Again - the staff couldn't do too much for us. We'll be back.