Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Bar, good dining room, nice room, atmosphere, fire

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Staff, atmosphere, location.
Cons: WiFi is terrible. English seem to not understand how to fry an egg.
Location: Canterbury is very nice. Hotel is close to all sights and train stations.
Tremendous stay. Sympathetic people when luggage was very late arriving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

It was a lovely break for the two of us.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I must say I couldn't have picked a better place for us to stay. The food, place, staff and the beer on tap was perfect. So close to Canterbury cathedral as well. I would recommended it anyone. We are going to book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely pub with great rooms

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The Millars Arms is located next to a weir in an older part of Canterbury. It is an old pub that has undergone a sensitive refurbishment that makes it open and airy whilst maintaining charm and character. The rooms are well appointed with lovely en-suites and comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and efficient without being overbearing and the breakfast was lovely. The only negative point is that when we stayed it was a very hot night, the windows wouldn't open far and they weren't able to supply a fan. This however is a minor point when considering the fantastic location and the ease if strolling right into the centre of the city through the windy lanes alongside the Catherdral. We would book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Great location. Friendly staff. Comfortable.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The WiFi was really fast. The kitchen and pub were great. The central location was excellent as the Cathedral and High Street were only about a 5 minute walk. We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Well-placed, clean and friendly

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Water in shower luke-warm at 7 a.m. Pillows hard - but these are just niggles. Wouldn't stop me from going back.
Location: Very central. Lots of cafes, highstreet and independent shops and restaurants. World Heritage site.
Really enjoyed our stay. Lots of hotels in the area, but I really think we found one of the best. Easy walk from station, to shops, etc. Great room - spotless. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Can't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, CA

Nice hotel close to the city center

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Stayed 3 nights. Great time with excellent breakfast choices. Easy central point to see the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedalia, Missouri USA

Best free breakfast in Europe.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Very good breakfast.
Cons: Air Conditioning in the room would add a lot to overall sleeping comfort.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to the city center market, Roman Portal, and Canterbury Cathedral. Also river walks and cycling are local.
Breakfast was custom order prepared the way you like it. Extremely well prepared. Room was large (Millers Room) and clean. Air conditioning would be a BIG plus for the summer months.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Nice clean rooms and good choice for breakfast. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by cyril from derby

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very enjoyable stay and the staff were very helpful and friendly