Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Doesn't know what it is

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The owner and the two lads who served the evening meal were really delightful people.
Cons: The two sides of the business need to be brought together.
Location: We were on our way to Canterbury. The Taste of Bengal is a very nice Indian restaurant not far away.
The staff were lovely and the rooms were adequate for what we wanted, although mine didn't have a chair in it. However this business is a local pub and restaurant as well as a b&b for those travelling through, and it felt as though the two were in conflict. There is a large screen TV in the restaurant, which satisfied no one on the evening we were there, and a late night event for the pub-goers clashed with the early night that we wanted!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay with dog pre holiday

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Very good service. Just sad they did not do breakfast before 8 am
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but needs a bit of work

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Very comfortable room. Bar needs a bit of work/decoration (flaking paint not a good impression ) to make it more welcoming and homey. Cooked breakfast excellent, need to make sure stocked up on cereal. Overall would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebecca from New Forest

Stay whilst working in the area

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and cosy modern rooms. Also the meals.
I stayed at this hotel on my own whilst working in the area. The Breakfasts and Evening meals were lovely and I felt most relaxed dining on my own in the Restaurant area. The only downside was that the central heating wasn't working but this didn't really matter due to having a fan heater in my room. My room stayed warm all night and there are Duvets as opposed to sheets and blankets so very cosy. Overall a very pleasant stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by bev from midlands

fantastic

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
stayed at the oak for one night but would have been happy to have stayed all week, very friendly staff and regulars and Loraine the owner is a lovely lady nothing was to much trouble, the food was very good and the breakfast the next morning was very tasty, the oak is in a great location for commuting into kent itself and London and for the ferry terminals, our room was very quaint lovely d├ęcor, it was a very enjoyable stay thanks to Loraine and her hard working team will definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly service, uncomfortable bed

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was well located for our needs (we were staying overnight on the way down to Dover), and very pleasant. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The breakfast was very good, and the service very friendly and helpful throughout. The major downside however was the bed, in which we could feel all the springs and hence didn't get a great night's sleep!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by R from LB

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a great location as it was only 5 mins away from my first customer of the day so got to have an extra half in bed (dont tell my MD). Food very good along with the service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by devs from HK

little in the weald

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
good little pub with a nice little room and a little breakfast. A little disappointed but nothing bad to write
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by North Kent Hobbit from nr Dartford

Super location !

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only one night, but a very pleasant night on the whole. My one minor niggle was the fan just outside my bedroom window - I assume it was one of those things to keep the Great God Computer cool during his slumbers !! But apart from that powering up every now and then during the night, the experience was a very pleasurable one. I would certainly stay again !