Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by TeddIfrom Derby

Nice Stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stopped 1 night, last minute booking, owners were very friendly and you don't have to move as the food in the pub is very good as well. If I had had time I would have explored the area as well as the village looked very interesting. would recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MikeSfrom England

Tired and expensive

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a good stay. Opted for this hotel as we were walking the North Downs Way and it was where and when we wanted it. However, it was expensive and tired. The bar was virtually empty and we discovered they they did not do food on a Sun evening so had to go elsewhere. This was probably lucky given the apparent low standards. They were late opening for breakfast and the tea and coffee water was not hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by rhhendersonfrom Londonderry

Friendly service

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived very late. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a little snug but clean and comfortable. Complimentary sparkling water with tea and coffee facilities much appreciated. Good sized shower with plenty of hot water. Cooked breakfast was fine (though the local sausage is not to my taste)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Siegburg

The Oak

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Nichts.
Cons: Das Hotel nicht empfehlen.
Location: Im Örtchen Charing Nähe Ashford. Man kann die Kirche besichtigen und im Ort einen Tee trinken.
The Oak ist eigentlich kein Hotel, sondern ein Pub mit 5 Zimmern im Anbau.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good place for a weekend stay

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff great and friendly. Amble car parking. Really quiet location that looks safe. Rooms not very big but amble for 1-2nights. Rooms very nicely decorated. Cooked breakfast the next morning lovely, far better than my expectations (quality wise). Overall really good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Winter duvet in Summer

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Room was fine, if small, and quite comfortable with very friendly welcome. Why, though, are we provided with a TOG500 duvet in August? So hot we ended up sleeping under duvet cover alone. Surely a summer version plus a strategic blanket in the wardrobe is all that's needed. Good stop, though, after long journey through France, and nice to have kettle in room again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Engelsk landsby hygge

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Det er ikke helt nemt at finde, men når du har fundet hotellet i den lille by, er der dømt opholdt i ægte engelsk pub atmosfære.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Doesn't know what it is

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The owner and the two lads who served the evening meal were really delightful people.
Cons: The two sides of the business need to be brought together.
Location: We were on our way to Canterbury. The Taste of Bengal is a very nice Indian restaurant not far away.
The staff were lovely and the rooms were adequate for what we wanted, although mine didn't have a chair in it. However this business is a local pub and restaurant as well as a b&b for those travelling through, and it felt as though the two were in conflict. There is a large screen TV in the restaurant, which satisfied no one on the evening we were there, and a late night event for the pub-goers clashed with the early night that we wanted!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not slick! no breakfast on saturday before eight.

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not what we expected it to be. Food ok. Room very pokey, shower poor, bed old. Couldn't get breakfast as not served on saturday till 8. Staff friendly enough, just very laid back