Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, could be better.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Size of room.
Location: Good view of Ramsgate harbour.
A nice hotel but a few niggles. The car park is not free but a charge is made which is not mentioned on the website or before booking. The decor is nice but the room we stayed in was very small and we only just had room to slide around the double bed! It was really a single size. The room had a lovely aspect over the harbour but was only single glazed so we were disturbed at night with traffic noise. We did have a wonderful breakfast with lots of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

lovely summer break

Posted Jul 26, 2014
the hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the harbour and the sea, we weren't lucky enough to get a room with a view, but it was really nice being in walking distance of the sea! the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. the room was clean (although unfortunately hot and stuffy as the windows only opened about 15cm! - the weather was HOT when we stayed!) the bathroom was really big with an amazing shower! my favorite part was the breakfast, there was an assortment of fruit, bread, pastries, cereal, cheeses, coffees, teas, etc etc.. plus a full english option. i'm a vegetarian, and it would've been nice to have a veggie sausage or something with the breakfast instead of just the parts that weren't meat, but it wasn't a problem at all because there were loads of other things to eat! just a suggestion! :-) in ramsgate i would reccomend peter's factory on the seafront for great fish and chips! we also went to margate and saw the turner gallery, the dreamland exhibition/re-generation project, and the shell grotto. we took a day trip to whitstable and really loved it there, loads of nice shops, caf├ęs, pubs, and coastline. all in all a fab trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Need fans in rooms for hot English days

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: People, common area
Cons: Understand a/c isn't practical, but gets some fans.
Location: Stayed in the hotel and took cold showers to try and cool off
The hotel location and view from the front was great. The common area was very tasteful, interesting and with a lovely sea breeze. The problem was I was on the top floor of the new section, facing west (ie not a sea view). It was one of the hottest day of the year and the room was horrible hot all evening and night with no through breeze. It was really hard to sleep. I asked for a fan, but they didn't have any. I know hot days are uncommon in England but for a room which was $200 per night just worth making $20 one time per fan investment in having a few fans available for the top rooms not having the benefit of a sea view/air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from Ipswich, Suffolk

Absolutely wonderful hotel with lovely views.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Everything really but the breakfast was excellent, never seen such a choice. The honesty bar, cheese and biscuits at 9.30pm all very good.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: Location is excellent the hotel faces the harbour and behind the hotel is the town local bus services are brilliant and there is plenty to see.
Stayed in this hotel for three nights had a fantastic view over the channel from our third floor room, the location is excellent just a five minute stroll to the harbour and bus stops for Canterbury, Margate and Broadstairs. Could not have picked better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Therese from London

Tiny, tiny room

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel but were unprepared for the very very small room. It was ideal for one nights stay but too small for any longer. We were just about able to walk around the bed and I feel that the hotel or website should make this clear on arrival we both felt very disappointed. Also rooms at the front tend to get the noise from the road as the windows are not double glazed but ear plugs solved that problem. On a positive note, the hotel was friendly, clean and quirky and residents were served complimentary cheese and biscuits in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short notice!

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Lovely public rooms and excellent breakfasts. Friendly staff. Books to read and pictures on the wall to look at.
Location: This hotel is in a lovely spot.
We were lucky to get a room at short notice, i.e. the day before. We were coming to Ramsgate anyway but the illness of a relative meant we had to find accommodation quickly. Our room was very pleasant with a comfy bed. View not brilliant but not everyone can have a sea view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopher from Godalming Surrey

110% hotel

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: So different from the group hotels.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central to Ramsgate , overlooks the harbour and plenty of restaurants nearby.
Band was playing outside as I arrived but apparently coincidence. Excellent welcome . As others have said quirky but additions such as cheese and biscuits at 9.30pm make such a difference. Freshly cooked breakfast served in a delightful sunny room . Rarely have I stayed in a hotel where everything had been for the guests comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carsten Witt from Copenhagen

Wonderful & Cozy

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely wonderful hotel with a delightful atmosphere and interior. Love the new & old maritime mix of decor. Hotel manager and staff was very kind and servise minded. Stay on top floor room which was really nice (except of seagulls from 5:00 AM...bring earplugs). Could have used a small office table , though. Bed was excellent....slept like a child for 3 nights. Would defineletely come back again.