Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we'd thought!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Mediocre service. Bizarre breakfast timings. A bunch of huts up a gravel drive. Set your expectations appropriately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a novel place

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: Service with a smile please
Room was pleasant enough, the photos don't show that the bed is very low to the floor which made it quite difficult for me to get in and out of. the lady who showed us to our room was pleasant, the man who took our breakfast order never said good morning and never smiled. it was fine for an overnight stay but wouldn't have wanted to pay anymore for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lives up to its name

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We booked on last minute.com room was very clean with good facilities. We went on a sunday slightly annoying they stop selling food at 6.30pm resulting in us going elsewhere to eat as we were looking forwad to trying there menue and having drinks in the patio area. Breakfast was lovely. No complaints would highly reccommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caydian from London

Excellent

Posted Jun 15, 2014
We had a great time. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The best part of our visit was dining at the restaurant, my partner is a chef and he could not fault the meal at all. Can't wait to go back again :D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely lovely ! only issue was no reception in the rooms for Phones or WIFI - Excellent food and room
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Whitecamel from UK

Small, cramped, dingy

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought I had booked a hotel room but what we got was a tiny, dingy room in a hut. It was frankly one of the worst experiences I have ever had. The double bed was pushed against the wall because the room was so small so there was no room to get down the side and I had to crawl across it to get in. This was at best a single room with a double bed. It was tired and in need of a makeover. There was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, just a small window sill, and there was just a chest of drawers on which to put stuff in the bedroom including the tea making facilities. Being made of wood, we could hear every time someone moved around. When we arrived we were told the room was small and basic, but then we were told that when we booked it. No, sorry I was not told that because we booked through an online booking site and I felt patronised that the suggestion was that we had booked a cheap room so should not expect anything very good. When we arrived at the room the girl pointed out the name Taitinger mini, preparing us for the diminutive dimensions of the room and boy did it live up to its name, at least as far as the mini bit is concerned. After staying here, we went on to a room in a big chain that was the same price, twice the size (at least) and heaven compared to this place. This experience has put us off booking with non chain privately owned hotels. You know what you will get with the big chains. We will not make this mistake again, it was dreadful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott from Southampton

Who'd a thought it

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I think this hotel is aimed more at couples, but I received a friendly welcome by the owners as a lonesome visitor.
3 out of 5
by Shep from grantham

Overnight stay not to be repeated

Posted May 14, 2014
Turned up and the pub was closed. There was a hotel leaflet with a phone contact on so called it and a lady appeared to check me in. Could do with a sign for when the reception is left unmanned. On accessing the room it was comfortably furnished and smelled very strongly of pot pouri. On opening the door to the bathroom I realises why. There was a very strong bacteria odour maybe caused by toilet or bath pipes needing a good bleach treatment. So you got to gag from the overwhelming pot pouri or the poop stench from the lavvy. Lovely. There was also a fridge in the room which was rather noisy in the night as I tried to get to kip in the comfy bed. The curtains didn't shut properly so the light shone in. No internet access though it was advertised as available in room. Evening meal in the pub was good quality but the menu wasn't what I'd call a good value proposition. Real ale was well kept and tasted good. The final kicker was the fact that this hotel includes breakfast in the price BUT breakfast is only served from 9 30am. Yep an hour after I have to be in an office 10 miles and 25mins drive away. They offered a continental delivered to my room which comprised a variety pack of cornflakes and a pastry thing which was stale and horrible. Too many down sides for me. Will be trying somewhere different when next working in Kent. Sorry Who'd a thought it. Hope you can fix these issues for future guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JW from London

Nice room, fantastic evening meal, poor breakfast

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed in cheapest room which was lovely, just as the photos. The tele seemed a bit far away. The bed was not very comfortable, but this is personal taste, others may find it ok. Had a wonderful evening meal and will hopefully return to eat there again. Sadly the breakfast was very poor if you were unable to wait until 9.30 start. They delivered a continental breakfast which consisted of 2 boxes of bran flakes and 2 corn flakes, 2 bottles of orange juice (but nothing to open them with) and 2 of the smallest danish pastries they could have found. Not worth the cling film to wrap them. We also had to go back a request milk, which was brought straight away. I wish we hadn't had to leave before trying the cooked breakfast as I'm sure this would have been much nicer. It was a nice place to stay if you want to enjoy a special meal and bubbles and not have to travel home, but expected more from the room and breakfast at the price charged. All in all though, we would probably return if in the area again.