Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Familiesby Anne from New York, NY
Irish Hospitality at it's absolute finest!Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The room was spacious and clean. The House was a 15 minute brisk walk from the center of town, but the location was both quiet and beautiful!
Location: It is in a great location,about 10/15 minutes walk from Killarney town center and only 5 from the INEC concert venue!
This View House in Killarney was a fantastic choice. It's situated on the main road next to the river with rooms that overlook the river. There were other Guesthouses on the road closer to the town, but most of them still required the same walk so it is much better to stay here. There was plenty of secure private parking behind the building. We were greeted by Mary the owner, she was very sweet and brought us to a lovely bright spacious room at the end of the hall. There was more than enough space for us and our luggage. The room even included an extra sink outside the bathroom. After dropping everything off, she brought us upstairs to the amazing Gust Lounge. There are lovely cream leather armchairs, free tea and coffee, and a gorgeous fireplace. The view was superb. After having some hot tea by the fire, we asked for dinner recommendations. The suggested restaurant was Mediterranean and we loved it! We returned with a bottle of wine which we drank in front of the fire late into the evening, a bottle opener and wine glasses and ice are provided on request. We got up early the next morning for breakfast, there was a large spread laid out. Mary took our Irish breakfast order. I'm allergic to eggs so they gave me more bacon and sausages. My girlfriend thought their white puddings were the best ever. YUM! Our stay was a little more than half a day. Everything was wonderful. Mary was such a great host. We love the area and plan to return in the summer again!!!!!
for Everyoneby Anna from Frankfurt, Germany
BEST VALUE/HOSPITALITY/ VIEW/ BREAKFAST !Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Amazing location, fantastic hospitality, great views, delicious breakfasts!
Location: It is right across from Killarney National Park! Also a 2 minute walk from the INEC, so handy as we went to see a show there!
This was the best Guesthouse we stayed at in Ireland. My parents and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in this beautifully location, right on the river, it feels so private and secluded but only a ten minute walk to the town on the Main Muckross Road! - Gorgeous views throughout and the two bedroom suite we stayed in, was so gorgeous! We had a private patio to ourselves. The fire in the lounge in the evenings was so lovely, they supply wine glasses and a bottle opener so we bought a bottle of red wine and we read there in the evenings and also spent a lot of time on the balcony watching the ducks and swans in the river. The gardens are amazingly well kept, fantastic flowers and shrubs. Breakfast was delicious, home made bread and scones really set us up for the day and we enjoyed it in the conservatory style lovely dining room overlooking the river. Mary is a great host and made a number of helpful recommendations throughout our stay. All the staff there did so much for us. Cannot wait to return! Definitely will be back!
for Everyoneby Jacquie & Angel from Toronto, ON CANADA
More like a Motel only breakfast is included.Posted Oct 1, 2013
Cons: Air circulation in our room - we think the kitchen exhaust might have been located just outside our room window. Bathroom did not feel clean. :(
Location: On a high note, the location was great
After reading all the online reviews we forged ahead with this hotel booking mostly because of our budget. Unfortunately we should have weighed the reviews posted online a bite more. In a nutshell we really didn't feel this B&B was 4 star....while the staff was friendly and the facilities a bit tired...overall we weren't very comfortable. Similar to other guests we too were informed that we would have to be relocated because of an error with double bookings -clearly this is something they work out. We were suppose to stay for 2 nights and instead were asked to leave after the first night. Overall this worked out really as luckily they relocated us to a wonderful B&B nearby -thank you for the error? Thankfully we had the flexibility to change our plans and relocate however if we had an inflexible schedule, we can see how it would have been very stressful to be asked to leave. Mistakes happen and we get this, I think some improvement can be made on how the mistakes are rectified.....being casually informed during breakfast that "they think you might have to check out".....could be a bit unsettling for most.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
To be avoided.Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Nothing. We took it out of desperation.
Cons: The hotel has no good features at all, and the room was very very small with a washroom that had obviously been added after construction, miniscule.
Location: It is on a main road but anything interesting can only be reached by car. We went to a tourist trap of a show which the hotel suggested. Disappointi
This hotel has no redeeming features at all, was overpriced and without any charm. The room was very small, and you could hardly turn around in the washroom. Beds were not comfortable and breakfast was poor.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Very small roomPosted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Position and view
We arrived late and wanted to get out for dinner. We were shown to the room and left our bags, when we got back late we realised how small the room was. The shower room included the toilet, you had to have the door open to rinse your teeth!
for Familiesby Vlad from Brooklyn, Ny
Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very small room for 3 people. Bathroom is very tiny. No shampoo in the bathroom. Do not recomend this B&B.
for Familiesby James from USA
Misadvertised!Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked this room based off of the profile found on Hotels.com. I thought I was getting a lodge. Instead, the place turned out to be a b&b. The staff was exceptional and the breakfast was very good. The room was not what I expected. It was very small and damp. The bathroom was very small; you couldn't turn around in it! Great view of the lake though.
for Couplesby Katie
Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
for Business Travelersby A verified traveler from Dublin
Brilliant Staff/OwnerPosted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff and owner were brilliant, I arrived/left at awkward times but I was very well looked after. I couldn't have asked for more. Would recommend to anyone
Recommendedby Elaine from Cork
Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked this room on line for me & my boyfriend & was told "your room has a view of the river", when we were shown to our room all we could see was the top of the outside shed at the rear of the house & the neighbours back garden. We also had to ask for towels & the bathroom door was a sliding door that didn't actually close. The breakfast was lovely & the staff were very friendly but I would probably pick a b&b closer to the town for my next trip to Killarney.
Jan 26, 2013 by Mary
Dear Guest,. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Expedia following your recent visit to Killarney View House. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. Please note that your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience Killarney View House is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. I have noted your overall experience and feedback regarding the poor view you experienced in your bedroom. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. We only have 2 bedrooms in the house without a river view and we did not know you had requested one with a view, a mistake on our part. Please note that for the convenience of all our guests we allow guests to to spend as much time in our common areas (Lounge, Dining Room, Balcony, Veranda) which all have panoramic views of the river. We have investigated the bathroom door you speak of and the problem has now been resolved. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on Expedia and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Killarney View House in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Killarney View House is renowned for. Yours Sincerely, Mary Guerin Owner Killarney View House