Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, Ohio

Beautiful Setting!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The setting.
Cons: The new parts of the hotel don't even have rooms on the front, just lakeside rooms. This is the way to go.
Location: Location could not be better-fabulous! There were a tremendous number of things to do in the area-riding, walking, touring, golf, shopping, zip lining
The Lakes has one of the most beautiful settings I"ve ever seen. Killarney is a crowded, commercial town but pull into The Lakes driveway and you're in a different world. Its an old historic hotel with a wide lakefront location, wonderful staff and very good food. Because of its age, though, rooms can ve very different. As I had read comments from other readers, I knew that the lakeside rooms were more expensive but well worth it. The basic rooms are, well, basic; clean and well taken care of and with every necessary. The newer lakeside rooms are magical! Big-almost a suite-with a sitting area, dressing area, small refrigerator, large bathroom with a whirlpool tub and a balcony overlooking the lake with the mountains behind it and a shallow area where the red deer came up to graze. The only mistake we made was not to have had more time here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Penticton, BC, Canada

The hotel and the view are stunning.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
I would highly recommend a lakeview room. My room was comfortable , beautiful, with an amazing view. Staff at the desk and the restaurant were lovely, very friendly, great service. My one and only bit of feedback is that the wifi wasn't very strong , but it will do for light needs. This hotel is very close to the national park, and I ran through, then spent a few hours enjoying nature, the lake, Torc Falls, and Muckross house and Abbey. I highly recommend the Lake Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grafton ON Canada

A premium hotel located on the edge of a lake

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Location: Do the Gap of Dunloe tour. You get boated thru 3 lakes and then hike thru the Gap. If you're over 50 take the horse carriage. Nice views
We stayed 3 nights at the Lake Hotel. We wanted to be out of town with convenient parking. The facilities were very good and the service was friendly and prompt. The scenery was great . At dusk and then dawn we saw deer casually grazing at the waterfront. Nice touch. I would recommend the hotel to friends. Jim S. Canada
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wolff

Incredible

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We stayed at the Lake Hotel on the suggestion of a friend... One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at! The view is amazing, the staff was super friendly and just a few miles from town it's wonderfully quiet!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Colin & Hilaryfrom Melbourne, Australia

Fantastic hotel.

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a great hotel! Fabulous location on the edge of the Killarney National Park (and lake) - with wild deer making an appearance every morning! Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town. Staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. We used the hotel as a base for a few days while exploring the area. The restaurant area was in a big room with many tables - almost too big, so we opted to dine in the more casual bar area. We had a table by the large windows overlooking the lake - and the meals were fabulous (try the Sea Bass!) We decided to dine there every night. The room was very large, bed comfy and- unusual for an Ireland hotel - the room had a fridge! Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by the honeymoonersfrom qld, australia

great place to stay

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
we had a fantastic stay at the lake hotel. great location, very peaceful near the lake even go to see some deers. food in both the restraunt and bistro are delicious. staff very friendly and helpful. highly reccomend .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle Australia

Amazing from the moment we arrived.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location, food, rooms. Everything!!!!
Cons: Don't change a thing. I guess if we weren't upgraded it may not have been the same.
Location: You can do as little or as much as you want. We made use of the outdoor jacuzzi and then hired bikes for the day and did a ride around the lake.
I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. After 12 hours travelling ( 2 flights and a 6 hour drive) we were exhausted. Checked in and was advised we had been upgraded. 4 poster bed on top floor with perfect lake views. The young lady at the desk was just lovely. This is the best hotel by far that we have ever stayed in. We are from Australia and we will return to Ireland just to experience this perfect location again. Also the gentleman on the tours desk couldn't have been more genuinely interested in assisting us. Thank you for a memory that will last a lifetime
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chipper

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Harefield

Just the best!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Service provision and facilities throughout are second to none.
Cons: A swimming pool would be the icing on the cake but not a necessity!
Location: Perfect location for walking, cycling driving, riding. The ring of Kerry, Lakes of Killarney, Muckross House and Ross Castle just to mention a few.
Fantastic location, fantastic experience, fantastic opportunity to just chill. The venue is absolutely idyllic and central for sightseeing or being spoilt. An experience we will remember and would want to relive as often as possible. Waking up and seeing deer wandering freely. Looking out over the lake. Being able to have a boat to pick us up, drive, walk or get a tour bus to venues and sights of one's choice and return to leisure facilities before wining and dining - just lovely. Breakfast too; everything you could want and more. Hydro pool in your room. Hot tub overlooking the lake. Library, free newspapers, dressing gown, slippers. Pure perfection throughout in house and out. There was nothing amiss and everyone treats you like you're their only customer. Will definitely be returning as soon as possible and as often as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BORDEAUX

INCREDIBLE LAKESIDE TRANQUILITY.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: LOCATION
Location: KILLARNEY NATIONAL PARK AND MUCKROSS HOUSE EASILY ACCESSIBLE FOR HKING AND CYCLING.
UPGRADED ON ARRIVAL TO NEW HOTEL BLOCK WITH LAKE VIEW AND BALCONY, EXCELLENT ROOM SIZE AND BATHROOM, BAR AND BREAKFAST AREAS OK, HOTEL IS DOMINATED BY THE VIEW ONTO LOUGH. WATCHING THE DEER FEEDING AT NIGHT LAKESIDE WAS A DELIGHTFUL BONUS.