Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Dublin

Relaxing hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Air conditioning would be a welcome feature.
Location: Golfing, fishing, boat trips, walking, touring around Ring of Kerry with spectacular views.
We had a very relaxing 2 days in a wonderful location. The hotel is top class with luxurious rooms and fine dining. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Overall it was a great experience and we would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Colorado

Sheen Falls Lodge gets five stars!

Posted May 30, 2014
Cons: Don't allow smoking near the entrance. There were times when people were smoking there and the smell came into our room which was nearby.
Location: Sheen Falls Lodge is a natural place to begin a tour of the Ring of Kerry, and also near to the Killarney National Park.
During our vacation in Ireland we stayed at five different hotels and B&B's. Sheen Falls Lodge was easily the best. The hotel is elegant and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, with a nice walking path, but the falls are the star. The staff could not have been more helpful; I had an issue with a credit card, and then had trouble getting through to the customer service people. The concierge and the lady at the desk went far beyond what they had to in order to help me make the connections with the credit card company. In addition to that, the concierge was a wealth of advice and information in helping us decide where to visit and how to get there. The meals were outstanding. We were only able to book two nights because they were full the other nights we wanted to stay, and after experiencing what a wonderful hotel it is, we were very disappointed that we had to leave. If we are ever in the area again, Sheen Falls Lodge will be our first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debra from Usa

Absolutely beautiful

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful room overlooking the falls. Very comfortable and clean. Extremely large room and bath. Beautiful dining room and wonderful breakfast. Nice walking trails although they had suffered some trail problems with the spring storms. Overall a wonderful stay. A bit on the pricey side but it is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruairi from O Shea

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Luxurious
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

NEEDS TO LIFT ITS GAME A BIT FURTHER

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here about 16 years ago and loved it so much we decided to return. Big mistake---! The service was poor--the front desk area was seldom staffed and less than friendly when we asked for anything. In fact, upon checkout, no one even bothered to ask us how our stay was and we were there for four nights. We had dinner our first night there and it was just average and less than memorable other than the soda bread. We ate in town the balance of our meals and had outstanding food and friendly service all three nights. The eggs were over cooked at breakfast even though I specifically asked for my poached eggs to be soft, the menu boasted of maple syrup with buttermilk pancakes but after arrival it was obvious, and then validated by the chef that it wasn't maple syrup--just maple coloured golden syrup--big difference! And definitely not the same. They bragged about their special peach bellinis and yet over a busy holiday Easter time never bothered to stock peach puree! Most of the staff couldn't speak or comprehend English (and this was in Ireland no less) so this was rather frustrating too. Bottom line is that although apparently the interior has had a facelift, the staff hasn't had one and they need a strong dose of customer service, friendly faces, and to try a bit harder to at least seem like they actually like their work. Disappointed… even the weather cooperated with four sunny days--just storm clouds inside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave Boyd from Kinsale

Get away from it all week-end

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Warm welcome when arriving at reception. Excellent Chef,courteous dinning room staff and very friendly. The room was best to none with a great view. The decor of the the different areas of the hotel was wonderful,and delightful to walk around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful, absolutely amazing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Declan from Cork

Poor service

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was lonely it was a pity about the service in the lounge for dinner a complete sham, put us off staying in the bar for the rest of the evening, instead opting to go into Kenmare town for the evening. Food was ok not 5 star by any means but the waiter service was terrible one poor chap on his own! Forgot drink orders, never brought drinks orders to the table, never asked if we would like tea or coffee when we were finished our dinner. As he took away the starter plates they immediately dropped the main courses on the table! Not what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. Either he was new or needed help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jessica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com