Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Really nice

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is next to river kenmare things to do include horse riding, croquet lawn, tennis, salmon fishing, and lots more including tennis, archery
The location is fantastic the views are great the walks are relaxing and the amenities are just out of this world, just pure Irish hospitality, could not get any better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rich from New Jersey

Could be the finest hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!
Cons: Not a thing
The Sheen Falls Lodge was one of the most memorable places I've ever stayed in. I have travelled around the globe extensively and have stayed at my share of 5 star properties but this place was special. The property was beautifully maintained from the public areas to the guest rooms. The whole place had an inviting feel to it. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and friendly. Our dinner was superb and fairly priced given the service and quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by debbie from australia

Stunning Location--Perfect for Exploring

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The location overlooking the Falls is stunning and the town of Kenmare is charming. Staff very helpful.
Cons: We ate both nights in the hotel in the casual restaurant. One night the food was excellent, the other night it was over cooked and tasteless.
Location: We drove the famous Ring of Kerry which is beautiful but not as nice as the drive around the Dingle Peninsula especially the Conor Pass.
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful public rooms all looking out over spectacular views. Disappointingly, there was no air-conditioning. Being October, the temperature was fine with the windows open but wonder if that would be true in the summer? The internet, which is free, was very sporadic, cutting out frequently which left us quite frustrated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Bristol

A genuine five star hotel.

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: One of the best hotels we have stayed in, globally.
Cons: For a hotel of this size and standard, the pool is on the small side. Entry is restricted at busy times.
Location: The delightful town of Kenmare is about a mile and a half away. It is full of lively shops, pubs and restaurants.
The hotel is in extensive grounds overlooking the wide and tidal Kenmare River at the front with the cascading Sheen Falls, within the hotel grounds, alongside. The level of service is outstanding in all areas. There is an array of well-furnished public rooms, some with open fires. Our room was large, elegant, quiet and very comfortable, with a lovely view over the river. Breakfast was excellent. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Wonderful water view from room!

Posted May 28, 2013
The hotel lobby areas are very pretty but we thought our bedroom was a little dowdy for a 5-star hotel. However, the bathroom was very nice! We did enjoy the indoor pool one evening and it was quite clean and refreshing; however, the spa was dated and not that relaxing. The breakfasts were very good and the wait staff was excellent! We had a beautiful view of the bay out our bedroom window and could watch as the tide came in and went out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Shropshire, UK

High class romantic hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2012
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect out of town country location
The whole experience was wonderful. Hotel, location, staff, food were all of a high standard. My wife and I will definitely return. The location next to the Sheen falls (waterfalls), literally in the extensive gardens was very nice. The near by town of Kenmare (5 mins in car or taxi) was very pleasant, with numberous resturants and pubs. The location for the beautiful Ring of Kerry was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Denver, CO

Amazing hotel, true luxury.

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Amazing! First stay in a true five star hotel. Our suite was fantastic, the staff was extremely helpful and the restaurant was top notch. Truly an experience to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MF

Very satisfactory but not exceptional

Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
A pleasant hotel in a stunning location. Wonderful spa, excellent steam room and sauna with very pleasant staff. The Pool is a slightly odd shape so swimming becomes a little awkward when only a few families are sharing the pool which was frustrating. The only thing that somewhat let it down was the breakfast. For what is not an inconsiderable sum of money per night I would have expected a slightly more impressive cooked breakfast. We were the second couple down to the breakfast that morning and yet the Full Irish breakfast which appeared remarkably quickly after having been ordered and was dry as if it has been prepared much earlier and been sitting under a hot plate for a while. The poached eggs on the other hand had seemingly been cooked in water heated by a candle and were barely edible. My omelette on the previous morning was much more satisfying. However I wouldn't want to overemphasise the breakfast as overall the stay was extremely relaxing and a perfect place to enjoy Kenmare and the ring of Kerry. If staying in and eating in the hotel is what you are after then maybe this isn't for you, however Kenmare has a wonderful selection of restaurants and indeed a gastropub which was very popular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from COLORADO

BEAUTIFUL SETTING 1 MILE FROM DOWNTOWN KENMARE

Posted Sep 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
THIS IS A TYPICAL RELAIS & CHATEAU, GORGEOUS, IMPECCABLE SERVICE, FULL OF AMENITIES AND EXPENSIVE BUT WORTH IT. THE BAR IS VERY NICE AND OVERLOOKS THE FALLS. I DON'T THINK THE RESTAURANT IS ANY BETTER THAN THOSE IN KENMARE AND IS A LITTLE STUFFY. THE HEALTH FACILITIES ARE GREAT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin

The Sheen Falls Hotel - a little bit of heaven

Posted Aug 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the Sheen Falls recently and it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in in Ireland. All aspects were fantastic. It is also in a beautiful part of Ireland and the town of Kenmare on its doorstep is idyllic with lovely coffee shops.