Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel is in a great location to everything.
Cons: The concierge desk was attended to by the bellboy at the time of our arrival. He had too many jobs to give anyone the attention they needed.
This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The breakfast that was included was superb. The décor in the rooms is very nice and the beds comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic, central, beautiful estate in centre

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Historic hotel. Large hotel and grounds. Central - a two minute walk to everthing. Great staff. Lots of parking. Best breakfast on trip.
Cons: Either bigger fans or AC for those rare hot days.
Location: 2 minute walk to pubs, bars, parks, transit, shopping, two main pedestrian malls all at your door step. Killarney park and monastary close by.
This large hotel was the best hotel we stayed at on our entire trip to Ireland. A grand dame for Ireland. While the rooms did not have AC for what proved to be hot weather, everything else made up or it. High end hotel in a historic wonderful estate. Stylish lobby with all the amenities you could hope for. Beautiful gym and spa. Attentive, well dressed staff who were friendly. Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and nice washrooms. Nice grounds to roam around and watch the sun set or rise on the ivy covered walls. The best continental (was included) breakfast) we had on the trip next to a B&B in Kinsale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel Great Staff and a real Plesure

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location cleanliness and Staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the centre of the town
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a wedding and what a event From the minute we arrived everything was wonderful and nothing too big if you had a problem From the people who took our luggage to the lady in charge they were great and I would recommend this hotel and will be going there again
3 out of 5
by Kathleen from Tucson, Az.

The Malton

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Lower cost, updated bedrooms.
We booked this stay after my sister recommended it (she stayed there 20 yrs ago). It is highly overpriced for the accommodations, we had a very plain room with hard bed and pillows. On check in, we were told to show them the email confirmation from Expedia. I reserved the room months ago plus prepaid. I have never been asked this before. Also, Expedia said we would have free parking, which I told the staff but they insisted we pay €4/day. Breakfast was excellent but ultimately we would have been happier at a B & B and saved a lot of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KK from dublin

Lovely central hotel.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Breakfast...outstanding.
Cons: Plumbing in the ground floor bedroom and do away with the car park tariff for residents.
Location: Right in the centre of Killarney so a great place to start a tour of the Ring of Kerry.
Great hotel in the centre of Killarney. Top class in many aspects. The breakfast was fabulous in a fantastic room. Service was very good too. A cooked breakfast served to order to the table is always preferred. We find hot plate breakfasts are never quite right.The Malton serve a great cooked breakfast to order to the table. The room was all one would expect of a quality hotel. One problem however was the noise of the plumbing. We could hear the adjoining rooms shower and taps!!! But overall well satisfied with a lovely, central, busy hotel. Reception was friendly and efficient. The two euro per day car park tariff seems a bit unnecessary for residents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from greenhothe

Hen weekend in Killarney

Posted May 19, 2014
Lovely hotel and people would definitely recommend the hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian

Dissappointed

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff are in general friendly and helpful. We had stayed in the hotel previously and enjoyed our stay. We found the stay enjoyable this time also with two exceptions. 1) At breakfast we found the staff to be very eager to get you to finish up and we felt very pressurised. All together we spent about 30 minutes at breakfast which is relatively brief and the breakfast room was not overly busy. As I cleared the last piece of toast from my plate and was putting it in my mouth an arm appeared out of nowhere in an attempt to whisk my plate away. I had to remove the piece of toast from my mouth to ask them to stop. A few minutes later another staff member attempted the same thing but I managed to bat the hand away in time. This may sound over dramatized but that was our experience. 2) While relaxing in the room after breakfast we had two members of cleaning staff request to enter the room on separate occasions within 15 minutes at approx 11am. Again we felt overly pressurised to vacate. Not an experience you'd like to encounter on a well-earned getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Séamus from Ireland

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visited the Malton for one night in December. Although it is rather expensive compared to its neighbouring hotels the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff is exactly what you are paying for. The room was pretty good but slightly below my expectations for the price (€140/night). Breakfast was really excellent with a large range of excellent quality food in a fantastic dining room. It's situated right at the rail/bus station and is very central for exploring Killarney. Overall a solid 4 just losing out because of the higher cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com