Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom Miami, Florida

Great hotel in a fun city

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel in all respects!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by lori patonfrom canada

A mixed review

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I thought the dining room staff was excellent. From breakfast to the wine room at dinner and also the bar at lunch, everything was well done. The problem was first of all the checkin. The front desk kept telling us to come back to get into our room upon checkin. We arrived early and all we needed to know was when we could check in. They kept changing their minds about checkin time. Also, on the Saturday night, there was a wedding that didn't bother us at all; however, the party on Sunday evening until midnight right outside of our window with music pounding was not appreciated. We did not get to sleep until late and had to leave early the next morning. Keep your parties with the loud music and singing inside the hotel. We would love to recommend the hotel; however, there are others that have to be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel is in a great location to everything.
Cons: The concierge desk was attended to by the bellboy at the time of our arrival. He had too many jobs to give anyone the attention they needed.
This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The breakfast that was included was superb. The décor in the rooms is very nice and the beds comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic, central, beautiful estate in centre

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Historic hotel. Large hotel and grounds. Central - a two minute walk to everthing. Great staff. Lots of parking. Best breakfast on trip.
Cons: Either bigger fans or AC for those rare hot days.
Location: 2 minute walk to pubs, bars, parks, transit, shopping, two main pedestrian malls all at your door step. Killarney park and monastary close by.
This large hotel was the best hotel we stayed at on our entire trip to Ireland. A grand dame for Ireland. While the rooms did not have AC for what proved to be hot weather, everything else made up or it. High end hotel in a historic wonderful estate. Stylish lobby with all the amenities you could hope for. Beautiful gym and spa. Attentive, well dressed staff who were friendly. Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and nice washrooms. Nice grounds to roam around and watch the sun set or rise on the ivy covered walls. The best continental (was included) breakfast) we had on the trip next to a B&B in Kinsale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel Great Staff and a real Plesure

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location cleanliness and Staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the centre of the town
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a wedding and what a event From the minute we arrived everything was wonderful and nothing too big if you had a problem From the people who took our luggage to the lady in charge they were great and I would recommend this hotel and will be going there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent overall. Staff lovely and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by peter & janfrom Queensland

one of the best hotels for quality & value

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the foyer onwards it was filled with old world charm & elegance. Staff were incredible, loacation great as everything within an easy stroll. Huge rooms, double that of dublin hotels & with the most comfortable bed in Ireland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amaze balls

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best hotel ever, the staff are wonderful so so helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
by Kathleenfrom Tucson, Az.

The Malton

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Lower cost, updated bedrooms.
We booked this stay after my sister recommended it (she stayed there 20 yrs ago). It is highly overpriced for the accommodations, we had a very plain room with hard bed and pillows. On check in, we were told to show them the email confirmation from Expedia. I reserved the room months ago plus prepaid. I have never been asked this before. Also, Expedia said we would have free parking, which I told the staff but they insisted we pay €4/day. Breakfast was excellent but ultimately we would have been happier at a B & B and saved a lot of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KKfrom dublin

Lovely central hotel.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Breakfast...outstanding.
Cons: Plumbing in the ground floor bedroom and do away with the car park tariff for residents.
Location: Right in the centre of Killarney so a great place to start a tour of the Ring of Kerry.
Great hotel in the centre of Killarney. Top class in many aspects. The breakfast was fabulous in a fantastic room. Service was very good too. A cooked breakfast served to order to the table is always preferred. We find hot plate breakfasts are never quite right.The Malton serve a great cooked breakfast to order to the table. The room was all one would expect of a quality hotel. One problem however was the noise of the plumbing. We could hear the adjoining rooms shower and taps!!! But overall well satisfied with a lovely, central, busy hotel. Reception was friendly and efficient. The two euro per day car park tariff seems a bit unnecessary for residents.