Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Wonderful shower, fantastic food, bed is comfy

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The internet is spotty at this location but this is my only complaint. We stayed in room 10 and the bathroom has had a do over in recent years. The shower pressure is powerful and the open shower is what we are used to at home. The bedding was very comfortable as was the bed. Our host was helpful and a very good cook! The location is in town so it is a short walk into town, the pubs and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Owners - Beautiful setting by the sea

Posted Apr 3, 2014
The owners were very helpful and are people people, very friendly but not intrusive. We only had breakfast at the House but it was excellent and the night before there were wonderful smells emanating from the kitchen but we were only staying one night and wanted to explore Waterville. Margaret and Alan obviously enjoy their life and know the area well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J&A from SW IRL

Charmingly appealing stay

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the historic Old Cable House and, following Margaret's warm greeting. felt completely at home in her house. Our stay coincided with the aftermath of the recent hurricane in SW Ireland;communications down, power just restored but calm prevailed at the Old Cable House and Alan served up the most delicious dinner of fresh fish and, following very a restive evening and sound sleep , a hearty breakfast to fortify our revealing itinerary which Margaret had mapped out for us for the following day. As long time motor/ tourists it was especially edifying to encounter a novel take on the Ring of Kerry.We’ll be back and next time we’ll retrace that breathtaking route back to the Old Cable House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Old Cable Historic house

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Another wonderful place in Ireland. This in a small town on the Ring of Kerry near the area where you can catch a boat to the Skelligs. Hotel is extremely clean and well kept up. They have included nice displays and interpretation of the first trans-Atlantic cables. The owners are super friendly and helpful and clearly take pride in what they do. The owners also run a restaurant on the property and dinner was superb. The included breakfast was great and individually cooked. Would recommend this location highly and would gladly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a quiet location in the outskirts of the town, "town center" would be a good five minute walk. Cleanliness of room and dining area is great. Breakfast is just fab!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carol and David

Clean and functional

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The large room was clean and comfortable, though lacking in charm. The hostess, however, was very friendly, and breakfast was good. Would have preferred somewhere closer to "town". Chose this because of the history of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was honestly not too impressed. The pictures doesnt really match anything of the room we got. It was very small, the bathroom was about the same size as the room. We were there in February so not high season, but the city had absolutly nothing to offer, it was beautiful, but it didnt even have a restaurant to eat at, we went to a smelly pub for dinner. The only thing I liked was the friendliness of the host, the lady was very lovely and helpful, absolutly fantastic. Too bad the B&B itself wasnt nicer.