Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vintage hotel with great marina.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The room was very clean, the staff help friendly and professional. There is a cafe/bar in the same building. The menu is unique, the food tasty and the beer cold. The hotel is within walking distance of all center-or-town attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Juneau

Nice place

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Hotel is walking distance to everything one would need in KTN in the winter. I was upgraded to a suite on the creek. Very nice with kitchen and loft. Nice staff. The cafe next door is good as well. I will stay again next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ketchikan

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Nice place. Jessica, who checked me in was MOST helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Angiefrom Wrangell

Unique cozy stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had originally booked the simple queen room, but when I arrived I had been bumped up to a full-on suite complete with a kitchenette. It was a unique little room with a spiral staircase leading up the sleeping loft and a view right along "Creek Street", the touristy little boardwalk of shops that runs along the creek downtown. A pretty cool stay for those looking for a unique Alaska experience. Woke up to the sounds of harbor seals splashing around the creek chasing spawned-out humpies below the balcony. The only downside to the location was a lack of parking since I had a rental car during my stay, but I was able to park along the street with no problems. Though in an older building, the room was very clean and in great shape. All in all a great value for my money and had a great work visit to KTN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver

Great place all around

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The hotel and the cafe were great. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. We had lunch and dinner at the cafe and both meals were really good. Great location, nice view from the room. Historic building well kept up. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevinfrom Seattle, WA

Convenient, central, historic Ketchikan hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Fantastic staff, great views, central, convenient location, and rich in historical character.
Cons: Soundproofing from the bands in the cafe below might be nice, but perhaps unreasonable given the building's advanced age.
Location: One of the best locations to start your exploration of historic downtown Ketchikan and Creek Street, just walk out the front door to adventure!
I have to preface my entire review with an oft-overlooked fact: this hotel is old. Built in 1925, the New York Hotel in Ketchikan has seen some colorful characters over the years, and you can practically feel the history radiating from the place. Technically, as the downstairs cafe was built in 1903, the building just celebrated its 100th anniversary. Either way, it is a very charming, cozy little hotel that is inviting, warm, and quite sufficient for most stays in Ketchikan. The only caveat I need add is directly related to the aforementioned history: if you stay in any of the rooms fronting Stedman St., just remember that they were built in a day when traffic on that main avenue was considerably lighter. Consequently, during the busier parts of the day, you may be blessed with some traffic noise coming in through the thin, original windows (which nonetheless boast an unparalleled view of the Ketchikan harbor). Additionally, you may be lucky enough to have a free concert right in your hotel room, as the downstairs cafe often hosts live bands which have very little soundproofing. Thankfully, everybody is mandated to cut out at midnight, so it's not terribly inconvenient. Overall, I had a great experience, and the hotel couldn't have been more conveniently located for my trip. The staff are simply exceptional, going well above and beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I would definitely return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brockfrom San Diego

Great scenic location

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed it very much. We stayed on the second story of a building right on and over looking Ketchikan Creek. Salmon were running (a bit smelly), but a fantastic location for avid photographers. Most parts of the town were an easy walk and we were just far enough away from the cruise ship hoards to not be very bothered by them. The room had a loft where the bed was located. Up a spiral staircase that was just a bit wobbly and would be difficult for anyone with balance problems. We had a refrigerator and microwave, plus all utensils and dinnerware. All in very good condition. We would definitely stay here againn
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Larry Bfrom Massachusetts

Great place to stay if you want to enjoy the real

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a classic 100 or so year old hotel that has been well maintained and modernized without destroying its charm. You can get a feel for what Ketchikan was like when it was thriving on local industry while being every bit as comfortable as in a modern chain establishment. The location is outside the cruise boat center and overlooks a small boat harbor. O'briens restaurant in the hotel isn't fancy, but has great food and great service which are the important parst.