Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Great place all around

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The hotel and the cafe were great. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. We had lunch and dinner at the cafe and both meals were really good. Great location, nice view from the room. Historic building well kept up. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Seattle, WA

Convenient, central, historic Ketchikan hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Fantastic staff, great views, central, convenient location, and rich in historical character.
Cons: Soundproofing from the bands in the cafe below might be nice, but perhaps unreasonable given the building's advanced age.
Location: One of the best locations to start your exploration of historic downtown Ketchikan and Creek Street, just walk out the front door to adventure!
I have to preface my entire review with an oft-overlooked fact: this hotel is old. Built in 1925, the New York Hotel in Ketchikan has seen some colorful characters over the years, and you can practically feel the history radiating from the place. Technically, as the downstairs cafe was built in 1903, the building just celebrated its 100th anniversary. Either way, it is a very charming, cozy little hotel that is inviting, warm, and quite sufficient for most stays in Ketchikan. The only caveat I need add is directly related to the aforementioned history: if you stay in any of the rooms fronting Stedman St., just remember that they were built in a day when traffic on that main avenue was considerably lighter. Consequently, during the busier parts of the day, you may be blessed with some traffic noise coming in through the thin, original windows (which nonetheless boast an unparalleled view of the Ketchikan harbor). Additionally, you may be lucky enough to have a free concert right in your hotel room, as the downstairs cafe often hosts live bands which have very little soundproofing. Thankfully, everybody is mandated to cut out at midnight, so it's not terribly inconvenient. Overall, I had a great experience, and the hotel couldn't have been more conveniently located for my trip. The staff are simply exceptional, going well above and beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I would definitely return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brock from San Diego

Great scenic location

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed it very much. We stayed on the second story of a building right on and over looking Ketchikan Creek. Salmon were running (a bit smelly), but a fantastic location for avid photographers. Most parts of the town were an easy walk and we were just far enough away from the cruise ship hoards to not be very bothered by them. The room had a loft where the bed was located. Up a spiral staircase that was just a bit wobbly and would be difficult for anyone with balance problems. We had a refrigerator and microwave, plus all utensils and dinnerware. All in very good condition. We would definitely stay here againn
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Larry B from Massachusetts

Great place to stay if you want to enjoy the real

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a classic 100 or so year old hotel that has been well maintained and modernized without destroying its charm. You can get a feel for what Ketchikan was like when it was thriving on local industry while being every bit as comfortable as in a modern chain establishment. The location is outside the cruise boat center and overlooks a small boat harbor. O'briens restaurant in the hotel isn't fancy, but has great food and great service which are the important parst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Londonthe

A single night stay

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: The room had everything you could want, including extras like a fan, heater, drying board and nice quality bathroom products.
Cons: Be aware that the rooms at the front are single glazed allowing road traffic noise. Rooms on one side of the building get noise from the next door bar
A comfortable overnight stay, not being overly bothered by the road or bar noise. Reception was staffed by calling the desk manager from the front desk. A quit casual approach but it works and my room access and drop off to the airport ferry were well managed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Deb from Park City, UT

In-town location

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very cozy room right on the creek. Lovely setting and we loved having a kitchen to make our meals in our room as Ketchican is not known for it's dining experience. Great location to town and we walked everywhere. The seals in Ketchican Creek were an added delight and by the way, the BBQ on the deck was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula from New Jersey

Perfect location just two steps from the river.

Posted Aug 19, 2013
We went to Ketchikan to go fishing and had a great time. The hotel location was in the center of everything. In front of our loft efficiency room was the river; teeming with salmon heading up the river for their last journey. The best was the daily viewing of the seals in the river which put on a great show. Our room was cozy and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had just been redone. The sleeper sofa needed a new mattress however and was hard to take out and return to the closed position. The service was great and Jessica could not have been nicer. Any request we had was answered quickly and professionally. When we return to fish again we will surely book this same hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Service

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Service
Room was not service during the two nights we were there. Light bulbs were burned out. The fan in the bathroom fell out of the ceiling. Outdoor decks were not well maintained with overgrown plants and weeds. Remodel was minimal at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GP from Vegas

Near and on Famous Creek Street

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleasant staff, very nice location.