Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kamalfrom delhi

Nice place hospitable owner.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Asiffrom Pune

2 freezing days at the desert resort ...

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Proximity to desert. Camels Proximity to actual Villages Rustic ambience
Cons: Improve Facilities like hot water/Heater/bonfire etc. -food options -Better staff offering better service. The facilities are VERY basic. No VFM
Location: Jaisalmer. Sum Desert
We booked two days on this desert resort. We booked a hut instead of the swiss tent as I felt it would be less colder. On reaching the venue (there a multitude of such tent resorts at Khoodi village), we were welcomed by Pappu singh's brother. We chose the 1st floor instead of the ground as we thought it would be more exciting. The resort was half filled so we could choose. To our disappointment, we realized that the village had no power since the previous day ... so no hot water/no heater. We were at the mercy of our warm blankets. On enquiring, this gentleman told us they only had a package of Dinner+Cultural Program + Camel safari .. food not available individually. Plus no non-vegetarian food ! He also advertised the "Jeep safari". I found it steep. I saw quite a few foreign tourists which explained the steep prices. I chose to skip both of these. I individually contacted a camel rider and he offered me 2 camels for a very reasonable price. The service is almost missing. No baths for 2 days. For food I travelled to the city and got the grub parcelled. The complimentary breakfast is good (alu parantha & bread-butter) but monotonous & repeated every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bharathfrom Bangalore

A Village by the Sand Dunes.......

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The Hospitality is simply out of the world. Personal Attention to all issues or problems. Hot tea served multiple times during the winter days.
Cons: More Clean Towels and cleaner bathrooms, there was constant water clogging.
Location: Desert Jeep Safari, Walk in the dunes, Night Camp in the Dunes, Camel Safari in the Dunes, Traditional Folk Dance
If you were ever wondering what it would be like to live in a Village complete with a hut(with Thatched Roof), goats moving around, waking around up to sounds of chirping birds and the peacocks' cry at your doorstep, then believe me this is the place to be. This is the closest you get experiencing the real village life without actually having to live in one. Registhan Guest House, is not your regular 3 or 4 star hotel with all the modern amenities, but more a village decustomised to suit the needs of city dwellers like me and probably you, if you are reading this review :). The best way to enjoy the stay here and soak in the surroundings is to go without expecting too much, try to work and manage with what is available. That is what this place boasts about, about having a quiet vacation away from the madness of the city with as little of the city as possible (pun intended). Personally, i had a great stay here, couple of very chilly nights by Desert definitely made up for any short comings. I would definitely recommend it for a short stay of about 1 -2 nights. Great hospitality and prompt response to any complaints, which are taken care of with smile on the face. Gives that personal touch. It should be a shame if do not mention about Pappu(the caretaker and manger of this property) who went all out to cook some traditional Lal Maas (Red meat) at our request. There is Jeep Safari in the dunes and the Sunset Camel Ride in the sands to soak in the view and beauty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anshumanfrom Boston, USA

Excellent place closed to Desert

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Beautiful ambiances, close to desert, very helpful staff and great foods
Cons: Nothing, if you wish to experience the village life...
The hotel is about 50 km away from the Jaisalmer in village name Khuri. It cost about Rs 1000/- for transportation one way. But once you get there, you do not need to go out. Just stay in the hut or tent, relax under the Neem Trees and at night sleep in desert under the open sky. It will be one of the best and beautiful experience one can have. We had booked for 3 days and ended up staying for 6 days. I would say 3 days are good to cover the surrounding places, but we extended more to enjoy the village life. Owner and staff were ready to serve 24 hours and very cooperative. I would love to go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay near the sand dunes at Khuri

Posted Feb 25, 2013
The sand dunes are visible from the hotel. The dunes are just a mile or so from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One thing though. It is a good idea to book the package for the camel safari/dinner/entertainment before reaching the place. We just booked the hotel through Expedia and bought the package at the hotel. We had no room to bargain since we were already there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by W & H

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay here. Papoo and the staff really looked after us. The overall environment and experience will be remembered for a long time. We were very cold at night. The huts are very basic and bedding substandard. Food not great. Overall the price probably a bit expensive compared to our other accommodation in India. But still it was a highlight of our trip. Enjoyed the musicians and dancing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amitabfrom New Delhi, Delhi, India

If you want to relax this is the place..

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Service
Cons: Not as such..I enjoyed
Location: In a village called Khuri,45kms from Jaisalmer, located in front of the sand dunes
The guest house has a good view of the sand dunes, overall very good ambience & excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamesfrom UK

3 star hotel with 5 star living

Posted Dec 18, 2012
Pros: the desert camping
If you are looking for a 5star luxury resort stop reading. The Registhan offers basic yet functional accommodation, fronting directly onto the Thar desert, and within 15 minutes walk you hit the sand dunes, were the owners make you feel like its your own home. The guest house is all about the desert and the safari's (camel or jeep), ad is also a place to unwind and read a book. the night time entertainment come from traditional nomadic music and dancing. About the accommodation My first night I stayed within one of the tents. I say tent it was massive, with a front living area bedroom and wet room. because of the size the tent was cool even in the midday sun. The second night I slept under the stars. after a short camel ride, we hit the dunes, where we cast down a few bed, pillows and some blankets. the clear unpolluted skies and the unbelievable dawn, make it a must for everyone. please try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by kp sood

Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
staff is helpful. no hot water. service is minimum