Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Good Location, friendly staff, and rates were reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basingstoke uk

Nice hotel, very close to Freedom square

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: hotel clean and good location. Very good WIFI and Free.
Cons: rooms a little tired, but clean Breakfast a bit minimal.
Location: 5 min walk from hotel leads to Freedom square and close to freedom bridge.. opposite side of the road is a very scenic park.
Hotel Staff pleasant, had the more expensive room and it was worth the money. 5 min walk from hotel leads to Freedom square which is being put back to its former glory before all the trouble. hotel location is good. taxi into main city cost 100 local currency Less than £5.00 very cheap for meals etc due to the pound being strong against the local currency. hotel Shuttle from airport cost 400 ukraine.. so less than £20.00 although buses do run. got the sightseeing bus tour and was worth the 200 ukraine currency.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideally located at the end of Kyiv,s main street

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Easy to find
Cons: Requested a smoking room and didn't get one despite there hardly being any one in the hotel. Breakfast not until 8.00am which is not good.
Location: Location is by the river and on Kyiv's main street. About 400M from a Metro station.
Soviet style hotel modernised and refurbished. Good views of the city and Dnipro. Centrally located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from London

Fantastic location - that's the best bit

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The location and the view from the rooms on the higher floors.
Cons: Even better beds would be good, and a lobby bar would be nice.
Location: Maidan square, St Sofia's, other churches, the heart of Kiev, the friendship arch.. in terms of central Kiev this is perfect.
I stayed from a Friday to Tuesday in June, and the hotel was pretty quiet, partly because it was a summer weekend and partly because of the recent events in Ukraine which must have depressed visitors. Basically the hotel is fine, it is absolutely bang at the heart of Kiev, just a few minutes walk from Maidan, the Dniepr, St Sofia;s etc. Being a 12 story block you can get a supe view from the higher floors. It is a bit heavy and dark in terms of decor - quality Soviet glam I would say - but the staff were attentive and helpful and all spoke english to some extent. My first room on the 7th floor looked OK but the bed was like a piece of wood, so for the next night I moved up to the 11th floor. These rooms had been refubished more recently and were nicer, and the beds were fine. So I would recommend checking the bed before moving in to a room. So you want to be out and about in central Kiev and don't mind a grand but gloomy lobby, this place is fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good stay even through an almost civil war;)

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: good location and value
Cons: need to redo physical plant once the almost civil war is over
Location: right next to Maidan, which may be a bit scary now with all the protests, by this summer should be cleared up and only be positive that it central
good central location, inexpensive, great free breakfast, staff was excellent, front desk staff very helpful, a bit weird that armed Maidan soldiers were staying for free on 2 floors, but they were all pleasant or neutral and none of them was aggressive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zak from london

It was very and the price was reasonable

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Very quite and cheap with nice views
Cons: none
Location: Visiting Dniepro park and Maidan
I will stay in this hotel if I go to kiev The hotel view is very beautiful specially the Dniepro park
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Juneau Alaska

I always feel welcome here

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Even during the difficult period of the protests the hotel staff did an outstanding job of making my stay very comfortable. I highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christina Ann from United Arab Emirates

Great Location, Safe Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Wi fi is excellent! Thoroughout the entire hotel and free for all our devices Breakfast Spread is absolutely divine and beautiful! Enjoy
Cons: Kiev is struggling a little economically so upgrades to the hotel are lagging. But, you will still be comfortable and safe!
Location: Great location. Close to Maidan N. station.. there you can change to all the metro lines you may need ... you are also in walking distance to severa
Great location. Close to Maidan N. station.. there you can change to all the metro lines you may need ... you are also in walking distance to several great Kiev City Centre Destinations ... The staff has limited English but they are more than willing to try to assist and make one comfortable. There is a money exchange located in the same hotel or one literally 5 minutes outside. Note: Only bring US Dollars, Euros, or Russian Money
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Sam from Chesapeake,VA

U get what u paid for!!

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Location, room over looking the square
Cons: Wifi,
Location: plenty
Very old and beat up. Wifi very week if any.