Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Louis, USA

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Staro was constructed in 2011. It has a great, consistent theme of artwork throughout the building and rooms. However, the WiFi was inconsistent and weak on the fifth floor, but I asked them to test the signal in each room so that it is strong and stable enough for making international calls via the internet.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Strasbourg

Hôtel correct

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Emplacement, propreté.
Cons: Petit-déjeûner, armoires
Tout était correct dans l'ensemble. Chambre très propre, lit confortable. Côté déco, on aime ou pas - style ancien, classique. J'avais choisi cet hôtel pour son emplacement - possibilité de rejoindre en 15 minutes à pied la place Kontraktova (où se trouvait mon lieu de travail). Je ne donnerais peut-être pas 4 étoiles à cet hôtel. Les armoires de pas très bonne qualité. La penderie pas pratique du tout, car elle était plus étroite que les cintres, donc les cintres étaient disposés un peu en diagonale. Salle de bains OK, mais difficile de régler la température de l'eau, vu qu'il n'y a pas de mitigeur, mais 2 robinets. Gros bémol sur le petit-déjeuner: croissant de mauvaise qualité, miel en petite boîte très sec (carrément dur, impossible à étaler), avec une croûte blanche dessus... En plus, le petit-dejeuner n'était pas inclus dans la formule, je l'ai payé 175 UAH (près de 10 euros) le premier matin, ce qui, vu la qualité, était totalement injustifié. Je n'y étais plus retournée. Il est possible de demander une bouilloire dans la chambre. Fer à repasser disponible dans un local au 6ème étage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Muy bonito y comodo

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Muy buen hotel. Muy comodo y con un buen restaurante
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alexfrom Los angeles

Nice clean hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel in old section of city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Sauber und freundlich, aber Ukrainischer Standart

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fruhstuck ist ziehmlich mies, wie in vielen Hotels in der Ukraine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wadefrom California

Political Unrest, but quiet at the Staro

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed for eight nights and seven days. The room was clean and well furnished with a closet, desk and flat screen T.V. The bathroom was also very nice with a large shower located inside a nice large tub, always had hot clean water. Room service is prompt, if there is anything that the staff can do for you they will or at least try their best, and the food at the restaurant, which is available 24 hours a day via room service is very good. Ask for help with taxi's at the front desk and tell them to look for a good deal, don't just take the first one offered, by doing this I paid 100-200 hryvnia less than I would have otherwise. The metro is located three blocks away from the hotel, which is not a long walk, as some of the other post had stated, and it's on flat ground, not uphill. There are a number of small shops to buy water, drinks and food very close by, as well as a mini market two blocks away. I also found a cell phone business kyivstar that was only two blocks away and bought a sim card for only 15 hryvnia which I could buy more minutes with at many local pay station all over kiev, very inexpensive. Ask the front desk as many questions as you have, they speak a number of languages as well as English and like I said earlier will go out of their way to find what you need and help you to the best of their ability. One thing that disappointed me was that the advertised morning buffer, which is served on floor 7, and is supposed to be available every morning, wasn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Viktoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom east coast

A hidden gem in the heart of Podol

Posted Jul 29, 2014
A modern construction art nouveau hotel, conveniently located next to the shops and restaurants on Kontraktova Square. Close to the Metro. Stay was pleasant, staff nice and responsive. Would like to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Si

Albergo appena ristrutturato vicino al centro

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Personale veramente cordiale e sempre disponibile. Parlano inglese
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ulffrom Halmstad

Bra hotell i spännande del av Kiev

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Utomordentlig service. Ett tips, om du förlorar din mobil, be receptionen skicka sms på ukrainska, utlova belöning till upphittaren, mobilen tlllbaka!
Cons: Receptionen är bra på engelska, övriga hotellpersonalen kan inte. Dags att även de lär sig engelska.
Location: Inte mycket att hitta på i stadsdelen, men med tunnelbana och spårvagnshållplatser alldeles i närheten är det lätt att ta sig till attraktioner.
Hotellet ligger i Kievs Old Town, vilket jag tyckte lät spännande. Taxifärden från flygplatsen gick på modern motorväg och de sista kilometrarna gick genom Old Town - ett område där de flesta byggnaderna är i stort renoveringsbehov. Jag var minst sagt tveksam vid ankomsten till hotellet, som är en liten pärla placerad mitt i ett slumområde. Efter någon dags vistelse var jag betydligt mer positiv. Fantastiskt att varje dag få vandra genom vanliga människors vardagsmiljö - alltså inget slumområde - där det på många platser har påbörjats en förvandling till något som om 10-15 år kommer att bli en av Kievs mest intressanta stadsdelar. Den består i huvudsak av fantastiska hus och byggnader som uppfördes när staden blomstrade under Kejsardömet Rysslands industriella revolution i slutet av 1800-talet. Sedan dess har de flesta av husen knappt genomgått någon renovering alls. Genom stadsdelen går såväl Kievs tunnelbana och spårvagnsnät, med vagnar från efterkrigstiden - charmigt åldrade med härlig patina - så man tar sig både snabbt, billigt och enkelt till andra delar av Kiev. Till sist - jag har sällan känt mig så säker att vandra genom en stad / stadsdel, såväl dagtid som nattetid. Inget våld och mycket måttligt alkoholintag bland alla tusentals glada ungdomar och familjer, som intog gator och torg i området på fredag- och lördagskvällarna.