Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel not too far from the centre of town

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Good standard of rooms and service. The decoration and finishes are all very good.
Location: it is near the metro for getting around the city.
It is a good standard hotel accommodation with good food and very caring and attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Quiet, clean, warm.
Cons: See not about reception.
Location: In the historic part of town. 3 blocks from metro. Nice Blues Bar next door with live music Fri and Sat night.
Very quiet hotel. It would be nice if they made a reception area where you can sit, read the paper, etc. Without that, the room (as nice as it is) begins to feel small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Louis, USA

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Staro was constructed in 2011. It has a great, consistent theme of artwork throughout the building and rooms. However, the WiFi was inconsistent and weak on the fifth floor, but I asked them to test the signal in each room so that it is strong and stable enough for making international calls via the internet.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Strasbourg

Hôtel correct

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Emplacement, propreté.
Cons: Petit-déjeûner, armoires
Tout était correct dans l'ensemble. Chambre très propre, lit confortable. Côté déco, on aime ou pas - style ancien, classique. J'avais choisi cet hôtel pour son emplacement - possibilité de rejoindre en 15 minutes à pied la place Kontraktova (où se trouvait mon lieu de travail). Je ne donnerais peut-être pas 4 étoiles à cet hôtel. Les armoires de pas très bonne qualité. La penderie pas pratique du tout, car elle était plus étroite que les cintres, donc les cintres étaient disposés un peu en diagonale. Salle de bains OK, mais difficile de régler la température de l'eau, vu qu'il n'y a pas de mitigeur, mais 2 robinets. Gros bémol sur le petit-déjeuner: croissant de mauvaise qualité, miel en petite boîte très sec (carrément dur, impossible à étaler), avec une croûte blanche dessus... En plus, le petit-dejeuner n'était pas inclus dans la formule, je l'ai payé 175 UAH (près de 10 euros) le premier matin, ce qui, vu la qualité, était totalement injustifié. Je n'y étais plus retournée. Il est possible de demander une bouilloire dans la chambre. Fer à repasser disponible dans un local au 6ème étage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Muy bonito y comodo

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Muy buen hotel. Muy comodo y con un buen restaurante
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alexfrom Los angeles

Nice clean hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel in old section of city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Sauber und freundlich, aber Ukrainischer Standart

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Fruhstuck ist ziehmlich mies, wie in vielen Hotels in der Ukraine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wadefrom California

Political Unrest, but quiet at the Staro

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed for eight nights and seven days. The room was clean and well furnished with a closet, desk and flat screen T.V. The bathroom was also very nice with a large shower located inside a nice large tub, always had hot clean water. Room service is prompt, if there is anything that the staff can do for you they will or at least try their best, and the food at the restaurant, which is available 24 hours a day via room service is very good. Ask for help with taxi's at the front desk and tell them to look for a good deal, don't just take the first one offered, by doing this I paid 100-200 hryvnia less than I would have otherwise. The metro is located three blocks away from the hotel, which is not a long walk, as some of the other post had stated, and it's on flat ground, not uphill. There are a number of small shops to buy water, drinks and food very close by, as well as a mini market two blocks away. I also found a cell phone business kyivstar that was only two blocks away and bought a sim card for only 15 hryvnia which I could buy more minutes with at many local pay station all over kiev, very inexpensive. Ask the front desk as many questions as you have, they speak a number of languages as well as English and like I said earlier will go out of their way to find what you need and help you to the best of their ability. One thing that disappointed me was that the advertised morning buffer, which is served on floor 7, and is supposed to be available every morning, wasn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Viktoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels