Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit shabby, but good staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I chose to stay at this hotel due to its historical significance, rather than the expectation of a modern hotel. In this respect it didn't disappoint, as the room I was given had certainly not been updated in a long time. However, the staff was very friendly and professional and the pool area lovely. Its central to walk around Kigali.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt S from Washington DC

Great Location, Starting to Feel Run Down

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed a Milles Collines many times because of its great location - close to UTC and many restaurants, which are all within an easy walk. The staff are also very warm and welcoming. However, the hotel is beginning to feel run down and needs better care. The internet is also terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K. Kerna from New York City

Best value for business travelers

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was perfect for my overnight "transit" stay. Check-in was a smooth and rapid process. Warning: US $100 bills older than 2006 are not accepted as for payment in Rwanda. This will clearly change over the years so be sure to email for an update and check all of your bills before you leave your bank. Reserving the airport transfer van via email was easy. I received an immediate response and the driver was waiting for me at the airport, sign in hand. I arrived late evening, just in time to enjoy the last set of an impressive local band and female lead singer. The room was not posh but, it was clean and comfortable, and everything worked. Front-end staff was also very attentive. The breakfast buffet covered all the bases: tropical fruit, local dishes, and standard international fare, something for everyone. The dining room staff was low-key in comparison with the front desk, which was fine with me after two back-to-back long-haul international flights. After a great breakfast, I was back on the airport van to catch a domestic flight to the Congo border. The van was on time, and so was I.
3 out of 5
by Richard from London

OK but needs better management

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, especially concierge and reception
Cons: Restaurant facilities. The main dining option needs a better menu and quicker service and it must be possible to get away from the music.
Location: Very convenient for the business district which was all I had time for.
The Hotel is OK. It is clean, comfortable and well located. The staff at reception and concierge go out of their way to be helpful. The facilities are basic with no frills (although the hotel is not cheap). The loud live music at the bar (the only viable eating place) is intolerable, unless you like the music they are playing at full volume from 7-9 every night. Actually, one cannot escape this anywhere in the hotel. Pool bar service is very slow and the menu very limited. The breakfast is tolerable but no more than that. The management need to pay more attention to the details if they are to make this a good rather than average hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kate7980 from Melbourne

Our first Kigali experience

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, and a big, safe hotel - great for a first night in Kigali. Hotel does do airport transfers, contact hotel early via email to organise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by EA Traveller from Nairobi

A very mediocre experience, great staff

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although the staff were very welcoming, extremely friendly and helpful the hotel suffers from underinvestment hindering a better rating. The WiFi was down for most of my 2 night stay, the gym is not a gym but a locked conference room with some equipment thrown in (floor still carpeted, no changing and shower facilities, staff couldn't even find the key for 10 mins). No TV remote control in my room. The 4th floor restaurant is to be avoided unless you like a sky high bill for nouveau cuisine (read tiny portions of average food dressing with a sprig of something leafy).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark from Canada

Conveniently located

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was okay. The Hotel choice was based on it's history. The cost was not up to its degree of quality. No watero pressure for second morning shower. Breakafast was mediocre . Nice pool bar. Staff friendliness was okay. I would rate this as a 3 star hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jackie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Practical lady from UK

Not quite a 4 star but good

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms basic. Nice pool and central location high on a hill . Would recommend. Entertainment in the pool bar was good fun too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Four star European standard

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Clean, safe, nice room, pool
Cons: Breakfast buffet
Location: Great location in center
One of the best in Kigali but rather expensive compared to costs of living. Breakfast could be improved or be more changing. Bar/entertainment good and not too much. Nice pool