Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great Location & Excellent Service

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Great location and service.
Location: Castle, pubs, shops, churches. It's all here . . .
This was part of our own "add-on" after an 8 day organized tour. Location is a block, or so, from the castle, and is towards the end of the main street running through Kilkenny. We took a bus from Dublin airport and the bus stop is also a block (3 minutes) from the hotel. All of the staff were superb. When we checked-out, they looked after our bags for 6 hours while we toured the town, again, before walking to the bus stop. One small irony - the bar/restaurant does not sell Kilkenny (you know, in Kilkenny). However, the pub down the street did. Otherwise, the restaurant was also excellent. Loved the area, and the hotel. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family of three from Melbourne, Australia

Clean, modern well-appointed hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, modern facilities, central location, helpful staff.
Cons: Lighter-weight duvets and/or blankets for the warmer days/weeks.
The Pembroke Hotel is a very modern, clean and well-appointed hotel, right in the centre of Kilkenny. Despite being in the centre, the double-glazed windows kept the room quiet, while the air conditioning was very welcome on an unusually warm day/evening in mid-June. Staff were very friendly and helpful, including when we requested a late-night change of linen on our beds to replace the very warm duvets with sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Australia

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014
A warm and welcoming place to stay after a long journey. The room was large and well appointed. Easy stroll to everything, good parking and ample Irish breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sophie from melbourne, australia

Nice hotel and big room

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Free wifi, parking and breakfast. Big room.
Location: Kilkenny Castle, lots of interesting shops.
Amazing large room, free wifi, parking and breakfast. Good location, in town centre. Staff were friendly and helpful, assisting with restaurant recommendation and directions for onwards journey. Nice modern surroundings. Breakfast was Very nice, good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, excellent location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Good value, well kept, pleasant staff
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Superb location, 3 mins walk from Kilkenny Castle and Design Centre, max 10 mins walk to restuarants incl one with Michelin star.
Booked in advance, had good reviews on Tripadvisor. Nice big room (301) free parking, usual hotel breakfast. Restaurant and housekeeping staff very pleasant, reception a bit formal, did not feel we got to know them at all, but there were a lot of people staying at the hotel when we were there. Wonderful location, we were able to walk everywhere, Kilkenny has loads of good restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from West Sussex

Excellent Stay

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, good facilities and location
Location: Visit the castle & gardens, the town, at night go to the local pubs for live music, or if you want go to see the Emmigration Ship in New Ross.
Excellent stay, good location within walking distance of the main attractions. Great staff, restaurant/bar/grill provides good fare with friendly and efficient staff. We preferred the ambiance of eating in the bar rather than the restaurant. There was a small problem with our room on arrival but professionally and quickly resolved by reception. Would stay here and recommend this to our friends if in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central hotel. Fabulous staff

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Really enjoyed our visit. Amazing staff. Great food. We will be back!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

WELL LOCATED

Posted Jan 8, 2014
FRIENDLY STAFF,SUPER CLEAN,WOULD STAY AGAIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vicki from Dublin

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in the heart of the action you can walk anywhere We were given a disabled room do I was a little disappointed but as it was New Year's Eve the hotel was fully booked The tv in the room was not working but someone came to fix it straight away There's no room service but the hotel bar serves a good selection Although right in the centre the hotel is quiet so a great night sleep is guaranteed I loved my stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Don from United states

Perfect place in kilkenny to stay

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best location to sights. Staff was amazing. Facilities were top notch. Breakfast was awesome. Will stay here again for sure. Close to train station could walk we took taxi and was 6 euro.