Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Joe from Boston

Uncomfortable, creepy, old, expensive hostel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: no tv. no fridge. no balcony. bathroom door wouldnt shut. Gross bathroom. Not worth it. Too far from Sugarloaf.
Cons: Overall quality of the hotel
Don't stay here. We showed up at like 11 at night which is apparently too late so we found our keys to the room taped to the front door. Already knew we were in for something strange. We went up to our room to find a tiny room with blank white walls and two twin beds. No TV. No Fridge. No Balcony. Just a room with 2 beds, a desk and a dresser. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. The shower looked dirty and the ceiling in the bathroom was gross. The bed was really uncomfortable and my back hurt the next morning. Should have stayed at the mountain...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels
It was a quaint little hotel but it was a room with no TV. The location was nice and if yuo're looking for a place to crash its perfect but otherwise......not so much
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Travis from Maine

Never again

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
Discusting. Filthy rooms.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Unhappy Guest from Maine

In need of Renovation

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was very(!) run down. The room we were given the first night had not been renovated in decades. The bed was mushy and had sheets that had been washed so many times they were nappy and threadbare. The bathroom floor was cracked and there were large chips in the bathtub. The shower didn't produce more than a mist of water and the list goes on. We were given a "better" room the second night, but still pretty downtrodden. In the morning there was a breakfast, but we were unable to partake because we hadn't "pre-registered" for it and the staff had only made breakfast for 20 people. However, when we checked in, no one asked us if we would like to have breakfast the next day. I would NEVER stay in this hotel again and I am annoyed that they charged as much as they did for such a low quality place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Osamu from Boston

good location in town

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels
Room is clean and comfortable. Needs refrigerator .
2 out of 5
Recommended
by George from Winchester

Aging ungracefully

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels
I was most disappointed after reading reviews of a Grand Old Lady of the hotel world. I would rather suggest a spinster aging ungracefully. The plus point is the location, there is no other hotel in this area. Bad points, no headboard meaning that the pillows kept falling down behind the bed, a non functioning jacuzzi bath tub, decidedly DIY mastic in bathroom, overall cheap furnishings not well cleaned, restaurant that was not open and to cap it all no balcony on my balcony room! Without the location this hotel would have sunk without trace long ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by IanG from Montreal

AMAZING

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels
AMAZING OLD PLACE... PERFECT, HISTORY! NOTHING BAD TO SAID! WHAT A PLACE! NICE PRICE, NICE PLACE... A OLD TRAVEL TRIP! GO SAFELY WHIT CONFIDENCE!!! I WILL RETURN SOON!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel with character; needs to be updated

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Liked the atmosphere of the hotel; typical Grand Hotel
Cons: hotel offer at least some breakfast
Location: Cloes to Sugarloaf mountain and Flagstaff Lake
3 out of 5
by Susie Q from Southern Maine

Defiitely vintage (not my taste). Needs updating

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Cons: Furniture updated, TV updated, new carpeting, bigger mirror, newer bedspreads, pillows
Location: Sugarloaf Mtn
DId not know of another hotel in Kingfield, so I booked this one. The lobby area and dining accommodations were OK. The rooms needed a lot of updating.