Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara Insleyfrom Cape Cod

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is old and in need of money spent in the bedrooms. We had a spa bath that had been disabled by the owner .There was no coffee on offer in the room or hotel. A restaurant was advertised but only operational during ski season. The restaurant across the street was very good (Longfellows) The owners Mother was charming and informative.This hotel has huge potential but is for sale yet again.We did enjoy the atmosphere of the old hotel, it could be truly FABULOUS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rehoboth Beach, DE

Charming Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: It reminded me of the house of a girl I went to high school with. I loved that house. They've managed to keep a lot of the old charm.
Cons: The bathrooms could be modernized. TVs in the rooms. At the very least some way to get coffee in the morning without going outside.
Location: Kingfield is extremely charming. We actually stayed in this hotel because it was the only one that had a vacancy semi-close to our son's summer camp.
We stayed during the hotel's off-season (August), so our experience is most likely very different from that of others. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is charming, although it looks like it last underwent renovation sometime in the 1980s. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. Be warned, however, there are no TVs in the rooms, although there is one in the lobby (which is filled with large, comfortable-looking couches),and there is no elevator. They also do not offer breakfast, but they do give you a list of local spots where you can get breakfast, and one of them is almost directly across the street. The water in the showers was hot, although the edge of the tub was very high, so it was a little difficult to get in and out of; especially before having had one's morning coffee. All that being said, I would still definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Clifffrom Asheville, NC

Quite out of the way stay

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has character but with that comes no elevator and no TV's in the room. But it was a comfortable stay, nice and quiet. Friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by Joefrom Boston

Uncomfortable, creepy, old, expensive hostel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: no tv. no fridge. no balcony. bathroom door wouldnt shut. Gross bathroom. Not worth it. Too far from Sugarloaf.
Cons: Overall quality of the hotel
Don't stay here. We showed up at like 11 at night which is apparently too late so we found our keys to the room taped to the front door. Already knew we were in for something strange. We went up to our room to find a tiny room with blank white walls and two twin beds. No TV. No Fridge. No Balcony. Just a room with 2 beds, a desk and a dresser. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. The shower looked dirty and the ceiling in the bathroom was gross. The bed was really uncomfortable and my back hurt the next morning. Should have stayed at the mountain...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a quaint little hotel but it was a room with no TV. The location was nice and if yuo're looking for a place to crash its perfect but otherwise......not so much
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Travisfrom Maine

Never again

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Discusting. Filthy rooms.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Unhappy Guestfrom Maine

In need of Renovation

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very(!) run down. The room we were given the first night had not been renovated in decades. The bed was mushy and had sheets that had been washed so many times they were nappy and threadbare. The bathroom floor was cracked and there were large chips in the bathtub. The shower didn't produce more than a mist of water and the list goes on. We were given a "better" room the second night, but still pretty downtrodden. In the morning there was a breakfast, but we were unable to partake because we hadn't "pre-registered" for it and the staff had only made breakfast for 20 people. However, when we checked in, no one asked us if we would like to have breakfast the next day. I would NEVER stay in this hotel again and I am annoyed that they charged as much as they did for such a low quality place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Osamufrom Boston

good location in town

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is clean and comfortable. Needs refrigerator .
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Georgefrom Winchester

Aging ungracefully

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was most disappointed after reading reviews of a Grand Old Lady of the hotel world. I would rather suggest a spinster aging ungracefully. The plus point is the location, there is no other hotel in this area. Bad points, no headboard meaning that the pillows kept falling down behind the bed, a non functioning jacuzzi bath tub, decidedly DIY mastic in bathroom, overall cheap furnishings not well cleaned, restaurant that was not open and to cap it all no balcony on my balcony room! Without the location this hotel would have sunk without trace long ago.