Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old Seedy Motel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
No elevator and we were on 2nd floor. Stairwells were filthy. No soap in restaurant men's room. Took 35 minutes to be served breakfast even though there was only one other party in the dining room. Not worth the high price charged.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated motel in the Catskills

Posted Jul 7, 2014
When we checked in, we had the most uninterested and unfriendly woman at the front desk who was overwhelmed by her work. The rooms need to be updated. Ours had peeling wallpaper and a terrible paint job on the ceiling. During our stay for 3 days, a dirty plate from room service sat in the hallway near our room. When we mentioned it to someone, they said a different company was in charge of cleaning that up. Our fire alarm began chirping one night letting us know the battery was low. We told the front desk and they brought the battery and handed it to us to change. Finally, our card keys stopped working mid-stay and they were unable to fix them. They offered us a different room but who wants to change the night before you are about to check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Bipin, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We certainly look forward to another opportunity to delight you even more in your next visit soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We certainly look forward to another opportunity to delight you even more in your next visit soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by ZeeDub from Texas

stairs

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was comfortable and clean, but the hotel is very big and there are no elevators. They need to tell people when they make reservations and when the check in that there are no elevators. I have some mobility issues and while it's only one flight, it would have been nice to know ahead of time that I would have to lug my suitcases up stairs. Also, the breakfast was disappointing. Greasy pancakes, cold syrup, the eggs were good, but the hostess was surly, and they ran out of tea. Also - no toast, no fruit, no bagels, just cereal, potatoes, pancakes, and eggs. On the good side, they print documents for free and the staff are friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Bipin, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We apologize for the inconvenience using the stairs to get in your room. We would like you to know that we listen to our valued guests' feedback and comments. It is saddening that you were not satisfied with the breakfast selection we offered. Our staff and team will do our best to create better ways to improve your stay at our Hotel. Rest assured that your kind words will be conveyed to our staff and we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sandy from Brooklyn

Close to the main roads

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and the beds was quite comfortable, though the hotel had no elevator, which would have been a great help, considering that visitors do have heavy bags with them. The food at Roudigan's was quite tasty, especially the apple crisp.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Bipin, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. We are delighted to know that you found our Hotel clean and comfortable during your stay. We do look forward to our customers’ feedback as it help us improve the services we offer and gives us an insight of what we can do better to satisfy you even more every time you visit us. Rest assured that your comments will considered for a more likely stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty place

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleanliness, exercise room, mattresses, showers, towels, just about everything
The hallways smelled of a horrible body odor...for all 3 days! The rooms were not clean, beds uncomfortable, amenities not as described. A very long walk to lobby, and paper thin walls. Do not stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Ohio

Close enough to visit a local college

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: The room and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is located near the colleges in the area.
Cons: The front desk staff at night could be more professional.
Location: The area is beautiful and there is plenty of history and places to visit.
Comfortable room, but the parking lot was filled with young people during the night. The breakfast was not great and the dining room was messy and the selection was limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We are glad to know that you found our beds comfortable during your visit. Rest assured that your comments regarding the cleanliness of our breakfast area and breakfast selection will be highly regarded for a more likely experience. We hope to be of service to again in with our even better accommodations and services. We look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Bipin, Hotel Management
We appreciate your efforts in letting us know how your recent stay was. We are delighted to know that you had a positive experience and we look forward to serve you even better in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
adequate to my needs at the time
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Bipin, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate your efforts in letting us know that we were able to accommodate you well during your stay. Our aim is to provide the best lodging experience to our guests and we are glad to achieve that goal during your visit. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
GREAT PLACE TO STAY NEAR EVERTHING.