Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Upscale new downtown waterfront hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The location, design, cleanliness, and pleasant professional staff were all positives.
Cons: The inoffensive but soulless decor could feature more original artwork, and the breakfast could offer more unusual, organic choices.
Location: Kingston is an old, architecturally interesting city with museums and many other amenities.
We had a two-night stay, mainly to make an outing of a visit to attend a professional workshop. It's a pleasant suites hotel, clean and new with quite bland decor, but with well-thought-out kitchen and sitting areas, and an especially well-designed bathroom with sufficient hooks and towel racks. It was viciously cold, snowy wintertime when we visited, but the hotel is close enough to easily walk to downtown restaurants in better weather (or if you are hardier than we are), and the waterfront views are attractive. It's pricey, though the substantial but certainly not gourmet free hot breakfast does reduce costs, especially if you like three square meals a day and don't skimp on breakfast. And with excellent delis and gourmet takeaway options nearby, you can reduce food costs by eating in very comfortably. If you're not looking for the cheapest possible accommodation I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Almonte, ON

Nice hotel, with comfort of home

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I enjoyed our stay at the residence inn. The complimentary breakfast was nice with lots of hot and cold items. The saltwater pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. I loved the pillows not too soft or too hard. Great if you wanted to stay for a week or more. We stayed for one night, so didn't take advantage of kitchen and shopping features, but nice to have options to cook and save some money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom France

bien situé au bort d'un port de plaisance

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Il faut avoir une voiture pour visiter les alentours. Pour manger on peut aller à pied au centre ville où se trouvent plein de petits restaurants.
Cons: revoir absolument toute l'organisation du petit déjeuner
Location: visite des 1000 îles et des villes à côté. marcher tranquillement le long du port, découvrir le centre ville
personnel bien. chambre bien. problème d'organisation concernant le service du petit déjeuner : la salle pour déjeuner est vraiment trop petite, la nourriture se trouve dans une toute petite pièce et lorsqu'il y a du monde, il y a une file d'attente immense pour pouvoir y accéder. Comme la salle du petit déjeuner est toute petite, elle est très vite remplie donc les autres clients doivent aller déjeuner dans une autre salle plus loin où se trouve le bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Good day Famille. Thank you for your review of our property. I am terribly sorry about the inconvenience you experienced during breakfast. We have a goal to provide a pleasurable stay for all our guests. We are always open to suggestion to re-strategize to improve. We are examining methods to streamline the breakfast experience. In our elevators, we've posted signs indicating peak and low breakfast traffic times. We also open our restaurant for extra seating. It is good advice to bring a car when you visit Kingston if you're interested in taking some of the more scenic tours. We offer parking at a rate of $18 per night with unlimited in and out access. Locals love to take a drive for an hour or two west to head into wine country! The Picton area and inbetween offer some beautiful landscapes and a the opportunity to sample and tour local wineries. However, downtown (especially in the summer with the trollies and boat tours) there is plenty to see and do. As you mentioned, our many locally famous restaurants as well as the beautiful old buildings rich in history - and walking distance from the hotel. Thank you again Famille, and I hope to welcome you back soon! -David
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnifique

Posted Jan 6, 2015
J'ai adoré. Hotel propre et petit déjeuner très bon
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for staying with us recently and for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. We will be happy to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Exceptional experience all around - stayed for two nights with two adults and a five year old. The two bedroom suite was extremely spacious, clean and well-equipped. The view was wonderful, the service was efficient and friendly, the breakfast was quite good and included in the room fee, the beds were very comfortable, and the location is perfect. Everything in the hotel was in excellent working order and I felt like my satisfaction mattered to the staff. My son loved the salt water pool. My only quibbles are paying the additional $16 in parking daily is rather steep and with no in-room movie options and not able to stream netflix on our iPad (blocked likely?), left only crappy cable tv for entertainment. However, we got an amazing rate on expedia and will not hesitate to stay there again. Enthusiastically recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Great hotel, close to downtown

Posted Jan 1, 2015
I've stayed at this hotel several times when I visit family. It's on the water, so if you can get a waterfront view, it's worth it. The rooms are quite big, very clean, and include a fully equipped kitchen as well as a nice sitting area. The hotel also has a nice pool, hot tub, and gym. The staff are all very friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napanee

Great location ot gather with friends

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Well equiped to entertain friends
Location: Great location....walking distance to great restarants
We met with friends in a great dowtown location. Comfortable sitting area to visit and a well equiped kitchen to entertain. Breakfast included had a good selection but nothing great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Conveniently located near Queen's U and downtown

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Kitchen rather poorly equipped. Ice not conveniently located. Check in process rather slow. But all was forgiven as the included buffet breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great hotel right on the river.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Nice big room but not really a water view. Front desk staff were very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Milton, ON

Great Weekend with my Wife

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic weekend getaway sans kids. Hotel was great. Breakfast was nice. Would definately stay again. Parking was a bit expensive but hey.....your downtown.