Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hikerfrom Manchester

Mixed Feelings on 2 night stay.

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The one reason for booking (fifteen miles from where we were heading the next day) was that it was the only hotel around that had check in until 23:00. There were hotels closer but their check ins ended at 21:30ish. As we were setting off from Manchester after 16:00 with a suspected 6 hour drive, they wouldn't do. On arrival at Scot House at 22:30 we were greeted with a sign that said last check in 21:00 - GREAT! Luckily the manager had waited. It was also not clear whether breakfast was provided - which it wasn't - not a problem as we were to depart early morning and the 08:30 to 09:30 for breakfast would just not do. This should be made more clear. After the 6 hour drive we used all the teabags. After hiking in the Cairngorms for 11 miles and on arrival back at the room to be surprised that it was as we had left it with the teabags not replenished. Now I am sure if we had asked, teabags would be provided, but should we have to ask? The room was a good size but suffered from having rather creaky floorboards and an even creakier bed. The TV was small and the clock radio provided appeared to be early 80s! The shower head had two settings, 6 close jets that give the experience of being under a hosepipe or a ring of jets round the outside like being in fine drizzle and you have to sway from side to side to get wet. We would have mentioned on check out but as no one was on reception we just left the key. Not a great experience but I would imagine others could have a better one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Nice place in a convenient location

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Last minute getaway to the Cairngorms and booked this place the night before. Quick and convenient. Would be all 4-5 stars, but the kitchen was closed for remodeling, which we weren't aware of. Not a huge problem for us, but a little inconvenient. Would stay here again without hesitation. The host was incredibly helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxon

Good hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
It's a well run hotel. The room I was in was well presented, large, comfortable and clean. It was a little worn in places, but not too much. The restaurant and bar are well run and very sociable and there is a lounge with a full sized TV should you wish (the TV in the room was very small, but that's not why I went to the Cairngorms). The location is excellent and you can quickly drive to wherever you want, or walk into the town. I think it is excellent value and I will be staying again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In desperate need of repair and updating!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Almost everything!!! Bed, decor, smell, cleanliness, comfort, wifi, television, etc etc.
Location: Its a quaint little town, most everything is walking distance.
This hotel could be so incredible, but its so out dated and in need of repairs. Our bathroom didnt have proper fans so there was mildew all over the ceiling and shower tiles and it caused a smell I couldn't handle. The room decor was likely from the early ninety's (I'm being completely honest here) and the bed was horribly uncomfortable (and was two twins pushed together, not a king). The windows were cracked and drafty (and we woke up to them filled with condensation and the curtains wet. The wifi didnt work anywhere. The tv was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel (my laptop was way larger). The manager was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was pretty good. However, that simply couldnt make up for the rest of it. We cut our stay short as I couldnt handle the smell any longer. I recommend you avoid this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

kanske

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Slitet men billigt
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jamesfrom scotland

Going downhill

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The outside of the hotel looked sad . Garden untidy and weeds all around .Obviously once beautiful house , unsympathetically restored years ago and uncared for recently . Bedroom clean and comfortable however. Staff member pleasant . No dinner available . Breakfast basic.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AHfrom Isle of Wight

Trifle odd, but probably end of season

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable with good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancyfrom Connecticut

Cute

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a good night's sleep. The B&B isn't much, but they have a pub and it was fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by duhayon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com