Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxon

Good hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
It's a well run hotel. The room I was in was well presented, large, comfortable and clean. It was a little worn in places, but not too much. The restaurant and bar are well run and very sociable and there is a lounge with a full sized TV should you wish (the TV in the room was very small, but that's not why I went to the Cairngorms). The location is excellent and you can quickly drive to wherever you want, or walk into the town. I think it is excellent value and I will be staying again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In desperate need of repair and updating!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Almost everything!!! Bed, decor, smell, cleanliness, comfort, wifi, television, etc etc.
Location: Its a quaint little town, most everything is walking distance.
This hotel could be so incredible, but its so out dated and in need of repairs. Our bathroom didnt have proper fans so there was mildew all over the ceiling and shower tiles and it caused a smell I couldn't handle. The room decor was likely from the early ninety's (I'm being completely honest here) and the bed was horribly uncomfortable (and was two twins pushed together, not a king). The windows were cracked and drafty (and we woke up to them filled with condensation and the curtains wet. The wifi didnt work anywhere. The tv was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel (my laptop was way larger). The manager was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was pretty good. However, that simply couldnt make up for the rest of it. We cut our stay short as I couldnt handle the smell any longer. I recommend you avoid this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by james from scotland

Going downhill

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The outside of the hotel looked sad . Garden untidy and weeds all around .Obviously once beautiful house , unsympathetically restored years ago and uncared for recently . Bedroom clean and comfortable however. Staff member pleasant . No dinner available . Breakfast basic.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AH from Isle of Wight

Trifle odd, but probably end of season

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable with good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy from Connecticut

Cute

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a good night's sleep. The B&B isn't much, but they have a pub and it was fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenny from Eaglemont

Beautiful village

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is a new manager at Scot House Hotel. After a few existing problems he is hoping to turn this hotel around and make it better. As is, it's run down and needs a tidy up. Though Kingussie is a beautiful little town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely small hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2013
A small hotel with friendly & helpful staff. Our room was extremely comfortable with plenty of space and some nice views of the mountains. The only slight fault was that the decor in the public areas was a little bit worn but very comfortable despite this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne from Milton Keynes

Fantastic stay

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
everything was nice and clean, good food and the manager was very friendly. Excellent stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Let down when leaving room.....

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleased with room/area etc when I checked in though, (call me picky but I stay away a lot and notice these things) thought the bed seemed a bit ruffled.....when I was packing up I saw that there was a chef's apron on top of the wardrobe, which led me to believe that someone had taken "40 winks" in there before I used the room......everything else was good until I saw this, although I rated the hotel reasonably well, this has put me off staying there again. (I could be wrong of course but I know this happens!)