Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, quiet

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Clean, quiet, close to shopping, university, free parking, free wi-fi
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying at the Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre and for leaving a review of our property. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Guelph. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Kingston, ON

Nice hotel and staff,... questionable guests

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, helpful staff and nice indoor pool,... unless lacrosse is in town.
Cons: Enforcement of pool rules and stop the partying in the hallways. This is a hotel, not a frat house.
Location: Many restaurants within reasonable distance.
The hotel property is very nice and the staff was very helpful. They even made a modification to my reservation, even though Expedia didn't allow modifications or cancellations. My only problem with this stay was the rudeness of other guests. People spending late night hours talking and laughing loudly in the hallways, keeping others from sleeping peacefully. Seriously, get a room,... or what a concept, get in the room you paid for! Also dozens of lacrosse kids diving in the pool right next to others when the signs clearly say "no diving", no parents or hotel staff doing anything about it. Or kids playing with the elevators, pressing all the buttons and inconveniencing other guests,... at 11:00pm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you had noise issues during your stay. Each team member that stays with us must sign a “Code of Conduct” and generally groups are respectful, however, occasionally it takes only a few to ruin it for many. While we do retain security to assist in the monitoring of these groups it appears we were unsuccessful in maintaining an acceptable level of control. We regret that you experienced inconsistencies during your stay but are proud that you thought so highly of our staff and facilities. We aim to provide the highest level of satisfaction to all our customers and your feedback is key for us in recognizing areas for improvement. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh, Guest Services Manager
2 out of 5
by Andrea from Ontario, Canada

Good Conference Centre

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Staff leaves something to be desired, but the conference space is good, price is okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Exceptional service is what we strive for here and it is always our priority to ensure guests’ needs are met and satisfied. It saddens us that you did not receive the caliber of service we are known for. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Exceptional service is what we strive for here and it is always our priority to ensure guests’ needs are met and satisfied. We are sorry that you did receive the caliber of service we are known for. Sicnerely, Mandy Marsh Guets Servcies Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014
Lobby and pool were nice. Rooms were very clean. Staff was accommodating. Beds could have been more comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
The management of the Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre appreciates you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave feedback on your trip. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theresa from Whitby

Comfortable well placed hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Convenience and cost.
Location: Convenient for university business and local shops and restaurants.
Everything about the hotel was as we expected. Booking was in order, room for 3 people comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fine, usual selection, nothing exceptional one way or another. Staff we came into contact with were pleasant and unobtrusive but helpful. Hotel is reasonably well placed for university business, and a wealth of local businesses including restaurants and shops. Ample free parking available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

its fine for when you need to be in guelph

Posted Apr 20, 2014
its good for when you need a room close to downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to other visitors to Guelph. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
1 out of 5
by Andrea from Ontario, Canada

Rude, Incompetent Staff

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Front desk staff, training with reservation software, improved communication with Expedia.
Location: Was there for an event, did not go anywhere nearby.
Arrived at hotel to check in for prepaid reservation made more than one month in advance. Hotel had cancelled reservation, pinning responsibility on Expedia. Counter staff was rude, condescending. It was embarrassing. Had to take their last room, at an increased rate, with no refund for the reservation I had already made. Contacted hotels head office the following day and they agreed the mistake was with the hotel, not Expedia. Horrible, embarassing, frustrating experience. The refund given was not comprimable to the events or expense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Exceptional service is what we strive for here and it is always my priority to ensure guests’ needs are met and satisfied. It saddens me that you did not receive the caliber of service we are known for. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As General Manager, your comments are invaluable to me. Sincerely, Benni Devasia
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Exceptional service is what we strive for here and it is always my priority to ensure guests’ needs are met and satisfied. It saddens me that you did not receive the caliber of service we are known for. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As General Manager, your comments are invaluable to me. Sincerely, Benni Devasia
3 out of 5
by Phil from Atlanta

Mediocre hotel for the price

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Fairly nice restaurant, and generally well kept.
I spent a total of four nights at the Holiday Inn in Guelph ON. I had stayed the previous two nights at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Guelph, ON. The Fairfield Inn was superior in every way to the Holiday Inn except location. While the Holiday Inn is located within easy walking distance to many restaurants, grocery, drug store, gas station, and even liquor store, the Fairfield Inn and Suites is located in the midst of an industrial area 2 miles from any of these things. (it is also about 2 miles from the Holiday Inn) I originally picked the Fairfield because of their close proximity to a factory I was installing a packaging machine in but opted to move to the Holiday Inn so I wouldn't have to rent a car. (I could ride to the job with other workers) So, if you have a car, stay at the Fairfield. It's nicer, less noisy, and has better amenities for the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2014
Your feedback is welcome at our hotel. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so that we can take the appropriate steps to correct them. Once again we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience and hope to have you as our guest in the future. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Kincardine, On.

Fun, Fun, Fun,

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Pool and change rooms close to pool
Location: great location close to University of Guelph, large mall, dinning, movies.
enjoyable stay, lots of fun time in the pool, staff was very good to us..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2014
We appreciate your review and hope to have you return. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Winnipeg

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pool was cold on Sunday morning but OK on Wednesday evening. Housekeeping staff did an excellent job. Desk personnel were knowledgeable and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by mandy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you chose to stay with us, and are very happy you had such a nice experience. Sincerely, Mandy Marsh Guest Services Manager